We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to rest your head in Manhatten”
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #394 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First time in NYC and this hotel is in the perfect location for accessing the sights. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. Plenty of places to go nearby for food and drink. Only thing is if your room is on the lower ground floors you may find it a bit noisy at night especially as this city never sleeps.

Lucky for me and my party our room was on the 9th floor. Free wii fi in the rooms were very handy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors as lower floors too noisy due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fee_Kakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

So glad to hear you enjoyed the staff and location. From all of us at the MAve, we hope you enjoyed your first trip to NYC and look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 956 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week here. Really nice staff and the room (king) was much bigger than we were expecting given the other reviews.

Well located for all sightseeing etc

Very noisy at night due to street and what seems to be construction works! I wouldn't say I slept particularly well but that's NYC for you and there's not a lot the hotel can do about it. Beds are super comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redfella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. I am so sorry to hear of the construction noise but happy you enjoyed your guest room overall. We hope to see you again in the future.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Small, friendly and comfortable, with slow elevators and no amenities to speak of. Breakfast is sugary pastries and pumped coffee (and ends at 9am! Skip it and go to Eataly or Stumptown instead). Convenient hotel for a solo stay, in a great New York location. The people working there were lovely. I would certainly not call it 'boutique'. If you want atmosphere, consider the ACE hotel a few blocks down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discovering_the_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks for sharing your comments; we are happy to hear you enjoyed the friendly staff and convenient location. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Small hotel on a corner site on Madison & e 27th st, easy to find from the subway on foot. Walking distance to Empire State, Madison Sq, Broadway, Union sq. Lots of bars and eateries in the district, including take aways. Mine was a single room, clean but small, bathroom fine, bed v. comfortable. Helpful staff, good patisserie breakfast, but you eat in lobby. Not outstanding but I liked it a lot. Maybe it was the charm of the quirky little single room and the mid-town location. Buses & subway up the street take you everywhere you want. Get the 19 dollar week transport pass. Marvelous value!. I got a good deal at the Mave and would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi Jenny-

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your trip. Since your stay with us last year, we have created a Guest Lounge on our Penthouse level where we now serve breakfast. It's a wonderful space and we look forward to showing you during your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a wonderful little boutique hotel. We recently spent 7 nights with our 12 year old daughter. We had a room with two double beds. The room was small but to be expected in New York. We were on the 9th Floor so it was very quiet, our air conditioning worked well. I can't say enough about how comfortable the beds are we have all commented on how great the bedding and pillows are. The room was clean and the decor simple but modern. We asked for a fridge in our room which they brought up right away. The front desk staff always friendly and talking to you as you come and go which was very nice. Now I cannot say enough about the location. The Flatiron District is a much quieter area than some of the other places we visited. But it is a close subway ride to pretty much everwhere as you are in mid-Manhattan. It was a two subway stop to Times Square which was great because we were seeing quite a few Broadway shows - took 15 minutes in total. The Empire State Building is a 15 minute walk. There are quite a few places to eat - the Shake Shack which is located in the park has a huge line up on any given sunny day - we discovered there is a webcam on their website so you can see the line up - we found 4:00 pm a good time to go otherwise the lineups were insane. There is a little store across the street called Essen to pick up food. Our favouite was Cafe 28 - we went there for breakfast every morning. They did offer a breakfast at the hotel - it was pastry and coffee, which was nice to get you going in the morning. Breakfast was from 7:00-9:00 am in the morning. Upon check out we were able to store our luggage at the front desk as our next leg of our journey was not until later in the afternoon. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Try and book a higher floor - less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi Brendan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We really appreciate your comments and we are so delighted you and your family enjoyed the hotel and the neighborhood. We hope to see you all again during your next visit to Manhattan.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I read about the hotel in Natl. Geographic Traveler magazine and I was not disappointed. It is a small hotel, with a great location and a friendly and helpful staff. It is a reasonably quiet neighborhood with good transit access and nice food choices nearby. The room was clean and comfortable. Will stay here again when I return to New York.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynntravels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing the MAVe. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again...

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I recently speant 5 days at The Mave with my teenage daughter. We had booked a full, knowing by the reviews to expect a small room. But you don't go to NYC to sleep!!
Even though it was small and the only place to sit was the bed, there was plenty of drawer space to empty our suitcases.
The staff were always very friendly and helpful and if they couldn't answer my question, they went in search of the answer.
The location is great. A 10 mintue walk from Penn Station, 10 mintues to the Empire State Building. A subway stop 2 blocks away. And the best of all, right around the corner from Madison Square Park which houses the Shake Shack and Eatily.
Great places to grab lunch, dinner or a late night snack.
The complimentary breakfast is as described, pastries tea and coffee. All could do with improvement but if you want a hot breakfast you can go across the street to Essen and choose from multiple flavours of coffee, oatmeal, eggs, etc.
Only 2 negatives I could find about the hotel. 1. the shower is a step in with a half glass wall. The water everytime would leak out of the shower until the bathroom floor and there was only one small towel rack on the glass wall right beside the toilet. Okay for 1 person, but not 2.
Also, There was quite a bit of dust down behind the headboard and beside the bed against the wall. However, I asked the front desk to have it cleaned and it was done so when we returned later that day.
This was my 3rd trip to New York and I will be back and will visit The Mave again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunshinesX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing the MAve. We realize you have countless hotel options in NYC and we are glad to have been your hotel of choice. We would love the opportunity to provide a complimentary upgrade to a larger room during your next stay - it sounds like you would have appreciated a little more space. Thanks for your comments regarding the headboard. While it was surprising to hear, we will certainly share with our Housekeeping team. We hope to see you both again...

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#296 of 473 in New York City
706 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#388 of 473 in New York City
807 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#263 of 473 in New York City
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#377 of 473 in New York City
486 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#327 of 473 in New York City
977 reviews
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#293 of 473 in New York City
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $369 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing