We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General Manager Sam is a rude nasty unprofessional jerk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Ranked #254 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
883 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“General Manager Sam is a rude nasty unprofessional jerk”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had many maintenance issues upon checking in, GM made excuses after excuses, 2 mornings in a row, woke up to warm refrig. He was the nerve to accuse me of turning down the thermostat, then tells another guest in lobby what happened. SO UNPROFESSIONAL!! Also my 2nd night front desk guy on phone was sooooo loud, uncaring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammyBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    438
    126
    29
    22
See reviews for
349
266
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in late October and I was very pleased with this hotel. I obviously booked this hotel for the location as it's right in the Theatre District. I wanted to stay in a hotel that was within walking proximity to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History - this hotel is exactly that. It's really nice being able to walk everywhere rather than deal with cabs or crowded subways.

The rooms are simple and clean. I stayed by myself but there is sufficient room for two people. The complimentary breakfast is pretty standard - waffles, eggs, muffins, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice, etc. I forgot to bring shaving cream and was pleasantly surprised to find out that the hotel supplies complimentary toiletries to guests, so that saved me a couple bucks.

My only negative comment about this hotel is the shower. Switching the water flow from the tap to the shower was tricky, there are no shelves to place soap/shampoo, there is no towel rack, and water leaks out onto the bathroom floor.

All in all I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harmonize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

pros:
- excellent location: 5 minutes walk to Broadway and Times Square, 20 minutes walk to Central Libray, Grand Central Terminal, 5th avenue
- price included wifi and breakfast

cons:
- very noisy if your room is facing 44th street even late night
- very dirty towels --- stayed 3 nights we got 2 days towels with hair and 1 days towel with deep yellow stain
- very small room

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor not facing 44th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this property during a recent trip to Manhattan. The staff was all very friendly and made suggestions on what to see and what not to see. They were able to accommodate us with an early check-in and late checkout! :)

Breakfast although crowded was perfect... they had much more selection the other Choice properties I have been to in the past. The tea, coffee and hot chocolate available 24 hours a day defiantly came in handy during these crisp fall days full of lot of walking!

We both slept well and didn't experience any white noise whatsoever. We wilol be returning in March! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lootzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great location. Fabulous breakfast waffles, quite room with comfy bed. Bathroom recently refurbished.

Negatives, dinning room very very small. Needs news carpets in bedroom (mud brown ).

Over all a few small improvements would make this a gem of a place. For now iy scores avrrsge to good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manfredmountjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbartonshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed November previous 4 of us sharing one room.Very basic and small but we did get a good deal flight and hotel 3 nights 4 days.No frills but its a bed at the end of being out sightseeing all day.On the Plus side central location and breakfast provided in the small entrance area which saves you going out in the morning to find somewhere to eat.Near times sq and broadway.Near train station also.

Room Tip: Prob more to see with street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noangelcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The location of this hotel was excellent. It was about two blocks from Times Square and around the corner from the Westway Diner that serves great and inexpensive meals.
The hotel itself was fairly ordinary. The room was small, and as a family of four, we would have struggled for space if we had taken 4 suitcases. I never felt entirely confident that the room was clean. The bedspread had a white stain on it (!) and the sheets had old stains on them. The bathroom had been updated, but again the towels were very thin and old. The carpet was dark brown and looked dirty. I would have been concerned if I had a toddler crawling on it.
The bed itself was super comfortable and I slept well during the stay. I didn't find it noisy at all.
Bathroom was very clean with some basic toiletries and well attended.
There was only one lift in the building and like others have said, it was infuriatingly slow.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and was quite an experience. The breakfast itself was good and I especially recommend the waffles. However the dining room was so tiny, we often could not sit together as a family of four. I found this to be quite stressful in the morning, as I'm not sociable until after my first coffee! There appeared to be no good time to find a table except perhaps very early, before 7am.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanOfBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#269 of 468 in New York City
1,116 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#316 of 468 in New York City
519 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#259 of 468 in New York City
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#239 of 468 in New York City
2,354 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Property: Comfort Inn Times Square West
Address: 343 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-5402 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
#157 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing