We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location good, service, technology and breakfast not so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #226 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“location good, service, technology and breakfast not so”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

pros: handy for 5th Ave and Lord & Taylors, unlike previous review I had a very good mattress and pillow and a very large bed, good ac, power shower and Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner products.
cons: large (constantly) noisy generator outside room (even on 15th floor this is disturbing), breakfast room is tiny, with plastic scrambled eggs, sickly sweet sticky bacon and a scrum to get a seat in cramped space (on the plus side fruit good and plenty of bagels, bread and croissants) better to get and go. Reception service is very average, a simple request to change rooms to get away from noise and possibly have a bath. 20 minutes later (after calling a boss and lots of sighs) a room is found and available however technology at this point gets the better of them and they are unable to move my booking on the system (EXPEDIA bookers beware) because I chose to book it cheaper through Expedia, I couldn't move. Really in this day and age - come on Marriott, sort it out. And being constantly referred to as 'She' when i was standing in front of them??
Special note for Danny - night security/porter/taxi cab hailer? Great service with a smile, receptionists take note!

Room Tip: Ask to not be overlooking the generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkbubbles68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyRucks, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad we were able to accommodate your room type request. Our rooms with a bath tub have two double beds and the king bed rooms have showers. Unfortunately, the request for a bath tub resulted in a room type change. Fortunately, we had a cancellation and was able to change the room type. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    233
    79
    17
    21
See reviews for
134
246
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is more like a youth hostel than a hotel. Room is completely cramped, even for NY standards. You couldn't fully sit on the toilet because there was furniture coming right up to the edge of the bowl. Not room for even a chair in the room. Just enough room for a small mattress.

What was worst was the mattress, which was probably the low end ikea model. The kind that crinkles when you push down on it. So uncomfortable. I would avoid this place and pay a few bucks extra for a nicer hotel next time.

I can't believe the reviews saying this would be a good place for kids. Where would you put them? The rooms literally had no space for a chair.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was going to book for a quick night in NYC, I almost booked next door which was $100 more with the same amenities. Room was clean, people were friendly, for a quick night in the city this is all you need.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high floor in NYC to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samiventi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
541 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed in the Fairfield Inn on West 37th Street with my wife and two young sons in August 2012. The hotel is well located just off 5th Avenue only a few minutes walk from the Empire State Building. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly. We had a parcel delivered to hotel which arrived before we did and they were happy to store it for us.

The hotel is compact. The lobby and breakfast room are small. There is fee access to the internet in the lobby area. Free juice and cookies were provided from time to time. We shared one room with two double beds. The room was quite small, even by New York standards. There was limited storage space. There was no in-room safe. We had to use a safety deposit box at reception to store our valuables. The bathroom was fine.

There was a free self service breakfast. There was a good choice of food - cereals, fruit, bread, but limited hot food. The only drawback of breakfast is that the breakfast room was very cold due to the air conditioning, so although it was very hot outside, we had to wrap up warmly for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIchard035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

After searching for hotels that is strategically located as well as affordable, we settled for Fairfield Inn.. Prove to be the best decision made! No Regrets! Provides decent breakfast and a comfortable warm bed. A very friendly front desk that double as a superb concierge. Always ready to assist and always smiling. A short walk to the subs, macys just around the corner and strips of shops at the other corner. Plenty of delicious halal food cart. Will definitely stay again if I were to re-visit NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedeeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, AR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here because we wanted a good central location to stay while visiting NYC. It was great! Great location. Fast, easy check-in. Great hospitality. We were there on a Wednesday night, so manager's reception with wine and cheese. It was fun sitting and chatting with other guests, many from other countries. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great Hotel for a NYC visit. This Fairfield is on a quiet street in the Fashion District, but is close enough to trains if you choose to commute that way. It is also very easy to grab a taxi on 5th avenue about 1/4 block's walk from the hotel entrance.
The customer service at this hotel was suburb. I arrived early and my room was not ready. I did call for early check-in and am a platinum member but by 11:40 a.m. they didn’t have it ready. My bag was tagged and stored for me while I left the hotel to wait for my room. When I arrived back, my keys were ready and my bag delivered to my room. Through the remainder of our stay all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly in a way that made you feel welcome and comfortable, which made up for the short wait to get my room.
The hotel does offer a breakfast with hot and cold items and you should be able to fill up before you head out for the day without any problem. They serve Starbucks coffee and Tazo Tea as well, which was a treat. The breakfast room offers plenty of space to site and enjoy your meal.
The hotel does not have a gym but offers passes to Crunch, a nearby (2 blocks away) gym, for guests.
Overall I’d recommend this hotel for a stay. It has spacious rooms for Manhattan, clean room and bathrooms and friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#154 of 468 in New York City
956 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#238 of 468 in New York City
1,858 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#218 of 468 in New York City
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#101 of 468 in New York City
1,676 reviews
Midtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, Ne...
#163 of 468 in New York City
2,294 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#103 of 468 in New York City
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 21 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing