We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about location...”
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #383 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All about location...”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for four nights recently and had no major complaints. The rooms are small, and the hotel can be quite noisy depending on whats happening outside on the streets but this is typical of New York. If you want peace and quiet in a tranquil setting then don't go to NYC! The single most important feature is the location which is terrific. We walked everywhere.
Our room was clean and the beds were comfy. We found the front desk staff to be quite friendly and helpful. My ONLY real complaint was that the windows on our side of the hotel were quite dirty which made it hard to see out but this was minor.

Good value for the location IMO. Oh and as for the balloons covering the floor in the room adjacent the lobby... this is a retail space for lease I believe and doesn't have anything to do with the hotel. Balloons are a cheap/quick way to pretty the floor up until someone rents it.

Room Tip: Higher floors MAY help with the street noise but we were on the 5th floor and still heard our share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    358
    169
    71
    64
See reviews for
106
449
99
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

By calling themselves a "boutique hotel" I expected something an establishment where the operation is elite and highly specialised and this hotel did not deliver. The best thing about it was that it was clean and in a good location.

The lobby and the rooms were extremely tiny. Only two elevators and one did not work most of the time. The lobby staff upon arrival was disinterested and un-welcoming. With 4 people in the room, we did not have enough towels and had to ask for more every day for 3 days. The website indicated an ionic hair dryer which we never got, instead an old model that barely worked. WiFi was not free, even though website said it was. Upon check-in, they sent us to an already occupied room! And lastly I come home to discover they charged some $50 fee to my credit card, which I intend to get refunded.

All in all, not a terrible experience, just was hoping for a lot more charm for the special occasion of taking 3 ladies to NYC for the first time for a Sweet Sixteenth birthday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Was a bit worried after some recent reviews. Room was clean and much better than other hotels I have stayed in NY and well priced. Would recommend and would return. Staff are very friendly too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kvanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCB0607
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel feels European in te sense that the rooms are tiny, it's a little dingy, and the front desk people are rude. We had spotty hot water, which was unpleasant. The reception area had an empty spot next to it that was filled with balloons to cover how crappy the floor looked, which was strange. The room was super noisy and we were in the 7th floor. There's a great place across the street for snacks or breakfast. Overall, the best thing was the location and we otherwise just stayed out and about.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCB0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014. The location is very good next to Madison square. I requested a room on the highest floor possible but got a room on the lowest floor possible. The room is extremely noisy as the airconditioning leds through all street sounds. The room was small but nice and clean. TV didn't work properly as the signal was very weak which led to signal loss and a black screen sometimes. The shower isn't working properly at all. You can't regulate the temperature.

The things is disliked the most was the staff at the reception. Especially 2 ladies. They where not friendly at all! Didn't answer my questions or give an proper advise, didn't great me when entering or leaving, etc.

Overall it was an OK hotel but nothing more. I would not go back if i had the choice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewout B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We grabbed this hotel last minute on Hotel Tonight. When we arrived and pulled back the sheets there were small hairs all over the bed...GROSS!!! The hotels remedy...they came and put fresh sheets right on top of the old ones...leaving the dirty hair sheets underneath. DOUBLE GROSS. Didn't seem to care and was told to talk to management in the morning.

A week later I noticed a $9.95 charge...apparently for internet...which I didn't even use.

A Joke. Very poorly run. Save your money and go somewhere clean.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crossal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Good location...they couldn't fulfill the rooms we'd booked - one with two beds but we got an upgrade on the other from double to kingsize because of it. Rooms were pleasantly decorated, simple and clean.

We had thought breakfast wasn't included but it was. It's called breakfast to go which means there is a trolley in the lobby with coffee and crossaints with two chairs if you want to sit down in the very small space. There is a very nice coffee shop attached to the hotel if you want to sit and have breakfast as normal.

The lobby of the hotel with it's empty space sparsely filled with balloons is a bit of a let down and makes it seem less boutique, expensive and credible. Not bad if you get a deal as we did but I wouldn't want to pay full whack.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandapops73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron Hotel
#334 of 468 in New York City
770 reviews
The Evelyn
#294 of 468 in New York City
2,020 reviews
The James New York - NoMad
#371 of 468 in New York City
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#373 of 468 in New York City
438 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,198 reviews
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri
Hotel Henri
#408 of 468 in New York City
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Property: The MAve Hotel
Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing