We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, basic and excellent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Leo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leo House
Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean, basic and excellent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Have stayed at Leo House before and knew what to expect. Was a little apprehensive about the bed bug reports over a year ago. Someone wrote that he/she saw all the mattresses thrown out on the street so I assumed Leo House took care of the problem. Checked the beds and furniture carefully to be sure and stayed 6 nights. Everything was fine, no sign of anything biting or crawling.

The hotel is old and worn, rooms are small but adequate and comfortable with functioning TV.. It was hot in NY and the air conditioner cooled sufficiently even though it made some noise. Most important our room and toilet area were clean and the common shower was old but clean.

The most impressive thing about our 6 night stay is the way the hotel handled the hurricane warning. They usually do not serve breakfast on Sunday but they made an exception the day of the hurricane since guests could not leave the hotel. They also made a lunch pack for guests who wanted to purchase them in case there were no open restaurants. We were informed of all the changes such as elevators that were turned off and wet stairs. The hotel made sure that the needs of the guest were met. The staff was friendly and service minded. The location of the hotel is wonderful; walking distance to the Village, mid town and other areas of interest.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank raela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    255
    131
    44
    43
See reviews for
108
193
186
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

I was supposed to spend one night there, and due to a flaky friend, ended up spending three. The staff at Leo House were accomodating and flexible, and proved very helpful. The breakfast buffet was well worth it; the entire stay was at a very reasonable price in a good location, and it was refreshing to have a chapel on site that i could visit as needed. As a Catholic Christian, it is such a surprise to find that such an institution still exists in New York City! At the same time, the hospitality was generous to non-Catholics as well. While i was there, a contingent of Buddhist monks also made the Leo House their home in the Big Apple. I highly recommend the house to anyone, especially those with a budget looking for modest but clean and secure accomodation, or just anyone who is a person of faith or spiritually sensitive looking for something a little different.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AJBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Be careful of making reservations by phone or fax. You might fax them your reservation request including your credit card number, call to see if there is room for you, be told no by someone in the very disorganized reservations department and then be billed for a room you never knew you had reserved. Request reservations by email only !!!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank coypel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We found a hidden gem for a wonderful stay in New York. The rooms are neat but rather small, but who goes to New York to stay in a room? The staff at Leo House are obliging and helpful, it offers clean, comfortable beds, hot water, a common room with free wifi, an outdoor garden sitting area and an outstanding reasonably priced breakfast buffet. The subway is on the corner and it is only 3 stops away from Times Square. Anyone complaining about Leo House is not a regular traveller and has not the slightest understanding of value for money.
Thank you to Leo House from two happy Australian ladies.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tasbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

I cannot imagine anyone giving the Leo House a negative review. It is great value for price and in an excellent location. No, it is not the Waldorf!!! It is, however, an immaculately clean and safe place to stay in New York City, and I am grateful it is there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CharlesChapelHill_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Took my son here for his 13th birthday vacation. Staff was less than accomodating. First room was hot pink, extremely small, with a view of a cement wall. Again, less than accomodating since I had requested in advance they try to make this special for my son. The second night, they moved us to a room with a street view, still tiny, but at least the walls were white. Paint was peeling off the ceiling and walls. The shared baths in the halls were dingy and hair was clumped in the drain. The A/C units in each room were extremely loud and made horrible vibrating sounds. The electrical outlet was loose and would not hold cords tight enough to charge electronics. Tried to use the "Computer Stations" and none of the three computers would work. I waited as an employee tried to get them working, I gave up. The location is not convenient to any attractions, so be prepared to do a ton of walking, subway riding, or paying for cabs. They are undergoing renovations, so there is scafolding outside. For $120 a night with a shared hall shower, I can't imagine any type of renovation would continue to justify that price, or any higher price. Very disappointed that we stayed here. I had asked days before our arrivial if they could put a card or a balloon in our room to surprise my son, this was their comment, "THE LEO HOUSE DO NOT PUT BALLOONS OR BIRTHDAY WISHES CARDS IN THE ROOM. THIS WILL MEAN WE WILL HAVE TO GO OUT TO PURCHASE THEM." Don't waste your time and money staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GoGetSome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

I checked in on June 28 and checked out less than 30 minutes later. The mold smell as well as the chipped paint on the walls and a private bath where the tub was peeling, It was more than I could stand! I felt angry that they refused to refund my credit card stating that they would not be able to rent the room! They should be honest about the condition of their facility....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ErickaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo House

Property: Leo House
Address: 332 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 166 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leo House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Leo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing