We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and close to the action!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Ranked #253 of 468 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great value for money and close to the action!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Considering this hotel was less than half the price of a hotel I'd stayed at on a previous visit to New York - there was no real difference.

Sure, if you're a nit-picker you'll always find something moan about, like; the bath towels weren't eye blindingly white, the lift was a bit slow or there was no seating left at breakfast, but considering the room rate I got, who cares? Besides, I tend to work round such niggles by having my breakfast before the hungry hordes crawl out of their pits, and what's wrong with taking the stairs once in a while? God gave you a pair of legs.. hopefully!

The staff were friendly. My room was fresh, clean and tidy. The t'interweb worked well. The bed was firm but comfy. I had a decent view from the 6th floor, but ...... even though I tried every combination known to mankind, I just couldn't get the shower to fire up. No probs' though, having a nice steaming hot bath after a hard days sightseeing was no real hardship :)

If I had to nit-pick about something it would be the choice of channels on the telly. Sorry, but American TV is dire, absolutely dire!! Surely something like the BBC could easily be added at minimal cost?

''Lovely Jubbley''

Room Tip: Try and avoid a room on level 2 as it has a drinks vending machine on it. A falling bottle of Pepsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyalOperaMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    438
    127
    29
    22
See reviews for
349
267
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here several times in the last two years. We also stay at the Mayfair and the Amsterdam Court, two boutique places on 49th and 50th Streets. We founf this when the others were $350 plus!!! It's only a few blocks from Broadway, great location. Nice little lobby light self serve breakfast. Very Clean rooms. Have fun.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great value for money, stayed here for 3 nights. Great complimentary hot breakfast and 24 hour tea and coffee which was a great touch. They even had a waffle maker. The staff were lovely and really helpful, polite and great at giving tips. The room was small but there were two queen beds in there so that is to be expected, the bathroom was very clean. Great location and just a few mins walk to Time Square. Computers and printers available for checking in online and free wifi. The hotel was very close to the subway at the end of the road which was handy for us getting back to the airport. Lots of places to eat and drink around this area, Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nauney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. Great location, you can visit touristy sights just by walking, and if not the subway is just two blocks away. We stayed at the main floor, the room was small, it had a weird stain on the bed, but the sheets were clean and covering it all. What was very weird and I really could not understand was the electric charge in the room, anything we touched the doorknobs or even each other a little shock would occur, so watch out for that if it happens to you. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and the WiFi was at a decent speed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madalina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this hotel over New Year's Eve. We couldn't have been any happier. The subway station was half a block from the hotel, Times Square was 2 blocks, restaurants were everywhere and a quick walk to Rockefeller Center/Macy's, Intrepid, etc. The room was small but it was fine for our family of 4. The elevators were slow, but the stairs were always available. The staff was pleasant and always smiling. The breakfast was fine and it was amazing how much of a variety they fit in to such a small place. We did have to take our breakfast to our room because we could never find a seat. We loved the fact that coffee/tea/hot chocolate was available 24 hours a day. After a day walking in 30 degrees weather, it always hit the spot when we walked into the lobby door. Two computers available with printer in the lobby. I would not hesitate to stay there again and would definitely recommend this property to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theravenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Comfort Inn. It's a small hotel, but expected in the heart of NYC. The employees that worked there were not able to give us a lot of information about restaurants or nightlife nearby, but they were polite and friendly. The room was small as expected, but clean and the bed was comfortable; although the pillows were a little too soft for our taste. The same with the bathroom - small but clean. The complimentary breakfast was a hot, full breakfast, but we on the 4 mornings we had breakfast there, we were never able to find a seat, so we took our breakfast up to our room. The sausage was good, and there was a variety of foods.

The location was perfect - the next block, 9th Street, is full of bars and restaurants; and 2 blocks to the west was Times Square. Restaurant Row was also just 3 blocks up and EVERYTHING is close by - tour stops, Times Square, AMC and Regal movie theatres, Dave and Busters, everything you can imagine. For the price, we will definately stay here again!!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor is great, as the elevatore is REALLy slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MegailnSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Selected this hotel based on tripadvisor comments and have not been disappointed.outstanding location, great free breakfast (we took fruit to nibble on during the day), rooms small but accommodated the 3 of us fine and the free WiFi very helpful.they also have on-site PC which you can use to print out info you need (at no cost).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#270 of 468 in New York City
1,118 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#318 of 468 in New York City
522 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#258 of 468 in New York City
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,360 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Property: Comfort Inn Times Square West
Address: 343 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-5402 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
#157 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing