We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for New York tourist trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #244 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great base for New York tourist trip”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hotel is spotless and check in was fast. Room on the small side but have two double beds in. The free breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice. We have only stayed one night but are going on a cruise today and have booked to come back here straight after for another 5 nights, looking forward to our return stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd-Fogerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so happy that you picked us for you NYC visit. That was a huge honor and we are glad that we made an impression. We can't wait to duplicate the outcome if not improve it on stay number two. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and we hope to see you again! Thank you again for your time, effort and business as they are all very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    915
    309
    93
    70
See reviews for
870
565
129
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived before 3pm & our room wasnt ready,no problem though,Chris at reception gave us 10% discount cards for Tir na nOg Irish Bar a few doors down from Hotel,positive 1st impression of staff & this continued for our entire stay. Rooms were cleaned every day & the breakfast was excellent,our room was on the 7th floor next to the lift but we had an uninterrupted sleep every night,long wait for lifts but this is to be expected at breakfast/checkout times,the location is perfect for exploring New York City & on your return after a long day if you're lucky you get a friendly welcome back from Luis the legend at the front desk! Would definately return to this hotel,the welcome & the attendance from staff was more than excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so very much for the detailed review and great scores. We are happy that our loyal guests have come to expect certain things at our home that we are restricted to and we are very pleased to hear that our staff and service helped overlook them in order to provide a great stay for a great guest. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenango NY
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was in town for business and chose this hotel. The price, for NYC, was reasonable, the location, only 12 blocks from my event, was perfect and it was within walking distance of both Times Square and Penn Station. The rooms were of average size for a NYC hotel, very clean, and very comfortable. We felt safe on the streets, being located on the edge of both Hell's Kitchen and Time Square there are a ton of entertainment options that we enjoyed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimwalter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We are very happy that our staff and service made your stay a great one. We would love to have you back for another stay in which we will do our best to duplicate the results, if not improve them. Thank you for your time, effort and loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Linden, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel early and it was no problem to check-in early which we really appreciated.
There was a good variety of breakfast items, although it was hard to find a place to sit- very crowded.
The elevators are slow in the morning during breakfast/checkout, but it's not too long of a wait- maybe 5-10 minutes. Other times during the day getting an elevator is no problem.
Our room on the 28th floor was very quiet and clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable.
All in all a pleasant stay! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurt_selina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review and scores. We are very happy that you found our home comfortable and we would be honored if you came back for another great stay. We will keep the coffee fresh and the staff ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onancock, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

small rooms but excellent location staff is really great; good breakfasthow many selections to choose from. Convenient 2 major attractions so close to Broadway and major shows. parking is easy loved the convenience. everyone is so friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Your kind words are most greatly appreciated! It makes me so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! I hope this will prompt you to return to the Hampton Inn and, even more, to our great city to stay with us again! I look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpg
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We found the staff very welcoming and friendly. Times Square is about a 10 minute walk away. There where plenty of restaurants close by. We lucked out and got a room on the top floor overlooking Manhatten. The room was smaller but i am sure that this is the norm for New York. We did not feel cramped at all in the room. Found the room to be very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Never had a problem with waiting for an elevator as some people have complained in the past. The breakfast had a wide variery of selections. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtlebomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for the great review and scores. We are very happy that you found our home comfortable and we would be honored if you came back for another great stay. We will keep the coffee fresh and the staff ready.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, VA
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have traveled extensively, but I have never seen such a friendly staff. To a person--bellmen, receptionist, housekeepers, food service, etc.--were exceptionally helpful. There were a lot of foreign patrons and they bent over backwards to provide superior service. Many large groups arrived at once, demanding a great deal of attention. The receptionists continued to apologize for not immediately servicing us, but they really did not keep us waiting long. This hotel is very near the Port Authority. It is an easy walk (about four blocks) to Time Square and most of the places we wanted to go.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1704--it was a bit of a wait for an elevator (17th floor out of 32), but it was quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefGeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and great scores. We are happy that you found our hotel comfortable, clean and friendly; we hope to have you back again soon. We'll keep the water pressure high and the beds comfy. Thank you for your time and loyalty as it is what keep this place running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 466 in New York City
5,331 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 466 in New York City
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#239 of 466 in New York City
1,875 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#222 of 466 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 466 in New York City
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The newly renovated Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city. When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay connected using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing