We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand New, Very clean, great customer service”
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #389 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We booked the MAve on expedia.com after searching for a moderately priced hotel in Manhattan. The hotel is brand new, so the rooms are in perfect condition, they are really clean, and have tv with loads of channels to watch as well as free wireless internet. The location is in Midtown and is close walking distance to the Empire State Building, and only a small cab fare to time's square and macy's etc. The staff are friendly and provide a great service. We would stay here again...

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieandNewfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 956 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2009

I stayed for 9 nights at the MAve, starting on the opening weekend.

Brand new hotel, with two points still to be finished: the elevators and the lobby

Great room: all the furniture brand new, as well as the bathroom

Great service: all the staff is young and very polite

Very central location: near the 28th subway stations, as well as touristic attractions (e.g. Empire State Building)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EEloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We arrived at The MAve, which is on the corner of 27th and Madison Ave., to it’s gleaming floor to ceiling windows for the entire lobby. The white and red decor gives the lobby a nice calm feel. The doorman opened the door and all of the staff welcomed us to The MAve.

When we checked in the staff were extremely helpful and very polite. We were also told that the hotel had not received their window shades, but we were provided complimentary eye shades\.

Breakfast is provided every morning and consists of Artisanal cheeses, rustic breads, and honey. We never made it to breakfast, but when checking out, the spread looked exceptional.

Part of the lobby is still under construction, but we were told a nice cafe or lounge would be built. This is a great idea because there is nowhere to sit in the lobby if you are waiting for a guest.
Only one of the two elevators work at the moment, but since the hotel has a small number of rooms this wasn't a problem.
The elevator had not been updated, but I gathered that they were working on the interior of the non-working elevator, and when they are finished they will start on the other.

The hallways have been updated and everything was clean and sharp.

When we opened the door to our room, it was clean and well decorated. It was very warm in the room, but we turned on the A/C and it was cool in no time. We reserved a Queen room, which was a little tight, but it was still comfortable. The bed was plush and inviting, and the hardwood floors gave the room a nice stylish modern look. There wasn't much on the white walls, but this also made the room feel less cluttered. All the furniture was modern and new. There was a desk, chair, dresser, and two end tables. The room has an IHome, 32" HDTV, iron and ironing board, and a in window air conditioning. In the dresser there is a space for a refrigerator, so maybe they will be installing mini bars in the near future.

The bathroom was clean with a nice size sink, big walk-in shower, and toilet. It was stocked with H2O bath products and had a complementary vanity kit. The towels could be better for this type of hotel. The water pressure wasn't great either, but it didn't take anytime for the water to get hot.

One thing we really liked about this hotel is how quiet it is in the rooms. You can hear people coming and going as well as the elevator chime, but other than that it was extremely quiet and comfortable. The area is very safe and quiet, and I highly recommend a walk or picnic in Madison Square Park.

We only had one issue with the room, and that was that our bathroom window was faulty. While taking a shower it fell out of it's frame and cracked. It was a jolt to the system more than anything, but we told the management immediately and were given a new room within minutes. We were also upgraded and all of the staff were very apologetic for our inconvenience. We were impressed with their expediency.

Besides a few opening quirks, this hotel, is well on it's way to being a world class property. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in a quality hotel in New York City. The hotels rooms, decor, and extremely professional staff would rival that of the best hotels in New York.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

My girlfriend and me stayed at The Mave for three nights their opening weekend to take advantage of the 3 for 2 nights special. There is nothing better than to be the first person ever to sleep on a super comfy hotel mattress. The room and the bathroom were super clean. No early knocks on the door from housekeeping - who wakes up early on a holiday weekend in the city anyways.

From the lobby to the staircase to the room the facility screams trendy. The décor and art combines both South Beach white lines and NYC contemporary sharp edges.
It gets even better with young and area knowledgeable stuff that will go out of their way to recommend and arrange dinner reservations as well as club passes/guest list. During our stay we were able to check out Tenjune, Griffin, and 230 Fifth with no hassles by just mentioning 'The Mave".

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anka627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Buena ubicacion, Buena vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Camilo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
Thank 0123456ui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#288 of 471 in New York City
706 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#372 of 471 in New York City
485 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#382 of 471 in New York City
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#274 of 471 in New York City
643 reviews
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#296 of 471 in New York City
1,092 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#244 of 471 in New York City
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $371 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing