We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Ranked #254 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a family”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just returned from a trip to NYC. Since it was Spring break it was difficult to find a reasonably priced hotel in the CIty. Fortunately, we stumbled upon the Confort Inn Times Square. It is in an amazing location, close to the subway, to Times Square and to lots of restaurants without being in a noisy location. They serve a very nice breakfast, have coffee and hot chocolate out all day and the personnel work very hard to keep things running smoothly. Our room was cleaned while we were eating breakfast! The rooms are small, and the bathrooms tiny, but not any smaller than higher priced NYC hotels.
The only negative is that they held our bags the day we checked out, and when we returned my husband's ipad had been dropped and had a ding in it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    438
    127
    29
    22
See reviews for
349
267
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This clean, comfortable, friendly hotel is less than a block's walk to the subway station, and just around the corner from literally hundreds of little restaurants along 9th Ave. in Hell's Kitchen. Our room was tiny but well laid out, and the bathroom was well-designed too. The staff is very helpful and eager to please, and the breakfast was just great, especially for the price we paid for the room. We are keeping our eye out for dates where they offer a similar rate, and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vance, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 3/26/13 to 3/30/13. The staff was very helpful. They let us check in early when we arrived and held our bags the last day after we checked out so we could go out and see the city. They had a nice continental breakfast, small but clean and comfortable rooms, and always had cookies out at the front desk for guests during the day. The hotel's location and price are the best parts. The price we paid was a discount due to joining Choice Priveledges and was around $160 a night. We were on the fourth floor at the back of the hotel and noise level from the street was very minimal. The hotel is about a block from Broadway shows such as Lucky Guy, Phantom of the Opera, Matilda, and Rock of Ages. It is also a block away from great restraunts like John's Pizzeria, Carmines, and Guy Fiera's. The hotel is about 2 blocks from times square. It is a great location and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a high level at the back of the hotel for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
184 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

stayed here while running the NY marathon in 2010 - perfect! very central - a short walk to time square - but also quiet. Breakfast was included and they made a huge effort to have something available for before the run - thanks a mil. Very reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossgar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is situated just 2 and a half blocks down from Times Square and within easy walking distance from Broadway theatres. It is between 8th and 9th Avenue. It is spotlessly clean and the staff work very hard to ensure it stays that way. The room we had was a triple room and was very small for 3 people. It was quiet for being so convenient to Times Square and Broadway. The breakfast is absolutely delicious with all choices - waffles and syrup, bacon and scrambled eggs or sausage and boiled eggs, brown, white bread to toast, bagels to toast, cereals - cornflakes, rice krispies etc, selection of croissants, danish pastries, muffins etc, orange and apple juice, fresh fruit selection, yogurts and tea/coffee/water/ice machine. The only downside to the beautiful breakfast is that it is served on plastic plates with plastic cutlery which kind of spoilt it for me but I still recommend the quality of the food. Subway 42 Port Authority is one block away and is convenient for all directions. Theatre productions on the same street are: Matilda, Rock of Ages, Barry Manilow and Phantom of the Opera.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. It is not fancy, but our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was actually bigger than I expected. Free breakfast in the morning. Nice staff. I slept well each night. Only a short walk to Times Square. Very nice value. I don't want to spend all my money on my hotel.... I want to spend it in the city. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chibi1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

No doorman, no fancy lobby, small rooms, plain, simple .... BUT the facility is clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, free breakfast is provided, the room was clean, the bathroom was clean, the beds were great, its one and half blocks off of Times Square, its one and half blocks from a subway station, its in the Theatre District, walking distance to a multitude of great restaurants, its reasonably priced for a Manhatten hotel, and its my new favorite place to stay in New York City. Thank you for great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stmazaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#271 of 468 in New York City
1,119 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#312 of 468 in New York City
523 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#255 of 468 in New York City
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,361 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Property: Comfort Inn Times Square West
Address: 343 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-5402 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
#157 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing