We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #250 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Traveling on business. Room was small but comfortable for one. If my "better half" was with me it would have been a cramped. Bed, very comfortable. Nice shower in the bathroom; however, when using the sink I had to close the bathroom door to make room. Wifi worked very well. I'd stay here again. BTW, front desk and cafe staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    237
    80
    18
    23
See reviews for
136
251
38
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am Marriott Silver, redeemed 30K points for 1 free Sat night at room 803

The Good
- Good location in midtown, closer to 6th avenue, right beside the big white soon-to-open Spring Hill Suites
- Free wi-fi, computer/printers
- Free breakfast (more than I thought with hot food), and welcome beverage in lobby
- We arrived early ~11 am and they stored luggage for us

The Bad
- wifi is free, but didn't work on cell phones (2 BB Z10), but worked on Nexus S (partially) and computer
- Small small room. Barely have room for 1 baby stroller + 2 carry-on luggages. If I paid $329/night for this I'd be unhappy. Fairfield Chelsea is even worse at $600+/night
- Obstructed view of ESB @@ Yes I did ask for ESB view but it was pointless view. I'd rather take an upgrade to Suite (if available)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Fairfield on W 37th is perfectly located in Midtown for an NYC getaway. Easy walk to Times Sq and theatres, shopping on 5th Ave, subway & busses, incl. Penn Station. Clean, neat rooms (small, but of course - all rooms are small in NYC), comfortable beds, classy cafe for complimentary breakfast (loved the waterfall). Breakfast was pretty standard fare, but more than made up for by the complimentary wine social Wed evening!
Mostly, what I cannot compliment enough was the OUTSTANDING STAFF. Every single employee was friendly, polite, professional. From the front desk folks to the cafe staff to the charmingly bashful housekeeping guy who brought us an extra blanket, every single person working here was WONDERFUL. Everyone was welcoming and accomodating. Five stars for the staff, definitely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaseyMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Booked one night here to celebrate my son's 13th bday. My husband is a member of the Marriott Rewards program so we used his points to book this room. Check in was easy and very pleasant. Check in clerk was very friendly and gave us an upgrade to a suite on the top floor. It was a small suite (its NYC after all) but very nice none the less. Room was very clean with a lot of modern amenities. Bathroom was large and modern. The room had an amazing view of the Empire State Building and a large balcony. Breakfast was pretty basic but fine. The breakfast area was a little small and was pretty crowded with limited seating. We were lucky to find a seat. Over all this hotel was a very nice, clean place to stay in NYC. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you Marriott!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hotel had good location with very helpful & friendly staff. Breakfast was good with Starbucks coffee. Unfortunately Booking.com played tricks with reservation. On their page there was room with kingsize bed for 4 people which I booked for 3 people. In the first place the room we got was small with one beg bed. Lucky us we had possibility to change for bigger one with 2 beds. Free wifi is provided but couldn't connect with phones but worked well for computer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backyard side are quieter. Room with kingsize bed are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Etukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyRucks, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I am glad we were able to accommodate your needs. Yes, Booking.com posted in error the number of people for our king size rooms. It has been corrected. We thank you for your business and hope you will choose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I spent a long weekend in the city and this hotel was a great spot. Easy to walk to from Penn Station, and just a few blocks away from subway and bus lines. Also great location to walk to Broadway/Times Square. The rooms are SMALL but bed is super comfy and roomy showers. The windows opened a bit to allow for fresh air. Service is outstanding! Everyone at the front desk was friendly and took their time with each customer. We didn't need sightseeing or restaurant recommendations, but I'm sure they would be ready for recommendations.

The free breakfast is okay and convenient. They had hot coffee for us in the morning and that's usually all I need. One night we couldn't find a local place for a late-night cocktail so we bought a bottle of wine at the 24-hour store across the way and sat outside on the front patio enjoying the lovely spring weather.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyKinPhX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was put in a room the size of a full size bed. No space to move.
The atmosphere was horrible and the room was dirty, too.
I was asked to be transferred to a different location as I couldn't sleep all night - Just felt claustrophobic - But was told it wasn't 'feasible' - as they are franchised.
The rooms are totally not 'Marriott' quality - more like a LaQuinta Inn - Not even that!
When I have asked to check out early on my reservation - I was denied that request as well and was told by manager, Tracey, that I will be charged for the nights not stayed if I chose to leave. Extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#156 of 467 in New York City
976 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#237 of 467 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#207 of 467 in New York City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#118 of 467 in New York City
1,334 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 467 in New York City
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 21 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing