We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, Great Location, Caring Ethos”
Review of Leo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leo House
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, Great Location, Caring Ethos”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed on the recommendation of a friend who is a religious sister. Do not expect your conventional hotel. It has a 'catholic' ethos. There is a chapel and quiet room on the first floor, and a pleasant garden: all for reflection, study and a peaceful ambiance. Mass is available on occasions when a priest is available. During our stay the religious sister in charge was in attendance at breakfast to assure we got the best from our stay of 5 nights.
Reception was efficient, the decor of the lobby was well worn and in need of renovation. There was a slightly institutional air about the place. Our room was old and in great need of renovation. It was facing W23rd so there was street noise, but this stopped during the night. Our room had a safe, but no hair dryer. There were no coffee/tea facilities in the room, but hot water was constantly on tap on the ground floor.(bring your own tea bags and coffee, or get it from the many food outlets nearby).
The breakfast room was light and airy; there was a good choice of hot and cold food, as well as unlimited tea/coffee. There was a large common room on the ground floor; cold drinks, snacks and ice were available from machines. Also here was a business centre containing three computer terminals. Free Wi-Fi was available throughout the ground floor.
This room was popular and suitable for consuming snacks brought in.
Clientele was mixed: mostly older singles and couples, but also a small youth group, and a young couple.
The location is brilliant, several subway stations and bus routes within a couple of blocks. Just 10 minutes from Times Square. Tip: the $29 7-day metro-card gives you freedom of the city and is a bargain buy even if you stay just a few days). Three blocks from the 'Flat-Iron', and just over one from the 'High-Line' pathway or the Chelsea Hotel. The neighborhood (Chelsea) is picturesque and safe for walking. There are loads of restaurants and fast food places near by.
In spite of the decor in the room, we really enjoyed this place and felt at home. Its convenience was second to none, it felt 'homey' after a short time, the staff were great, and the price was right. There was little noise from other guests. I understand that the rooms are gradually being refurbished; so ask for one of these, and try for a room not facing W23rd.

Room Tip: Ro.oms away from the main road are quieter. Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    266
    133
    44
    43
See reviews for
109
204
191
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

While Im all for simplicty, The Leo House hasn't quite made it to the 21st century yet. Our room had a faucet with a cold and hot water tap that weren't combined and that you had to continuously twist to get water from. In addition, the ceiling was falling and had mold all over it. The staff wasn't the nicest either, they wouldn't let me up to my room at one point because they thought it wasn't staying there. BUT it is in an amazing location and is cheap for NYC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karensatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Leo House, owned by a Catholic order, is a great and hidden find in expensive New York City. Located on busy 23rd Street and only about 2 blocks from the subway, it is very handy. There is security 24 hours, the rooms are small but adequate--some with private bath, the breakfast room is to die for. The nuns prepare homemade breads daily and cook eggs to order. The room itself hearkens back to old-fashioned and charming coffee houses. The breakfast is not included in the cost of the room. The cost per room is just about $100, many have been recently renovated and have wireless. I know many university professors who always stay there when in NYC. You must reserve weeks in advance, however, because the place is so popular.

Room Tip: ask for a room with private shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Schanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Holland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its run by the catholic sisters and there was even a note apologizing for the un--ironed bedspread that day. Its very simple and basic but the showers are hot and if you dont mind some small religious gestures a real wonderful nice simple well kept secret in Chelsey. Great breakfast, friendly staff, very basic rooms but clean and homely. Sure it could be renovated but it was not my intention to stay in my room in NYC. Great location

Room Tip: be polite. rooms in back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GWBAmsterdam_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a family room here for a long wkend in Sept. Friends had advised us to go and had been a few This was my first time in NY. We loved this hotel because we could park in the street outside and only left the car in a carpark along the street for the next day. The staff helped us a lot with local breakfast places,parking where to visit and we could walk everywhere from this area. I would go again. The room was basic being onto the street was noisier than we are used to and we were 5 in it so the bathroom was used and abused! Great little garden area as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As of this review, the hotel is scheduled for a renovation. I needs it. During our stay we and our friends shared a "suite" and later, seperate rooms. The suite came with 2 bedrooms (one with 2 twin beds and the other a full size) and a shared full bath which was located in the full size bed's room. During the night our friends had to enter into our bedroom to use the bathroom.
The bathroom was very much in need of repairs and updating - as were the bedrooms.
The full size bed moved like a waterbed. Very difficult to sleep in when you fell every movement of your sleeping partner.
The $9 breakfast buffet was nothing special. Very basic and limited food choices, but more convenient then heading out in the morning while waiting for the others to get up and ready for the day.
The staff was friendly but a bit unemotional. It would hurt to give the guests a smile.
The access to the internet via the common area was a very nice touch.

Room Tip: Don't get a streetside room - the sounds are in no way blocked out by the walls and windows. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

the hotel is under works, so I have the doubt if the new, renovated rooms, are at a normal standard, but I was there in August, having a old room and, I have to say it was clean, but that and the location of the hotel are the only positive comments I can make. very uncomfortable rooms, extremely old and not well taken care. "Funny" things like you have to hold the tap with one hand while you wash the other is something you do not expect to find in a hotel room. Not recommendable, unless, price is paramount or you are getting a renovated room and you have word that they are substantially different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jlsolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 466 in New York City
1,544 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,848 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 466 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#400 of 466 in New York City
529 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,227 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#193 of 466 in New York City
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo House

Property: Leo House
Address: 332 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leo House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Leo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing