We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Promises made, promises not kept”

Manhattan By Sail - Clipper City Tall Ship
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Statue of Liberty Tall Ship Sailing Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manhattan by Sail has a diverse little fleet of ships that sail the NY Harbor daily and a corresponding myriad of options for any and all who want to experience the thrill of sailing in the world’s greatest harbor. Our newest addition is the Clipper City, a 158-ft. tall ship that can accommodate up to 150 passengers. A more intimate experience can be had on the Shearwater, a historic schooner with capacity up to 48 passengers.
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Promises made, promises not kept”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were very excited to book an evening sail through NewYork Pass, especially it was our 10th Anniversary! Unfortunately, the evening of our sail, the sailboat ride was canceled. We did receive a phone call (no message) about 1-1/2 hours before our sailing, but no message was left. We called back immediately and asked for a return call as a person was "unavailable to take our call". No one called back.
We found out about the cancellation after we arrived. I phoned the manager about not getting a return call. She claims to have called me, apologized and promised to accommodate us the next day--all I would have to do is call.
We were unable to be accommodated on another ride that evening nor the next day (I called the next day and was told there was no room for us, even though Manager R. reassured us if we rearranged our plans we would be able to sail.) Very disappointing.
If you have a New York Pass, there is no recourse for cancellations nor is there any accountability for Manhattan Sail.
They will, however take your credit card, and if you happen to have technical difficulties and cannot make your sail, you will be charged the full price!
We gave Manhattan Sail and Manager R. three chances to make good on their promises, but they chose not to come through for us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank kOps210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    67
    15
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent way to start our New York visit.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We took a 90 minute Daytime Statue Sail on the Clipper City Tall Ship on 15th July, within hours of arriving in NY. It was a great way to start the 3 days we had. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The cruise was interesting and we took many photos. We were comfortably seated at the front of the ship. Spectacular views of the statue of Liberty and the city as well as all the islands and features on and around the harbour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylviatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

On June 20th we took the Harbor Lights tour on the Schooner. We left at 9:30 pm and returned at 11pm. The view of New York city all lit up from the water was breathtaking! The crew were highly trained and very professional. We were taken right up to the Statue Of Liberty and left with awesome photos and a priceless memory. This is a must if you visit New York! We will take this boat/harbor lights tour again when we return. Thank you, Nina, for helping us with our reservation and also a shout out to Ramon who took pictures for us on the boat. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and we're so thankful for this experience. Thank you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank fortlaud30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are New Yorkers who live right on the Hudson shore and see the Shearwater boat of Manhattan by Sail all summer long. We've always wanted to try it. Our original booking got cancelled and Manhattan by Sail failed to let us know. So we were quite disappointed and upset as you can imagine. The day after our cancellation, however, Rachel from the company did apologize profusely and invited us back for another cruise.
Once we were on the Shearwater cruise it was a fantastic ride. The Shearwater is the smaller of the two boats of Manhattan by Sail, and thus more intimate. All the crew members were very friendly and helpful. You will get to see skyline of lower Manhattan, Brooklyn Bridge and of course, the Statue of Liberty. We did the sunset sail and it was just breathtaking. I've done a lot of touristy things after living here for all these years. I have to say this is probably the most romantic thing you could do here, and also feels the least touristy.
One word of advise: In the summer New York weather changes by the hour. If you have pre-booked and for some reason it gets a bit cloudy before your cruise, it may be worth it to call Manhattan By Sail just to double confirm. Especially if the weather gets really stormy.
Overall, we had a fantastic time, and are sending our parents to try the Shearwater right now!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JingLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing cruise on the Shearwater on a beautiful evening”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Enjoyable sunset cruise, beautiful evening, a perfect way to celebrate a birthday. The iffy weather held off, and we had a lovely evening on the river. I'd initially looked into another company that was a bit more expensive per ticket but included a few drinks in its fee, while limiting the quantity served. This company charges extra for "unlimited" bar, so I was worried that it might be a "party" boat, with folks getting loud and drunk. No worries! There were families as well as couples of all ages and nothing wild and crazy occurred!

We chose the Shearwater, the smaller of their 2 boats, and were very glad we did. A smaller, more intimate ride. We did see the Clipper pass by, and it was so much bigger and crowded.

I give this a 4 instead of a 5 because the sail goes into the harbor only and doesn't really travel much beyond the Statue of Liberty. This may be true for most of the NYC sails, though, and not just this company. Overall, the trip is wonderful, and the views of the city and the harbor are beautiful, especially as day turns to night and the buildings sparkle with their lights.

There is nothing to "do" on the boat - no narration, no activity - and seating is simple-- either on the deck itself or on the tops of the storage units -- but it is a beautiful and relaxing way to spend 2 hours. The crew is organized and efficient, and we had a smooth sailing.

A recommendation for those who tend toward motion sickness - take something! The rocking of the ship might've been a problem for me, but i took my usual travel medication (bonine) and was fine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paulesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan By Sail - Clipper City Tall Ship also viewed

 

Been to Manhattan By Sail - Clipper City Tall Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing