We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice new hotel but you can hear through the walls”
Review of Andaz Wall Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Andaz Wall Street
Ranked #117 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I loved this hotel and would have given it a higher rating. However if your a light sleeper I wouldn't stay here. The wifi, free soft drinks and nibbles daily was brilliant. Have stayed at the Sofitel NY and this was just as good if not better and we loved the Sofitel. However the detail of noise that came through the walls in our room was off putting. We could clearly hear conversations and on a couple of occasions hear people arguing. This didn't spoil our stay as we were not in our room 24/7. In fact we would on most days come back at night and crash from exhaustion but when we go back to NY this would be enough to try another hotel.

I could not fault it anywhere else... Would I recommend it to a friend? Based on the noise I'm afraid I would say no.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ITravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,485 - 2,491 of 2,985 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2010

I was visiting clients in the Financial District and this was the only hotel available so took it. Arrived really late at night (volcanic ash was happeing and I was coming from England) and was greeted by very friendly staff who checked me in very quickly and even managed to find a glass of wine for me (it was VERY late) as I was clearly exhausted and needing a little something as a pick-me-up.
Room was fabulous - loved the various light settings and the loft style. Was glad of slippers as the floors were wooden and would have made a huge noise.
Liked the fee snacks and the free soft drinks - just enough to tempt if needed.
Realised in the morning I had forgotten my wash bag - but literally across the road at the mini mart there was all I needed. Toiletries in the hotel were lovely.
Particularly liked the huge shower/wet room with the rainforest shower head. Beds were big and comfy and the blackout blinds worked fine for me.
Only downside (which I mentioned to the staff at the time) - as a woman i like to be able to see to put on my make up. bathroom is all black tiles (super cool to look at) and not enough light for make up. Likewise the pull-out mirror was in the darkest place in the room. can I suggest a make up mirror on the table or similar for us ladies?
Loved the communcal area and the free internet access (30 minutes max but never needed that long). Great for free teas and coffees, and wines and juice in the evening.
This hotel has a lovely style about it, feels individual and as a solo traveller I felt really safe.
Was close to the subway for going up to Times Square etc and also close enough to walk to see some of the sights.
Would I go back? Of course! Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

First class design hotel, newly opened in 2010, comfortable lounge ambience, very decent large rooms with tasteful furniture and lights, clean, calm, central (metro wall street), shops around, charming pro-active young service, extras like all-day coffee and small muffins (for early birds), WLAN, notebook in the lobby/lounge, gratuit snacks and non-alcolholic drinks in the room, gratuit. Oasis in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SignorRossi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The hotel is located at southerr tip of Manhattan, convenient for Battery Park/Financial District sight seeing and easy access to Midtown by subway.the staff at reception created a sincere welcoming impression. Room well equipped, modern/minimalist and spotless

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcfamily50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend in New York to celebrate his birthday. I chose the Andaz Wall Street knowing that he loves the financial district, and we were more than pleasantly surprised with the comfort and level of service. We liked the informality of check-in, the free daily cappuccinos, the conviviality of the lobby in the morning, the spacious rooms and amazing shower. A totally excellent experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyb6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Our experience at the Andaz did not start out well because we couldn't find the entrance! They should make it easier to find because it is a very nice place to stay. My wife and I found it to be exceptionally clean, with the friendliest, most courteous staff we've ever encountered. The room was large and bright. The outside wall is mostly glass. The spare, contemporary decor contributed to the sense of cleanliness. We saw no evidence of bedbugs. The bed was very firm, with very fluffy pillows and a down comforter, and the room was very quiet; my wife says it was the best night's sleep she has had in weeks (all the walking we did may have contributed to that). The bathroom was ultra-modern, with black tile and a translucent window in the shower looking into the bed area which let natural light into the bathroom. The shower was large enough for a party! The wife says the lighting wasn't too good for makeup, but to me it seemed fine for shaving. The soaps, shampoos, and free snacks and (non-alcoholic) drinks provided were very high quality. There was no iron, but we didn't need one or ask if one was available. We ate breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and it was very good, though pricey. Right around the corner on Saturday afternoon there was a farmers' market, complete with musicians (ain't New York neat?). There is a large drugstore right across the street, but we were visiting our daughter and never had time to look for other restaurants in the immediate vicinity. We highly recommend Andaz and hope to return. One more thing - the door is the one with the seating area just inside, on the left. You'll see it through the glass. Peace!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomfann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Wouldn't it be nice to live in a fantasy world where all of the things you subconsciously wish you had to make your life easier were for real?

Well, stay at the Andaz Wall Street, and some of what you subliminally want actually comes true. At the beginning of my 2-night stay from Sept. 24-26, I checked in much later than anticipated, and was famished. So just imagine how much those free chips and beverages in the room hit the spot until I could go out and find a place to eat.

You know how when you stay in a hotel or motel, you have to go around the room turning on (or off) all the lamps and lights? The Andaz Wall Street has buttons that say, "All On" and "All Off."

And the windows? Buttons with the word "Blackout" on it will lower or raise the motorized shade at a hip, subdued pace.

Beyond these and many other practical, clever benefits and features, the service from the human staff is also very good. I had an unfortunate issue that I needed to report shortly after check-in. The Manager on Duty was immediately summoned...he was courteous, professional, intelligent, and didn't leave until he was sure I was 150% satisfied.

The Andaz Wall Street is not perfect...
for example, the bathroom areas are still a bit too boutique-y dark for my taste, and some of the young hosts who patrol the lobby, while friendly and diligent, are a bit unpolished and robotic. But believe what most of the other reviewers are saying...it's an impressive place to stay with good service. You will get your money's worth, whatever you pay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB-Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#25 of 469 in New York City
474 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
1,672 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#71 of 469 in New York City
663 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#82 of 469 in New York City
2,517 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#239 of 469 in New York City
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Wall Street

Address: 75 Wall Street, Entrance on Water Street, New York City, NY 10005-2833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#28 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#95 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $158 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Wall Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Lower Manhattan’s renaissance at Andaz Wall Street from Hyatt. Have a seat in the Andaz Lounge—an open, communal setting that’s equal parts living room and lobby—where your Andaz Host will warmly greet you and check you in with a handheld iPad. Complimentary High-speed wireless Internet and local calls will be make you right at home as well as free non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. Escape from the real world with high-impact treatments from The SPA or enjoy a quick stroll to South Street Seaport. It’s your call — you’re in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Wall Street Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing