We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, service and value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #244 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Southwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, service and value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We needed a good value hotel in New York and booked the Fairfield Inn 5th Avenue. Our expectations weren't high as city centre hotels are often poorly staffed and very average. To say our expectations were exceeded is an understatement! The hotel is situated between 5th and 6th avenue, 5 mins from Maceys and a view of the Empire State Building from our bedroom! The room was modern and immaculately clean, with a fantastic shower (how all hotels should be judged!) A buffet breakfast was included, and self service coffee was available at all times of the day. There was a business centre to print off our return boarding passes, free wifi and a comfy king size bed! The service was superb - whatever they are paying Daniel on the front desk it isn't enough. He couldn't do enough for us - recommending where to eat, helping us with our luggage, hailing cabs and ensuring we got the room we wanted. He is an exemplary employee and if you stay there you should ask for him by name! The other staff were also helpful which made our stay really enjoyable. We will stay here again if we visit New York and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone wanting a good value hotel in the heart of the Big Apple with great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davet444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    224
    76
    15
    21
See reviews for
122
233
33
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I did NOT stay in the Fairfield inn because, Vicky charged my account $121.49 & then proceeded to LIE and say I didn't have the funds in my account!! When my card was in fact CHARGED! Fortunately I had cash so I told them I'd find somewhere that would accept cash.. I did not find out until I got home that my card was charged. Vicky had the nerve to say that it was a "no show" "no cancellation". That is impossible!! Because we went inside the hotel!! And told them were going else where!!! Vicky is extremely rude. If you want a nice hotel (worth your money) go across the street to Comfort Inn Suites.. They are much nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizxmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Fairfield Inn offered exactly what we were looking for in a weekend stay - reasonable prices by New York standards, a great location (the view out our window included the majestic Empire State building, we were just a few blocks from Bryant Park, Hells Kitchen, etc), clean rooms, pleasant staff, and even a free breakfast (which we didn't take advantage of, save for the coffee). Yes, the rooms are small, but are you going to NYC to hang out in your room or be out in the hustle and bustle of the city? We'd go back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmt42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We couldn't have picked better location for our October bank holiday weekend. From the moment we checked in the experience was wonderful. The receptionist who greeted us was so lovely and friendly, as were all the hotel staff. We were instantly offered an upgrade, and although there were no rooms available with views of the Empire State, the room suited us perfectly. Incredibly comfy bed, a huge shower, and only a few blocks from the subway. What more could you want for a long weekend in NYC.

Room Tip: Check in early and you might get views of the Empire State
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey County, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The location can't be beat, just three blocks from the 34th and Herald square subway stop. We could see the Empire State building from our room. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good, there was just a couple of cooked options, but a nice selection of cold cereal, fresh fruit (altho this tended to run out), whole grain bread for toast, bagels, and muffins.
The room was very small. There were no luggage racks, so we had to put a suitcase up on the desk, and empty the other one into the ridiculously small closet. The bed was comfy enough, but the linens were worn, and the comforter an unhealthy shade of gray. It was supposed to be covered, duvet style, by two sheets, but unfortunately the sheets didn't quite cover. The pillows were comfy tho. I felt the room was not as clean as it could be, altho certainly acceptable. Towels were hit and miss, sometimes we got Walmart rejects, sometimes half way decent ones, and 2 days out of 5 we got no washcloths at all.
Overall, a nice enough place to stay, altho it felt like being crammed into a closet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mndb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stopped for a quick night (10 hours). As just a place to spend the night after flying into JFK late at night and having to take a train in the morning.

We could see the Empire State building, which was nice, but the room was very small. We had to utilize the desk to open our suitcase.

Breakfast was small but perfectly acceptable. The front desk staff at night was very friendly but he was being pushed by a group in front of us that wanted a room even though the hotel was sold out. We would consider staying if we visited NYC because of the great location, we would just need a few rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Located just off Fifth Avenue in the Garment district, this Fairfield Inn provides clean accommodation and a reasonable breakfast in the morning. Midtown location and a short walk to Grand Central and Penn Station, plus easy access to buses on Fifth and Madison means you can get around Manhattan and the suburbs easily.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor at the back of the hotel if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadwarrior1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#240 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 21 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing