We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get's the job done well”
Review of The Irish Pub

The Irish Pub
Ranked #247 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Get's the job done well”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We like America, perhaps too much. For some people (not me) the whole server spiel that you sometimes get at restaurants (overly friendly, where are you from, my name is etc etc) can be a bit much, but not at The Irish Pub.

We were asked what we wanted, it was brought to us, we ate and drank it and we were done. Massive tv screens can be seen from any seat, so you won't miss your favourite game, and it had a really nice feel about it, maybe a bit dark, but that's part of the atmosphere of an Irish pub!

If you want a good hassle-free dinner without the "chat" this is the place to go. But don't expect it to be quiet!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thunderchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    275
    64
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pub friendly service”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We watched a game here last month and really enjoyed it as there are plenty of screens so you get a good spot to watch a game no matter where you are sitting. The service was great and the food is good, One of the bar servers, William, was more than helpful and made excellent cocktails while my partner enjoy the his beer and the game. Well worth a visit !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Place to Watch The Game when you are in the Big Apple”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went in to this place on Tuesday to watch some Hockey after our work function and the place became like Cheers! By Thursday, everyone knew my name! Really fun place to hang out with other sports fans. Everyone is very friendly. The drinks are good and the food is edible. What more could you ask for? We even got a double overtime game on Weds night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikepoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Among the best Fish & Chips in the city”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Four of us arrived with a 5:30 reservation to an already near-packed dining room. The place is bustling and loud, as you'd expect for an Irish Pub / Sports Bar. Dining is mostly at high tables with high-stool seating. The two rooms are surrounded by wide-screen, high-def TVs showing live and taped sports events (during our dinner, multiple baseball games, hockey, and tennis). Meal portions were generous, the fish (thick, meaty cod) & chips were beautifully fried, the Goose Island IPA icy cold, and the desserts excellent (but for the chocolate mousse w\berries special which was far too sweet). This is a best best for an economical dinner prior to one of the shows around the corner at New York City Center. We'll definitely be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toreadorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Basic but OK”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Irish Pub, is confidently situated on 7th Avenue at 54th Street. It has a wide range of simple meals which are reasonable in price, take care with simple things, club soda will set you back 4$ so you will find the other soft drinks better value. Worth remembering you always get what you pay for, it does an all day Irish Breakfast for 15$ which will set anyone up for the day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AUKTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing