We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious South African Wine & Tapas Bar”
Review of Xai Xai Winebar - CLOSED

Xai Xai Winebar
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 8th and 9th
Transit: C, E to 50th or 1 to 50th
Bredene, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Delicious South African Wine & Tapas Bar”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent food and wine in a very cozy atmosphere. If you want to be sure to have a table, you'd be better make a reservation in advance. Before 10pm it's very busy. Tip: take the "3 tapas plate" that equals 1 course. Try the margarita cocktail!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GwenNys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great wine and tasty tapas!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A sister restaurant to Braciola across the street, with some of the same fare. The layout of the place is different from Braciola, more suited to groups of friends than couples only. I tried the oxtail tapas and the oysters on the half shell. The oxtail was delicious, but the oysters were a bit small albeit only $1 each. The service was sluggish at best.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottishchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“ok for after show light dinner”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

pronounced shi shi....a short walk from time square. I look for small plates and that is their specialty along with the offer of $1 oysters.... The menue offers 3 small plates for $25 or 5 for $42. We tried the curry with chicken and pita, the signature salad, and lamb shank empandas (in pastry shellsj). I recommend the first 2, the empandas pastry was too dry and uninteresting.

The room is attractive with small tables that can be moved around.

The only problem is that the music was too loud...so sit close if you want to talk.
The music included some south african sources

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Treepster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oysters !!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice restaurant with a cosy ambiance. The food is overall good although uneven in quality: some small plates are really flavorful whereas others are just standard.
However, the real deal here are Oysters. They are really good and will only cost you 1$/piece!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda-Damien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Decor”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I wish we were hungry because the small plates menu looked delicious. We shared a bottle of wine and it was very romantic. I do think the music should have fit the decor and stand up to the description of the restaurant - South African Wine Bar. The only negative thing I can say is the water glasses were visibly FILTHY, not dirty...but had loads of white drippings on it like dried dishwasher liquid and the waitress picked up the glass, then pour water in it. Either she was blind or didn't care at all. When we said the glass was dirty, she took it away along with the water and never returned. We didn't want water, but the gesture itself was rude. I still would return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulful403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xai Xai Winebar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing