We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It is good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #367 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“It is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The MaVe is a very well located hotel that also looks good. I stayed two nights in a room in the 10th floor. The room was big enough, well decorated and nice. The bathroom though small, is very good, full of amenities and towels.
The bed is comfortable and there is plenty of space to leave things.

There are a couple of things to keep in mind:
- the wifi: they offer wifi for a charge. However from my room I could catch at least three different open wifis on the area with good quality.
- the taxi service: they will tell you at the desk that to hail a taxi is hard and to book with them, they will tell you the regular cab to JFK costs 65 and theirs cost 70. To hail a cab is no issue, in particular because the hotel is at the corner of a taxi stop. To go to JFK on a yellow cab is 52 (not 65), and theirs is 75. The ticket I got for their service could not look more illegal and the taxi driver made me pay before arrival "because there is always police in this terminal".

Apart from this two details, I strongly recommend this hotel, it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    353
    167
    69
    61
See reviews for
104
439
99
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is my 4th visit to New York City and I booked a single room at The MAve hotel again. Yes, this is also my 4th visit to The MAve. With the exception of a few familiar faces, almost all the staff at The MAve are new. I have no problem with wifi - connection is good and I was given a room at level 4. My room was cleaned and towels were replaced daily.

There was road works outside the hotel during one of the nights and some guests were affected by the noise. However, the noise did not affect me as I was very tired after walking in NYC for most of the day.

For breakfast, previously hotel guests had their breakfast in the hotel and we had coffee / tea and a selection of muffin and other pastries. However, for current arrangement, hotel guests are issued breakfast coupons and each coupon is entitled to only one free muffin and coffee over at Essen, a deli opposite Mave.

You can consider reserving a room at MAve if clean room and accessibility to subway are important criterial to you when choosing a hotel for your stay at NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth_HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The room is extremelly small and the internet is not working!! We are having troubles troubles to move inside the room!! The price is too high about 240 to 300 US dollar per day!! Definitely I don't recomend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I visit my NYC office once a month and have stayed at most of the options in the Flatiron-ish area. I just spent my second four-day jaunt at the MAve.

On the plus side, you'll get good value for your money, a great location, hip-ish without trying too hard decor, and despite what other reviewers have said, good sized rooms for NYC.

Most of the negatives are those you will encounter at any NYC hotel. Yes it can be noisy. If you want silence, go to Duluth. I do agree that the MAve boasts some of the rudest staff in the area...well maybe not so much rude as uninterested. But if you're looking to make friends with the bellmen, you should reconsider your priorities anyway.

The MAve is a much better choice than its neighbor, the Carleton, and is a MUCH better choice than the Flatiron.

Room Tip: The rooms on Madison seem to be the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for four nights recently and had no major complaints. The rooms are small, and the hotel can be quite noisy depending on whats happening outside on the streets but this is typical of New York. If you want peace and quiet in a tranquil setting then don't go to NYC! The single most important feature is the location which is terrific. We walked everywhere.
Our room was clean and the beds were comfy. We found the front desk staff to be quite friendly and helpful. My ONLY real complaint was that the windows on our side of the hotel were quite dirty which made it hard to see out but this was minor.

Good value for the location IMO. Oh and as for the balloons covering the floor in the room adjacent the lobby... this is a retail space for lease I believe and doesn't have anything to do with the hotel. Balloons are a cheap/quick way to pretty the floor up until someone rents it.

Room Tip: Higher floors MAY help with the street noise but we were on the 5th floor and still heard our share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

By calling themselves a "boutique hotel" I expected something an establishment where the operation is elite and highly specialised and this hotel did not deliver. The best thing about it was that it was clean and in a good location.

The lobby and the rooms were extremely tiny. Only two elevators and one did not work most of the time. The lobby staff upon arrival was disinterested and un-welcoming. With 4 people in the room, we did not have enough towels and had to ask for more every day for 3 days. The website indicated an ionic hair dryer which we never got, instead an old model that barely worked. WiFi was not free, even though website said it was. Upon check-in, they sent us to an already occupied room! And lastly I come home to discover they charged some $50 fee to my credit card, which I intend to get refunded.

All in all, not a terrible experience, just was hoping for a lot more charm for the special occasion of taking 3 ladies to NYC for the first time for a Sweet Sixteenth birthday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Was a bit worried after some recent reviews. Room was clean and much better than other hotels I have stayed in NY and well priced. Would recommend and would return. Staff are very friendly too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kvanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#293 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#300 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
#269 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Wyndham Garden Manhattan Chelsea West
Wyndham Garden Manhattan Chelsea...
#253 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#168 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Property: The MAve Hotel
Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing