We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that cares about your stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #244 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hotel that cares about your stay.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is representative of any Hampton Inn, but what stands out is the service. The fitness bike that I usually use was broken. Instead of just saying, "there is nothing we can do," the engineer took his time to adjust the bike until I could ride it. Each representative that I met went out of their way to make sure I was happy. The only improvement I would recommend is to improve the timeliness of the cleaning team. I had to wait twice for service after very long heads up to housekeeping. You won't go wrong by staying at this centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerfromchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review and writing about your experience with us. We do try very hard to make our guests comfortable while staying with us and should any issues occur, we are always there to make things better! It's great to see that our staff was able make your stay much better. We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    916
    309
    93
    70
See reviews for
870
565
129
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We got a really great rate on this hotel through Priceline and couldn't have been happier. The location is EXCELLENT. you are within walking distance (2 big blocks) of Times Square. You have the Subway within 5 blocks in all directions which makes it very easy to get around Manhattan. We were welcomed by a friendly face at our late arrival and provided great service through check in. The rooms were small but very clean and the lobby smells great!! The breakfast was awesome with hot and cold choices and a big variety including biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, yogurt, etc. Upon departure the front desk arranged a car to the airport for us and that went smoothly. Overall, excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superiorcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We would first off like to thank you for the great review! It's visible that you had a wonderful trip in NYC and while staying with us. As for our location, there is saying that states location means EVERYTHING! We truly hope you return to our hotel so that we can provide with yet another excellent stay! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I'm a regular to the city; sometimes I have to book last minute as I did on this trip. It's what you'd expect from an HI in Manhattan. Expensive last minute fall back. OK place but nothing special. Small but comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasrig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macda_Cooke, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review us here on Tripadvisor! We're sorry we weren't able to show you just how much we do stand out from the pack! We know you may not be able to avoid high price here in Manhattan, so we try to buffer by unbeatable service. We hope the next time you are in town, you are willing to give us another try! We would love to show you our version of "Hamptonality"!

Safe Travels,

Mimi Cooke
(917) 281-2391
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had an great stay at the Hampton Inn while traveling to Manhattan for our wedding. My (now) husband and I stayed at the hotel, along with a couple of friends that stayed on the same floor. Rooms were small (as are all rooms in the city), but were a great price, very clean, and surprisingly able to accommodate a lot of luggage! Bathroom was updated/modern, but had some problems with the shower fixture (the different shower head options didn't work, and when I tried adjusting the dial, the shower head fell off and had to be screwed back on). Continental breakfast had a nice selection of fruits, breads, hot food, yogurts, and cereals. Front desk staff were exceptional, and Jose was incredibly helpful with all our transportation needs! He arranged for transportation for our entire wedding party (which included some family/friends staying at neighboring hotels) from our hotel to Central Park for the ceremony. That was one less thing we had to worry about on our wedding day, and it made a world of difference (especially since we were "out-of-towners" and traveling with aging parents, one of whom had a physical disability). Location was great -- within walking distance to Times Square and all the restaurants in Hell's Kitchen. Also very easily accessible by cab, since its near the corner of 9th. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Manhattan!

Room Tip: Although the city view is nice, I would recommend a room closer to the ground floor. Since the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Larry L,

Congrats on the success of the wedding. Thank you for choosing us for the occasion. We are happy to see that you and your family enjoyed themselves. We hope that we see you again for the anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great location. Very nice staff,helpful and friendly, including the housekeeping staff. I will stay here again! We stayed here during the US open. The breakfast is not good,but there are plenty of resturants in the area. Just ask the front desk and they will guide you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Leslie C,
Thank you for the great rating and thank you for your time. We are happy to see that our staff and service provided a great stayfor you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are comfortable and very clean.
The breakfast is excellent and the cookies with hot coffee in the lobby are a plus. Awesome!
The staff is very kind, helpful and friendly. They are really worried in making our stay the best ever.
Our group (24 persons) really appreciated the entire stay and we are looking forward to come back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaSalgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
CarlaSalgado,

Thank you so very much for the kind words. We are happy to see that you had a pleasurable stay with us and we look forward to all 24 of you coming back. We'll keep the cookies and coffie warm for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 466 in New York City
5,331 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 466 in New York City
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#239 of 466 in New York City
1,875 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#222 of 466 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 466 in New York City
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The newly renovated Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city. When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay connected using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing