We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME STAFF AND LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #243 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel from Aug 1-5, with my two kids. When I booked, I requested a room on the upper floors, however, when I arrived I was given a room on the 6th floor, I was told they were booked and I could change rooms the next morning. We planned on being out the entire day, so the staff changed our room and had our belongings in our new room, on the 12th floor and this room was a little more spacious. The hotel is small and the rooms are small but the service and location, can't be beat. The free WiFi and breakfast is an added bonus. Employees Daniel and Henry were very helpful and knowledgeable. Other staff members were great but I didn't get their names. There is mo refrigerator or microwave in the rooms but a microwave is downstairs in the breakfast area, which can be used at any time. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel10741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 620 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

1st visit to new york city. daughter and mom traveling alone so safety was paramount. absolutely couldn't have been in a better location for time square & broadway shows. situated in the midst of lots of dress shops and bead/jewelry shops. staff was extremely helpful with recommendations & information. i'm a hotel germaphobe and rooms were beyond spotless. carpet looked like it had never been walked on. definitely rooms are on the smaller side, but it's NYC - had king bed, desk on one side with small wardrobe beneath wall of windows, probably one yard's worth of space around other 2 sides of bed with bathroom (shower only). more than enough space for us and absolutely couldn't beat the price!! utilized parking garage 1 block away - found it very secure (left SUV packed full of stuff including full set of NIKE golf clubs). only complaint would be that there was only one package of regular coffee for the coffee maker in the room and powdered creamer rather than liquid 1/2 1/2. :) however, the lobby had more coffee accessible & real 1/2 1/2. will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Central location - you can't get any better than this. Yes, it is true - the rooms are very small, but you shouldn't be spending much time in your room. We still managed to (barely) fit a pack n' play for our daughter to sleep in. Also note that King rooms do not have a bath (only shower).
They were kind enough to give us a room with a great view of the Empire State Building on the 9th floor. The air conditioner is quite loud... Breakfast was passable - it was not fantastic, but it's a rarity to get complimentary breakfast at the price we paid ($150 / night). Complimentary Wi-Fi worked well in the room. It's true that there was only one elevator working during our visit, but this did not bother us in the least. Also, the air conditioner is quite loud...
The front desk staff was fantastic, and so was Daniel the concierge! Extremely friendly and helpful.
If you need parking, you can get it at a discount of $30 / day across the street.
Overall, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juls&Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I would gladly stay at this property again. Great location near the Empire State Building and the GIANT Macy's. Friendly staff. Good food options nearby. The WiFi wasn't working at the time, but a minor inconvenience considering that so many establishments in the city also provide free WiFi. The elevators are small, so if you're on a lower floor you may have to wait a short while during peak hours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy47714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location is really convenient of this hotel, so if you plan to stay outdoors through the day, definitely the place for you.. The room is compact and I would say quite ok for New York standards. The staff was helpful. The down side was the breakfast. Even though we had paid for it, we ate there only once. The space is cramped - cold scrambled eggs, limited items except for bagels. Thankfully some cereal was there. We preferred to step out, rather than queue up for a place to sit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priyanka_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Location: We stayed here for 2 nights around the July 4th holiday. We had stayed in this hotel 3 years ago and I wrote a good review then. So I had no hesitation staying here this time. And we were not disappointed. It is within a short walk to Penn station, 5th Avenue and and Times Square and the theater district.
Rooms and amenities: It is modern , clean with the usual conveniences of Fairfield Inns, breakfast, internet access etc. It is a small hotel which actually is a plus. There is 5 or 6 rooms on each of the 18 floors. It is true as the other reviewers said that during our stay , one of the 2 elevators was out of order but because the hotel is so mall and there are not too many people staying there, this was not particularly a problem. We stayed on the 17th and had a great view of the Empire State building. The rooms are very small but chic and comfortable. However, they would not be suitable for more than 2 people. The bathroom is a decent size and the water pressure is very good.
Service and food: Very helpful and friendly front desk staff, providing directions, holding our luggage after check out etc. The drainage in our shower was slow so I told the front desk the first night. I assumed because it was late no one came to look that evening. The next morning I told the front desk and someone came to our room a few minutes later and fixed the problem.
The breakfast and coffee was adequate and convenient. There was a wine and cheese reception on Wednesday night which was a nice touch especially before the theater.
Summary: We recommend this hotel.
Note: We noticed a new Spring Hill suites hotel adjacent to our hotel which looked very nice.

Room Tip: If you are a family of more than 2, call the hotel and ask if they have bigger rooms on the 18th flo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rox-In-Box
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is a nightmare! There are about 16/17 stories and ONE elevator available (second elevator broke down and has not been repaired for days/weeks, which seemed not to bother anyone of the front desk staff and managers!!)
Service: Once in the room we had to wait more than 20 minutes for our luggage. I had to go down to the lobby again and ask for our luggage since the guy (other hotels call it bell man) taking care of it was too 'chatty' and talking way too much nonsense with other guests in the lobby!
Rooms: The rooms are tiny tiny!!! We had 3 suitcases and 2 carry on-trolley's and did not really know where to put all this luggage. There was just enough space for a bed and a desk. The chair at the desk you could hardly move....
Bathroom: OMG, fortunately we both were slim, otherwise we could hardly get in! No space to put anything.
Breakfast: Awful breakfast room! Way too small for this amount of guests!!! ...and dirty,
Summary: the hotel rooms, the elevator, the bell man and the breakfast room are an effrontery !!!
This was a real "NEVER WANT TO COME BACK" experience! ;-(
PS: Be aware if you booked through booking.com and expedia, olotels, ebookers etc etc. This hotel will not accept Marriott Reward Cards compared to other Marriott hotels, if booked through a booking agency!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyRucks, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

I apologize for the inconveniences you faced on your recent stay with us. I realize how frustrating it can be to wait for the elevator in a busy hotel. We are working with our vendor on repair of the second elevator. I have shared your feedback with the staff. As always, we are striving constantly to improve and present the best possible stay for all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#143 of 468 in New York City
989 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#237 of 468 in New York City
1,896 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#201 of 468 in New York City
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#122 of 468 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#160 of 468 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 21 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#200 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $197 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing