We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better stay in a better location for a better price will not be found - EXCELLENT hotel and value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Ranked #253 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A better stay in a better location for a better price will not be found - EXCELLENT hotel and value for the money”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've been to Manhattan many times and will happily say that this is the best value-for-money hotel I've stayed at there, period. Sure, it's clean, the rooms are fair size (I'm 6'4" tall), the water pressure's fine, beds are cozy and clean, the lobby's pleasant, and the staff are polite (in the few times I spoke with them).

Location wise, it could hardly be better. They're on 44th between 8th and 9th, that's about a 5 minute walk from Times Square. Far enough to sleep away from the chaos, close enough to visit within minutes - GREAT LOCATION.

My wife and I ended up finding a great price (<$130USD/room/night) online in mid-July while every other hotel, including ones that were rated much lower, priced out much higher.

Free breakfast and free (slow) internet here too. Do yourself a favor though, if you're already in NYC, don't eat a free breakfast anywhere - go out and enjoy!

Forget the name (yes, it's a "Comfort Inn"), this is the perfect hotel for family and even some business travel.

HIGHLY recommend.

Thank you Comfort Inn from my wife and I for the excellent stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 601 and it was absolutely GREAT. Make sure you don't accidentally end up in a wheel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Einey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    438
    126
    29
    22
See reviews for
349
266
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

If you're looking for the ideal location at a hotel that's good, clean and inviting and offers exceptional value for money this is the one to go for. Perfect for a city break stay. Added bonus for New York was breakfast included. Our room was next to the lift and we weren't even aware of the fact at night. Really helpful staff - even a cookie on arrival! Daughter loved the free wi-fi. This would be our first choice hotel when we return to New York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was really pleasantly surprised with this property. While it is only a few blocks away from the craziness of times square, this hotel is clean, quiet and organized. Rooms are also decent size for NYC. Thumbs up, really

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lenusvyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Recently stayed at hotel even though was unsure after reading reviews and viewing pictures. However hotel was clean, comfortable, quiet and adequate. Breakfast bar was the deciding factor when choosing as this chain has good quality selections. Even though dining area is small, it is adequate. Staff extremely friendly, helpful and sure to please! Great location in the theather district, short walk to Times Square, Central Park and most tourist areas. Located close to Hell's Kitchen and great resturants. Quiet location and very safe area. Please don't let the exterior picture mislead you! Exterior is more intiviting in person. Total value for clean stay. Rooms are adequate, clean and cozy!! Can't beat location, price and staff. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Back room away from street noise and elevator. Low floor to avoid having to wait for small busy elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank classic47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Great location, good price, clean, helpful staff, quiet room even though right next to the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleBear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
130 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

It was our first time in NYC and we wanted to be near the center. We knew it was going to be expensive staying in Manhattan but we didn't want to be bothered with the constant commute if we stayed in NJ where the lodgings were a bit cheaper. We were lucky to have found a good deal at the Comfort Inn Theater District, we ended up extending our stay for 2 more days.

The hotel is very convenient to the subway, a good 3-5 minutes walk. It's two blocks away from Times Square so it wasn't as busy or noisy as the hotels located right smack in the middle of the square.

The hotel is clean. The rooms were spotless specially the bathroom. The breakfast buffet though limited was enough to start one's day of sightseeing. They had both hot and cold selections. The dining area was a bit small so it gets a bit crowded around 8-9AM. Coffee and tea is available at the dining area the whole day.

Staff were friendly and accommodating. Very helpful in giving directions! We'll surely stay at this hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and located on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamaSqueak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you want to be close to Times Square and the Theatre District, this hotel is perfect. It is just a few minutes walk to these exciting areas. The hotel is clean, the breakfast is ok and the beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: The King rooms are perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clinton849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#270 of 468 in New York City
1,117 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#316 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#257 of 468 in New York City
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,356 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Property: Comfort Inn Times Square West
Address: 343 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-5402 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
#157 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelPower, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing