We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #204 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
“Stay here!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I normally stay in the SpringHill Suites when I travel, but Fairfield had a great rate and I was just taking a quick weekend trip to NY. The room was great- clean, cozy, and not claustrophobicly small. The staff however was phenomenal. When I arrived Jose and Melissa were at front desk. They pointed mein the right direction for parking and didn't complain that I left my car in the spot directly in front of the hotel while I brought my bags in. We came in one night really late and Henry offered us bottled water because the complimentary water was empty. Daniel was super helpful in giving us tips to navigate the subway. I was pleasantly surprised at how friendly they were, given most people in NY aren't very personable. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    233
    79
    17
    21
See reviews for
134
246
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
483 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked two rooms here for 5 days in the City. They're clean, but SMALL with very little space for clothes and luggage. We've stayed at other Fairfield Inns; this one had rooms about 1/2 the size of others we've been in. lso, the heater would start and stop all night long even though we'd run the temperature down and turned it to OFF.
On the plus side, free internet (wireless and wired) was very good; the morning breakfast was good, and the staff were all very delightful. There are plenty of nearby pubs and restaurants, and subway is also close.
I'd probably pick the next-door Spring Hill Suites next time

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartGustafson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

There isn't much to say. This is another perfectly acceptable Fairfield Inn and Suites (God knows I've stayed in enough of them) that is comfortable, clean, and well run. Everything was as it should be with one exception. No gym. They have "rights" at a facility outside the hotel. Thanks but no thanks. I'm not going anywhere in the bitter cold (or scorching heat) to change, sweat and then change again and go outside again. That's a deal breaker for me. Because of that I had to take points away in "value."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here Christmas week and were pleased with our selection. We are Marriott Rewards members and used our points for our stay. NY hotels can be very pricey and we feel that the value received for our points was excellent. While the rooms are small, we did not spend much time there. The hotel is close to subways and lots of sights. We did have a view of the Empire State Building if we strained to look up at the building. There are several good restaurants nearby but we had made reservations at others. The hotel is within walking distance of shops, 5th Avenue, Bryant Park, etc.

The staff was very attentive - actually going out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are quiet for NYC as this hotel is located on 37th Street between 6th and 5th Aven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I traveled to NYC from 12/22/13-12/24/13 and stayed my last night at this location and have nothing but the best to say about this location and the service provided by the staff. Melissa and Jose, Daniel, Masiel, and Tracy were very friendly and genuine with their attention to detail and level of care and service. From my phoning the hotel prior to arrival to staying, and departing this hotel did a great job. It is a clean, and modern space. It is a it small, but I do not personally care about small stuff when all mentioned above happens. I recommend this hotel. Service is equal to if not better than comparable full-service Marriott hotels charging much more and having much more staff.

Great job!

Room Tip: Higher floors are very quite and showers are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I have never stayed at a Fairfield by Marriott before. Since prices soared for the season for some reason this year we decided this was the place for us budget wise. We were a tad unhappy by the size of the room. We could barely walk by each other when walking around the bed. The bathroom was quite small as well, not much space to place toiletries. But I guess that's the price you pay for staying in NYC. We were hardly in our room anyways so that's the only reason I took one star off.

The bed was very comfortable and clean. The shower was nice with a very large and tall shower head. Barely heard any noise. We had the Empire State building view from our window..Ill download pictures!! The staff was very friendly. Coffee bar was well stocked with Starbucks coffee (my favorite)!

If you are coming for the Christmas season Macys is a 1 and a half block walk which is awesome!! And yes you will be close to time square and other main attractions like Bryan Park too!

Id say if your trip requires you to be away from your room most of the day, go for it! You wont be disappointed! Its a very nice place to unwind and sleep!! :)

Room Tip: Request higher floor....less noise and possible view of Empire State Building which is beautiful at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatzApllz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We needed a good value hotel in New York and booked the Fairfield Inn 5th Avenue. Our expectations weren't high as city centre hotels are often poorly staffed and very average. To say our expectations were exceeded is an understatement! The hotel is situated between 5th and 6th avenue, 5 mins from Maceys and a view of the Empire State Building from our bedroom! The room was modern and immaculately clean, with a fantastic shower (how all hotels should be judged!) A buffet breakfast was included, and self service coffee was available at all times of the day. There was a business centre to print off our return boarding passes, free wifi and a comfy king size bed! The service was superb - whatever they are paying Daniel on the front desk it isn't enough. He couldn't do enough for us - recommending where to eat, helping us with our luggage, hailing cabs and ensuring we got the room we wanted. He is an exemplary employee and if you stay there you should ask for him by name! The other staff were also helpful which made our stay really enjoyable. We will stay here again if we visit New York and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone wanting a good value hotel in the heart of the Big Apple with great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davet444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#155 of 468 in New York City
956 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#238 of 468 in New York City
1,858 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#211 of 468 in New York City
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#101 of 468 in New York City
1,674 reviews
Midtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, Ne...
#163 of 468 in New York City
2,293 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#103 of 468 in New York City
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 21 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Marriott, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing