We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to stay that little room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #250 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had to stay that little room!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

When I was planning our NYC trip I expected that the hotel rooms would be an American size as they were extremely expensive! However, when we saw the room with two double beds as were 3 adults and a baby, we couldn't set up the cot bed and also luggages were on the way to the toilet! Also we requested mini fridge for the baby food, so there were not any space in the room. We couldn't find any available rooms for that weekend in the city so had to stay there.

When we stayed there in June 2012, rooms and breakfast area were clean. Breakfast was not very good but at least it was free! Staff were quite talkative and friendly. Easy to walk everywhere. Liked the street as there were flowers every day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denizasiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    237
    80
    18
    23
See reviews for
136
251
38
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Rooms are very small but clean. Location is very good 10$ taxi from Times Square. People are nice. Breakfast is ok.. and even a lil better than other hotels is the area. I found it a lil difficult to manage my luggages in the room its too tiny...Will i go there again?..i dunno! If i have another option with rooms a lil bigger i wont go there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here for three nights. The room is rather cramped as is typical in Manhattan but it was clean and well maintained. Times Square, the subway station at Herald Square, 5th Avenue shopping, and The Empire State Building are all about a 5 - 10 minute walk away. The free breakfast is a bit lacking. The staff is great. In particular a big tip of the hat to the Bellman (I believe his name is Daniel). His professionalism and helpfulness was exemplary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_DallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Me and my friend made a trip to New York last weekend and we had a blast! Mainly because we had a great hotel in a perfect location and the most friendly staff working there. We were central to everything we walked everywhere. Rooms aren't the biggest but what does that matter you are in New York who stays in their room! Just like to make note of how entertaining each staff member working there was...we had a laugh everytime we walked in or walked out! The ice water and juice for guests in the lobby was also perfect considering it was a heatwave that weekend *If someone from the hotel is looking at this please let us know if that man is still extending his stay* hahahaha...Definitly coming back to NYC and staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our room was so small that my husband said it was a stamp size ;), but that is New York! Great location, though. It is located in the Fashion District, easy to get everywhere walking and not so far to get to the metro. Internet in rooms is only with cable, but wifi in the lobby. Having the breakfast complimentary was great and helps to begin the day with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birch_abedul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, LA
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the Fairfield Inn (on W 37th just off 5th. Ave) in early July. The hotel is tiny and cramped with only 6 rooms per floor. The rooms are very small and cramped but modern, comfortable bed and quiet. There is only a very small closet and no place to store luggage. There is only ethernet cable in the rooms but Wi-Fi is available in the lobby (which only has enough room for 4 chairs). Flatscreen TV mounted on the wall at the foot of the bed and had excellent reception.
The front desk staff are very friendly, cheerful and helpful. Breakfast is included and of the usual fare. The business center lets you print your boarding passes free.
This is a great place to stay if you don't mind having to walk several blocks to Times Square and the theatre district.

Room Tip: It appears that you may have to go to the higher floors to get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kduay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel itself was perfectly adequate, but nothing outstanding or special except for the great location. My room was one of the smallest I've stayed in inside the US, but any more space than that would have felt unfair in NYC. It was enough for me, but might have been slightly cramped if I had not been traveling alone.

However, I sincerely appreciate the help of one staff member in particular. I discovered a problem with my outgoing flight about an hour before checkout time and asked if I could extend my stay one night. There were no rooms available, but thanks to my dad's loyalty to Marriott, this staff member called the nearby Fairfield in Times Square and booked me a room using hotel points and allowed me to go and check in there immediately. Crisis averted. Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proudbrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#156 of 467 in New York City
976 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#237 of 467 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#207 of 467 in New York City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#118 of 467 in New York City
1,334 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 467 in New York City
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 21 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing