We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to contact 4 months ahead of time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dupuy's Landing Guest House
Ranked #34 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just checked about getting a room and received an automated email saying that one needs to contact them 4 months ahead of time to book a room. Wow that is a lot of notice that is required.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Ston3Soup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DupuysLanding, Owner at Dupuy's Landing Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Our automatic e-mail response (reproduced at end) was not as clear as it could be (we will be correcting this), and Ston3Soup understood the opposite of our intent - we do not require four months advance notice, rather we do not accept bookings more than four months in advance.

We do this because Dupuy's Landing is not a hotel - it is our home. We like to have friends and relatives stay with us, and our friends and family don't plan their travels a year in advance, as many people who find us through TripAdvisor or other Internet sites do.

We are a very small scale operation, and because of the great reviews on this site and elsewhere, we get many many more requests for bookings than we can possibly accommodate. Lately it has reached the point where we can't even answer the many requests for dates that are not available or requests more than four months in advance. This is the reason for the automatic e-mail reply, whose original text is reproduced here (we will modify it clarify the advance booking restrictions, which are likely to change in the future):

Subject: Thanks for your inquiry

We appreciate your interest in our guest house; as a small establishment, due to the volume of inquiries, we cannot respond to all requests.

Please check our website [removed per guidelines] and especially the availability calendar:
[removed per guidelines] to determine if your booking request might be available.

We only take booking requests for guest rooms four months before the desired dates, e.g. August for bookings in December. Our guest house (guest rooms) is closed from the week before Christmas to the day after New Year's. Due to NYC law, we cannot offer bookings for our apartments for less than a month.

If we do not have availability for your dates we may not be able to respond.
Even if we do have availability, it may take a few days before we can get to your request.

We appreciate your patience, and if we do have availability, and your dates are within our booking horizon (four months for guest rooms, six months for apartments) we will endeavor to respond in as timely a manner as possible.

We understand that an automated response is not as helpful as one that we write to you personally, but we hope that receiving this e-mail will be less frustrating than not receiving any response at all, which, due to the volume of requests, was more often the case than we'd like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 48 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

I never stayed at Dupuy`s Landing. After many attemps to contact them I couldn`t get a room , but even an answer. I thing this is an obvious lack of respect for people who look forward to their holidays . It seems they have a lot of guests and don´t care about being rude.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank MagdalenaGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DupuysLanding, Owner at Dupuy's Landing Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

We're sorry that we weren't able to respond to MagdalenaGarcia's reservation requests. As our automatic e-mail response indicates, we are not able to respond to all requests; in particular requests for dates that are already booked, or as in her case, requests for dates more than four months in advance. As noted in our response to another review, Dupuy's Landing is not a hotel, but our home, and we do not take bookings more than four months in advance, so that we can have some availability for family and friends.

We are not able to respond to requests where we cannot offer a booking, because of the volume of requests, and because we place the highest priority on communications with guests once they have made a booking with us, forgoing other possibilities. MagdalenaGarcia's first request was more than seven months in advance; her later requests were more than five months in advance - in all cases before our booking window. While it may have been disappointing for her, I have no doubt that she was able to find other accommodation in the city for her desired dates two and half months after her review, itself two and a half months after her last request to us. New York City is a very large city, and there are a lot of places to stay here - we are just (a very small) one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I've been trying for 2 weeks - emails and skype calls to reach them. No luck. Anyone else have these problems? I'm really keen to stay there. great reviews. great website but just can't get a response - can anyone help?

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

we stayed in 1A for about a week and it is a lovely and very comfortable room. this room has its own bathroom, a little fridge, cutlery, crokery and a walk in wardrobe and a spare single bed. it is also in a great spot, there is a subway 1 block away which goes straight to times square (its 2-3 stops) which was handy :)

breakfast is not provided, but that was made clear when initially booking so that wasnt a problem.

room 1A is extremely s[acious and comfortable. we would definitely stay in that room again.

Room Tip: room 1b is very small, we definitely recommend staing in room 1A!!! its a fabulous room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel_bee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed for 8 nights with two of my best friends, and we couldn't have found a better place in NYC for that price. Chelsea is the perfect area to explore NYC from, with the subway just a few blocks away and everything in walking distance if you don't mind a bit of a walk.

The location of the guest house is in a nice, quiet area and we felt really safe.

We stayed in 1A, and were very satisfied with the room. It is big, cozy and comfy beds. It even had room for all the shopping we did.

We didn't see much of Blaise, but that was mostly because we didn't stay in the room during the day. Check in went quick, and it was not an issue that we checked in in the evening. We also got to keep the room until we had to leave 4pm our last day.

This is definitly a place I will recomend my friends, and I would stay there again without consideration.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Civateto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this B&B in October 2009. We had the front room with en-suite bathroom. We had a little breakfast area in the room and a small fridge.
We loved this place. The location is perfect for exploring the city, and Chelsea is a lovely area.
Blaise was very friendly and gave us lots of advice on places to visit, eat etc.
I would recommend this place to one and all. I felt completely at home the whole time I was there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ch00ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed in the back room with a door to the yard. Our room was basic but fine (shared bathroom). Blaise was very nice, extremely available, and full of great advice on food, transportation etc. You get to share wonderful common area that includes kitchen, dining and sitting room. Original architectural features from 1850s are fascinating, plus old maps and other art. Our only problem was regulating the heat in our room, but I'm sure he'll fix it; otherwise just open the door to the hallway if it gets too hot. There are lots of good and inexpensive restaurants within two blocks, and great access to Broadway shows via taxi or bus (or walk under 1.5 miles); .7 miles to Penn Station. I loved reading that this very property was once part of the estate of Clement Clark Moore ("Twas the Night Before Christmas").

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GentlemanScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#12 of 78 in New York City
368 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 78 in New York City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 78 in New York City
65 reviews
Upper Yorkville Suites
#37 of 78 in New York City
56 reviews
Manhattan
Michael
Michael
#25 of 78 in New York City
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dupuy's Landing Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dupuy's Landing Guest House

Address: 433 West 22 Street #2, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $180 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, residential street in the heart of historic Chelsea, Dupuy's Landing provides an elegant place to stay in New York. A guest room with private bath for 2 nights to 2 weeks, furnished apartments for 1 to 6 months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dupuy`s Landing Guest House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing