We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AIA Architectural Boat Tour - Outstanding Experience!”

Classic Harbor Line
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated to helping locals and visitors alike enjoy the unique wonders of New York City, Classic Harbor Line hopes for the privilege of escorting you on a relaxing, inspiring and breathtaking cruise through the waters we proudly call home. Our three classic yachts – the Schooner Adirondack and the Schooner America 2.0 (our sailboats), and the Luxury Yacht Manhattan (our motorized yacht) are reminiscent of the classic boats that cruised the NYC waters a hundred years ago.
ATL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“AIA Architectural Boat Tour - Outstanding Experience!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The AIA Architectural Boat Tour around Manhattan may be the most interesting thing to do in New York when the weather is good.

Our tour was narrated by a native NYC AIA Architect with a thorough knowledge of the city's history, buildings and its famous people / events. The perspective from the water is beautiful, unique and scenic. This boat is no clunky tourist bus on the water, it is an elegant motor yacht with teak (and mahogany?) rails and deck trim.

At $76 per person for a 3 hour tour, it isn't the cheapest game in town but completely satisfied. High quality finger foods were offered and one complimentary adult beverage. Additional premium beer was available for $6 a bottle - cheaper than on land!

On our warm afternoon, sitting on the bow with the cool breeze off the water was relaxing and refreshing. You get a close up view of every bridge connecting Manhattan to the other boroughs. Not a single draw bridge but several cable suspended structures and swing bridges that open to allow passage into and down the Harlem River. Almost pitied the innumerable drivers stuck in rush hour gridlock while we gently cruised down the rivers enjoying a cold one!

You also learn about the lesser known parks, buildings and properties on the northern tip of Manhattan island.

Our experience was a 9.5 out of 10. Highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank crackbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHL745, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for coming out with us on the AIA-NY Around Manhattan Architecture Tour! We appreciate your feed back and love hearing about your experience of going all the way around Manhattan! We sometimes forget that Manhattan is a Island! We do aim to keep it at a comfortable number of guests, so that everyone can get a full experience of this City filled with history.
We hope to have you out again in the future!

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,655
    203
    32
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best NYC day!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Family sailing on Sunday afternoon. Absolutely one of the best days in NYC. The Captain and crew were professionall and personable, boat was beautiful and it was a delightful outdoor experience in a fast paced busy city.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbsherrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHL745, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for coming on some Sunday Sailing! We are happy to have you and your family out with us and we appreciate your feed back! It is so true when you say it is a delightful experience in the fast paced city! We in the office love to step out and go for a sail ourselves!
Thank you again for coming out with us and we hope to have you out again in the future!

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“New Sunday Brunch Sail on 'America 2.0'”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Took my wife and 16 year old son on this Brunch Sail on our first day (Sunday) in NYC on a visit from the UK. I had previously sailed with Classic Harbour Line before a couple of years ago so knew pretty much what to expect. However the weather was wet and windy this time so we ventured out with some trepidation, we need not have worried however as the crew were just 1st class, providing blankets for those who wanted them, serving drinks and food in challenging conditions and generally just making light of the whole weather situation with genuinely happy hearts. We probably had more fun this time sailing in these conditions than previously on a gorgeous calm day. I also have to emphasise that safety was always number one on the crews agenda and we felt safe and in utterly professional hands at all times. Highly highly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank andyblueflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHL745, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We want to thank you for coming out with us! We greatlly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for giving our Crew and Captains a "Shout Out"! They work very hard and do a phanomanal job, and it is really wonderful to see the appreciation for them and what they do! The brunch sail on America 2.0 can be tricky in certain conditions and so we thank you for trusting us and joining us!
We hope to have you back in the future, and thank you again for your call ou to the crew. We will definitely make sure they see this.

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Maidwell experience”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

An excellent harbour trip. The commentary was excellent and it was one of the highlights of our New York experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHL745, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It truly is a unique way to get the New York experience. Thank you for your feed back and thank you for choosing to come out with us! We hope to have you out with us again!

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Just did the sunset cruise aboard the America 2.0 with my beloved and an aunt who was visiting from France. What a beautiful experience! Everything was perfect, boat, crew, captain, drinks, sights... A spectacular moment that I would like to share with more visitors. And I will!! Worth every penny!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikita09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classic Harbor Line also viewed

 

Been to Classic Harbor Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing