We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near Times Square!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #236 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay near Times Square!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were clean & comfortable with a nice view from our 31st floor room. Smaller than I'm used to but expected for NYC. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Free breakfast was excellent. Free wifi too! Not a single complaint! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courthardgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we appreciate you choosing our hotel. We are honored by your recommendation and hope other travelers will benefit from your review. We would definitely love to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return.

We wish you all the best in your travels!

Danielle Lim
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    885
    297
    86
    63
See reviews for
843
544
122
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights because of its great location, within walking distance to train station, bus terminal and subway. Also, convenient walk to Times Square and Central Park. The rooms at this hotel are smaller than we are familiar with at other Hampton Inns (not a problem though). Real estate is at a premium in NYC so the only way is up - 32 floors. The front of the hotel is narrow at street level, so it was a little hard to locate at first since a delivery truck was blocking the front of the hotel. The two elevators were a bit slow, we were on the 21st floor. Breakfast was great. Lots of delicious selections to pick from. Breakfast at 8:30 worked great for us. No waiting. The hotel rates were a little cheaper than other locations in the city which is a definite plus. Wonderful, friendly, helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Joyce S.,

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. We are very happy that you were able to have a great time with us while in NYC. We do apologize if the size of our rooms were a bit of shock since they're a tight squeeze but we are glad you understood why :) And you got to breakfast at the right time of 8:30 which is very smart since our hotel is so busy during breakfast. We hope all of the amenities at our hotel bring you back soon. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights and enjoyed our stay. The free breakfast was great and if we were leaving earlier the takeaway breakfast was a wonderful idea. Great location, handy to Times Square and Port Authority building. The lifts became busy at rush hour but this is the only negative. Wonderful friendly heplful staff, nothing was a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonlight1633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
moonlight1633,
Thank you so much for the great review and the understanding comment regarding our lifts. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff and service played a part in a satisfying visit to our property. Hope to see you again for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and booked 2 rooms with 2 double beds (8 of us). The rooms were very small and with 4 ladies and 4+ suitcases it was very cosy! I have to say I was disappointed with the size of the rooms but then if you want a good location in the heart of Manhattan then you would have to pay over the odds.

The breakfast was included and it was very good, great choice of food, hot and cold. Tea and coffee available all day. The only thing is you do have to get down to breakfast early otherwise it gets very very busy and you end up having to wait for a table.

Location - perfect. Only a 5 mins walk to Tims Square where you have access to all the other transport systems available to you. Port Authority Bus Terminal is only 5 minutes from the hotel, this is where we caught the bus to go to Woodbury Common - premium outlet store (1.5 hours away). Subway was a 5 min walk too.

The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and more than adequate for a few nights so the size of the room was not a huge issue.

Lifts are a little slow if you are on a high floor, they should have more than 2 lifts for the number of floors in this hotel (I think there were 30+ floors)

Recommend this hotel purely on price as its great value and a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
SWag1,
Thank you for the very accurate and detailed review. We appreciate your time and effort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the inconvenience of the lifts. We hope that you will return in hopes of an even better stay the next time around. Thank you for your business as it means a great deal to us and it is very appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was realty surprised for all what I got for such a fair price and in New York City, were most hotels are terribly expensive with not such great service, and they charge you for breakfast, for Internet in your room, and all this was included in the hotel fair. Besides that, all the personel was extremely nice and gave a very good service. I stayed here because the hotel I normally go to (three times more expensive) didn't have rooms. Well, the Hampton Inn will be my hotel from now on when I am in NY, I highly recommend it.
Rachel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Front DeskSupervisor / Night Auditor at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Rachel K,

We are so happy to hear that you have converted to our brand and we can't wait until the next visit. Our staff and service will be patiently waiting for your return to provide another great stay. Thank you for your time and effort, your business is appreciated.

_______________________________

Luis. Santiago

Front Office Supervisor/Auditor

Hampton Inn Time Square South

337 W 39 Street

New York l NY l 10018



o. 212.967.2344

Luis.Santiago@Hershahotels.com

hershahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I've just got back from spending 4 nights at the Hampton Inn during my first time in New York. The hotel was faultless and the level of customer service was excellent. The location was perfect as it was around a 5 minute walk to Times Square. We had a king room on the 4th floor which was perfect as I had informed the hotel about my fear of heights. We had booked the king sized room as we wanted to make sure that we have enough room to unpack and for our shopping. The room was a perfect size for us to relax in after a busy day sightseeing. The breakfast was very good and there was a very good choice of food, cereal, fruit. yoghurts, omlettes, waffles, croissants, muffins, bagels etc. The hotel will also give you bottled water if you ask for this. My favourite touch must have been the warm cookies that the hotel have on their front desk once you've been out all day. You can also help yourselves to tea and coffee at all times. The concierge service was excellent and arranged our transfer to the airport as we were unsure what time were being collected. The hotel also arranged for our cases to be stored securely all day on our last day.

In terms of sightseeing the Empire State building is a must. We only queued for about 5 minutes so dont be fooled by the tour guides outside who will try to sell you a ticket to queue jump. If you are going to Central Park then it's worth considering whether you do want to hire bikes as you are not allowed to cycle around most of the park and there are some hills. The boat hire for the lake is great fun and only costs 12 dollars for an hour with 20 dollar refundable deposit. We ate at L'Ecole (see separate review) pne evening which is the french culinary institute. We had the 3 course meal with matching wine which was only 66 dollars each. The food was incredible and we had a lovely evening. You would need to book a table beforehand. I would recommend the tour buses as they are good value for money and can be used as a means of transport. We paid 50 dollars for a 48 hour pass which included tours of the north and south, a night tour and a boat tour passed Statue of Liberty, The company also put on a free transfer back to Times Square.

We would come back to this hotel without a shadow of a doubt.

Room Tip: Our room facing the main road on the 4th floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BumbleBee023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Front Office Supervisor/Auditor at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
BumbleBee023,

With a review like that, we'll have to give you a free night. We loved the detail in which you explained how much you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to have you back. Our staff and service will be at your disposal once you return. For that great review we will have to give you the king red carpet treatment : )

_______________________________

Luis. Santiago

Front Office Supervisor/Auditor

Hampton Inn Time Square South

337 W 39 Street

New York l NY l 10018



o. 212.967.2344

Luis.Santiago@Hershahotels.com

hershahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is representative of any Hampton Inn, but what stands out is the service. The fitness bike that I usually use was broken. Instead of just saying, "there is nothing we can do," the engineer took his time to adjust the bike until I could ride it. Each representative that I met went out of their way to make sure I was happy. The only improvement I would recommend is to improve the timeliness of the cleaning team. I had to wait twice for service after very long heads up to housekeeping. You won't go wrong by staying at this centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerfromchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review and writing about your experience with us. We do try very hard to make our guests comfortable while staying with us and should any issues occur, we are always there to make things better! It's great to see that our staff was able make your stay much better. We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,181 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#240 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city.When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and send pictures to family and friends using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing