We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to relax and take in the views!!!”

Manhattan By Sail - Clipper City Tall Ship
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Statue of Liberty Tall Ship Sailing Cruise
More Info
$50.00*
and up
New York City Twilight Sail
More Info
$75.89*
and up
Craft Beer Sailing Cruise in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manhattan by Sail has a diverse little fleet of ships that sail the NY Harbor daily and a corresponding myriad of options for any and all who want to experience the thrill of sailing in the world’s greatest harbor. Our newest addition is the Clipper City, a 158-ft. tall ship that can accommodate up to 150 passengers. A more intimate experience can be had on the Shearwater, a historic schooner with capacity up to 48 passengers.
Torrington, CT
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great way to relax and take in the views!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a party of four and a travelzoo voucher! It was a beautiful way to relax and take in the views of the statute of liberty!!!! We took the 90 minute cruise around the statute of liberty at 430 pm on a weekday. The bartender was great and the crew was friendly! If you are looking for an educational informative tour of the harbor this is not for you! There is no narrating - just music and relaxation! It was cool to watch the sails go up and hear the motor go off and know you are truly sailing!!! Very pretty historic schooner!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kellybelly712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    71
    17
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best July 4th EVER”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We chose this sailing to get a good view of the July 4th fireworks.

Manhattan Sail did a fantastic job with everything - drinks, food, sailing, and positioning for fireworks viewing.

Sailing out of the North Cove - very easy walk from the subway - we were able to board at 5:30, sail around for several hours - past Ellis Island, Statue of Liberty (see picture), and Governor's Island - then headed up river to see the Fireworks show (9:30). Afterward we sailed back to North Cove and easily caught a cab for some newly found friends (we were staying at the Conrad one block away). Couldn't image what the situation was like uptown after the show was over........

We were 2 short of capacity and it did not feel crowded at all - very easy to move around the boat. We had sailed before so we were aware that seating is typically limited so sitting on the deck was expected. We had excellent weather, so only went into the cabin to use the restroom.

Pointer - this is a sailboat which does tilt and jostle, so not a good choice for those with movement challenges. There are other boating options if you need to have a level and steady path to walk. I only bring this up because as a person who has no problems walking I had to take my time to get across the boat to ensure I didn't get a river dunk as a part of the trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_Kris_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Promises made, promises not kept”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were very excited to book an evening sail through NewYork Pass, especially it was our 10th Anniversary! Unfortunately, the evening of our sail, the sailboat ride was canceled. We did receive a phone call (no message) about 1-1/2 hours before our sailing, but no message was left. We called back immediately and asked for a return call as a person was "unavailable to take our call". No one called back.
We found out about the cancellation after we arrived. I phoned the manager about not getting a return call. She claims to have called me, apologized and promised to accommodate us the next day--all I would have to do is call.
We were unable to be accommodated on another ride that evening nor the next day (I called the next day and was told there was no room for us, even though Manager R. reassured us if we rearranged our plans we would be able to sail.) Very disappointing.
If you have a New York Pass, there is no recourse for cancellations nor is there any accountability for Manhattan Sail.
They will, however take your credit card, and if you happen to have technical difficulties and cannot make your sail, you will be charged the full price!
We gave Manhattan Sail and Manager R. three chances to make good on their promises, but they chose not to come through for us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank kOps210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent way to start our New York visit.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We took a 90 minute Daytime Statue Sail on the Clipper City Tall Ship on 15th July, within hours of arriving in NY. It was a great way to start the 3 days we had. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The cruise was interesting and we took many photos. We were comfortably seated at the front of the ship. Spectacular views of the statue of Liberty and the city as well as all the islands and features on and around the harbour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylviatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

On June 20th we took the Harbor Lights tour on the Schooner. We left at 9:30 pm and returned at 11pm. The view of New York city all lit up from the water was breathtaking! The crew were highly trained and very professional. We were taken right up to the Statue Of Liberty and left with awesome photos and a priceless memory. This is a must if you visit New York! We will take this boat/harbor lights tour again when we return. Thank you, Nina, for helping us with our reservation and also a shout out to Ramon who took pictures for us on the boat. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and we're so thankful for this experience. Thank you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank fortlaud30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan By Sail - Clipper City Tall Ship also viewed

 

Been to Manhattan By Sail - Clipper City Tall Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing