We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book in advance in the winter”

Classic Harbor Line
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated to helping locals and visitors alike enjoy the unique wonders of New York City, Classic Harbor Line hopes for the privilege of escorting you on a relaxing, inspiring and breathtaking cruise through the waters we proudly call home. Our three classic yachts – the Schooner Adirondack and the Schooner America 2.0 (our sailboats), and the Luxury Yacht Manhattan (our motorized yacht) are reminiscent of the classic boats that cruised the NYC waters a hundred years ago.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't book in advance in the winter”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The boat is lovely and extremely comfortable and cosy. The snacks were tasty and plentiful. The commentary was informative and easy to listen to. You are attended to well throughout the trip.
Unfortunately the weather was dire. It was rainy and foggy and subsequently I was unable to see much out of the misted up windows and through the fog. I know the weather cannot be controlled but I still felt that the trip and view I was looking forward to escaped me.
My advice would be not to book in advance if you are travelling to NYC in the winter.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susana205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHL745, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello,
We are very sorry to hear about the weather. Unfortunately it is a very difficult thing to predict. We want to thank you for sharing your experience.
We are also happy to hear that you did enjoy the boat, enjoyed the crew, the commentary, and were very well taken care of.
We hope to have you out with us again in the future.

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,657
    203
    33
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top Quality”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

New Year's wine and cheese tasting on board 1920s boat Manhattan was a real pleasure. The ship was gorgeous, intimate, and perfect for viewing the NYC waterfront and harbor. Crew was friendly and professional. The wines (all sparkling) and cheeses were interesting and plentiful. The speaker was very knowledgable and accesable. Very glad to have been on board and hope to return again soon!

Helpful?
Thank jdnyc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHL745, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello,
We want to thank you for coming out with us and for sharing your experience. Not only is our Wine Tasting packed with 5 great wines and 5 amazing types of Cheese, you also get to take in the views that New York City has to offer from the water on this intimate vessel.
We are very excited to have you out with us again on another cruise! Don't forget that Wendy Crispell does a Wine Series aboard the yacht and so every time you come out with us it will be a different region of the world. Thank you again for joining us!
Happy New Year!

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
“AIA-city tour”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Great tour and experience of the city!! Rainy day in December but still great sights to see with wonderful your guide.
Highlights include: seeing areas and vistas of the city that are rarely seen or visited.

Helpful?
Thank Cthomas935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello,
Yes, the AIANY Around Manhattan Architecture Tour is pretty amazing and you get to see all aspects of NYC. The yacht Manhattan is equiped with wrap around glassed windows so that you can get a view from any angle! Thank you for joining us and thank you for sharing your experience.
We hope to have you out with us again in the future, if not here in NYC then in Key West Florida!

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Experience!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I found Classic Harbor Line when I googled something like "interesting boat trips in NY Harbor". The Manhattan is a new vessel, but full of character and charm. The captain and his crew of two were straightforward and friendly without being cloying or patronizing. We took the "Cocoa and Carols" trip with a very fine jazz trio - (supporting musicians is always a plus) - our 10 year old boy loved it all and the 1.5 hours went by in a flash and our 14 year old boy, while showing enthusiasm would never do, actually really loved it too. You could sit inside with your drinks and cookies and carols and jazz, or be out on deck to look more at the glorious skylines, Statue of Liberty, ferries, and just get the sense of how much NY is a coastal city. Thank you for a great experience. Walk down 23rd to catch a taxi after; the taxi stand at the piers didn't seem to really have business.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SVPP1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello,
Happy Holidays and thank you for joining us on our Holiday Jazz Cruise! It really is a cozy way to experience some Holiday Spirit and see NYC from the water. We are happy to hear that your children enjoyed it and hope to have you out with us again in the future on one of our other cruises!

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
“Holiday cruise was awesome!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Who would take the crowds of Rockefeller Center when you can take a fun filled cruise with views of the NYC skyline, and Statute of Liberty, wrapped up with holiday music, drinks, christmas cookies, and caroling! The crew and musicians were wonderful!!! I would highly recommend, you will surely enjoy it, we certainly did!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvablebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHL745, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for joining us for our Holiday Cruise. This experience will definitely fill your heart up with some holiday spirit and we appreciate you sharing it!
We hope to have you out with us again!

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classic Harbor Line also viewed

 

Been to Classic Harbor Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing