We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Ranked #285 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. A couple blocks from times square. About a block from the lion king theatre. Close to restaurant row. The continental breakfast was good. Lots of choices. The rooms were nice and clean. Little small but standard for NY. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice to come back to your room after a day of shopping/activites and before supper/theatre.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmc484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was my 2nd time at this hotel and it was still a great choice. As in all the other reviews, the location can't be beat unless you are right in Times Sq. (and paying over $400 per night!) Like many things in NYC, the hotel is very deceiving from the front street entrance. You may not want to give it a chance from the photo, but please do. Small lobby that is mostly home to the breakfast area and ice machine, but who cares when your in NYC! We were only in the lobby to wak to the elevator! The hotel seems quite new and the rooms were evident of that. No odd smell, no ugly room decor. Oh, actually the hotel did have a very clean smell when you walked int, but who complains about a clean smell! Flat screen wall-mount tv, 2 very comfy beds with nice comforters and a large desk with lamp. Also a small wardrobe in lieu of a closet and a large refrigerataor which came in handy to chill our botted water.
The bathroom was very nice with white marble and new and clean fixtures.
My only complaint is that the doors aren't sealed very well and you could hear hallway conversations and the chatter of the housekeepers early in the morning. I had to poke my head out the door at 6 am to tell 2 people to stop talking!
The breakfast is standard complimentary breakfast, but a few things changed daily - sausage, bacon, eggs. There were even chocolate waffles which were different than the standard. We opted to take our breakfast back to our room which was a good choice as the table area was quite full.
The hotel is within 1 block of some great family-friendly restaurants - John's Pizza, Shake Shack, Carmine's and is located directly behind the Al Hirschfied Theatre which is currently the home to "How to Succeed In Business". The subway is on the same block which is very convenient. It's a 12 block walk up to Central Park - about a 20 min. walk!
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who isn't out to impress anyone else with the name of a fancy hotel and to anyone who ikes to save their money for more fun things to do in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BELGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I was apprehensive about being given a basement room. However, there was a large window and it did not seem like being in a basement. The advantages were that it faced an enclosed area in the back of the hotel, and even thought there was not view, the room was very quiet since there was no street noise. It was also easy to use the stairs to go up and down without waiting for the elevator. Staff was helpful, room was immaculate, breakfast was more than adequate. Typical small NYC hotel room was nicely furnished and made good use of space available. Both room and bathroom appeared to be newly renovated.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLR4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Comfort Inn Theatre District hotel wasn't bad yet not very good. the stuff wasn't friendly and there was only one elevator for up to 5 floors so it was realy difficult to use it. moreover there was wide variety of food and the location is perfect. one of its best advantages is the complimentary breakfast .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in NYC that was close to Times Square and the restaurants, but couldn't find anything that wasn't a dive for a decent price... Until we stumbled upon this place for approx $150 p/n! It's about a block from Times Square (5-10 min walk) & great selection of restaurants even closer. The room was of a decent size, comfortably fitted two people & 3 suitcases, bedding was clean (and bed bug free importantly!) & comfortable, while we didn't spend much time here during the day, it was great to come back to a clean, warm, comfortable room after a day of sightseeing in the middle of winter. Only drawback was the heating could get quite hot after a while (wouldn't leave it going overnight, no matter how cold outside, but they may just have been us!) and the room could get a little noisy at times, but nothing that kept us awake at night.

Our rate included free breakfast, which was a mix of hot & continental, with a great attendant there the whole time to help you with anything & keeping everything topped up. Free Wi/Fi was also included, which was great for international travellers such as us.

Overall, great stay at a great price, would happily recommend this place to anybody visiting New York who wants to be central to all the action and wants to stay in at least a decent hotel without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulie_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I picked this hotel based on location and price - very easy to get to (take the air train from JFK to Howard Beach, transfer to the A train headed to Manhattan, get off at 42nd and take the 44th St exit, and the hotel is half a block away). 44th street looks very sketchy, but 9th is restaurant heaven, and you're in the middle of the theatre district - just perfect.

I found my room to be fine, but overheated - I've turned the heater way down, but maybe it's just me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phebess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I was blown away to find a Comfort Inn for $117 a night (AAA rate) which included a hot breakfast right in the middle of the theatre district... Even more blown away when I got there... Check in was easy and fast.. The room is very decent - and the bathroom seemed abnormally large! I noticed later I had a handicap accessible room - which probably explains the extra large bathroom. I was right next to the elevator which worried me a little but the noise wasn't too bad. The only down side was the cleaners trolly outside the elevator - the cleaners weren't loud but they had a walkie talkie on that you could hear through the door at 8:30 a.m... I was awake so no biggie - but bring ear plugs anyhow if you're a light sleeper because you are in the middle of Hell's Kitchen and people do honk alot in NYC it seems! The bed was comfortable, the room was super clean (the bathroom was all white and spotless!) Comes with mini-fridge - and there is a nice grocery store a block away which helps keeps costs down while in NYC... The subway is on the same block! Short walking distance to all the theatres! I will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms ending in 10 have the bigger bathroom (next to elevator)... Ask front desk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddkphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#322 of 473 in New York City
1,168 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#325 of 473 in New York City
594 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#268 of 473 in New York City
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 473 in New York City
2,236 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Mi...
#214 of 473 in New York City
1,131 reviews
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#340 of 473 in New York City
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Address: 343 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-5402 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $113 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing