We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, super friendly staff, pretty comfortable”
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #394 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor and our experience was great! We really liked the hotel and are ready to stay there again when visiting NY. I'll tell you why we liked it:
The location is very good, close to the Empire State, Madison Square, Union Square, two blocks from the 5th Avenue, lots of good restaurants around and subway stations.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, when we arrived they gave us a list of the restaurants nearby, a good map, and ear plugs just in case we found the city noisy!
Free wi-fi and breakfast included. Breakfast is simple (don't expect a buffet) but if all you need to start is a coffee, a croissant or a muffin, you are going to be happy.
For NY standards the bedroom has an adequate size, very comfy bed and pillows, a small closet, comfortable cabinet, a safe, a small desk and chair, an iron plus an ironing board, and a tv. Loved the fact that the sheets and duvet were white.
The bathroom is modern and comfortable, includes a hair dryer that works properly!
I find the hotel pretty.
For all the above reasons i think is a very good option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaliaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We so much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you made it home safely and look forward to seeing you again!

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 956 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

My other half and I were here very recently and were impressed from the beginning to the end of our stay. The room was a good size and was immaculate. It ticked lots of boxes like the bed was very comfy, there was a good TV with plenty of channels, and the safe was there and was easy to use. Added bonuses included the complimentary breakfast (muffins and pastries) ,hair dryer, dressing gown, iron and ironing board.

The staff were friendly and one minor issue we had with the room was resolved by the time we got back after reporting it.

The location is excellent - midtown on Madison Ave is a great place to stay for sightseeing. It meant we could get back easily after a day exploring and turn around and rest before the evening which was just what we wanted.

One thing I would say is the bathroom was good and perfectly adequate, but perhaps wasn't the best ventilated. It steamed up quickly and there was always a slight lingering smell of damp, but that didn't affect its use or impact our stay. I would just say it was more of a shame for the lovely finishes in there which may perish quicker than they ought.

Room Tip: I understand our room was slightly larger because we stayed longer (6 nights total). This also meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMA502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thanks for the feedback and for recognizing our comfy beds and friendly team! We hope to see you during your next NYC trip!

Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Generally speaking, New York gives terrible value in hotels (quality for the price). The MAve was a very pleasant surprise, a new small boutique hotel a block away from Madison Square. For New York, the price was reasonable, but the icing on the cake was the very friendly and helpful staff. If I have to mention one niggle, the hot water system should be improved (it takes several minutes to come through in the shower), but that's not the end of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thanks for the positive feedback! So nice to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you made it safely home to London...looking forward to your return...

Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a pleasant surprise.Small cute hotel...super clean, friendly and the rooms are nicely appointed. The location was amazing and so convenient. I will definitely stay there again.
Service was also good....they are offerings are limited but everyone was totally helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliemb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We are so appreciative of your review and look forward to your return! Thanks for taking time to share your experience.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

As an experience the MAve was positive overall, even though as an European we are used to enjoy a different kind of breakfast. But we knew about the coffee and pastries beforehand, so nothing to complaint about.
Room and especially the bed a bit small for two persons, but it has necessary nothing to do with the hotel. I think we were advised poorly before our trip and this certain roon was recommended for two, even though it looked like a single room. Unfortunately the hotel was fully-booked and we had no opportunity to change our room to a larger one...
Staff was excellent and always ready to give information and help, which is a difference compared to our earlier NY experience.

Room Tip: Check both room and bed size before making a reservation. The smallest rooms are definitely too smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thanks for your comments and for acknowledging our friendly team; we strive to provide each guest with a customized and personalized experience. We hope you made it home to Finland safely and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Mave hotel is a reasonably priced, well located and provides easy access to a fair number of Manhattan attractions (e.g The Empire State building, Times Square, The Flatiron Building, Central Park, 5th avenue etc). It is less than five minutes away from the 28th Street subway station, which makes it an ideal location from which to explore locations outside Manhattan. If cabs are preferred, they can be flagged down right in front of the main door. Unfortunately, the metro bus service is not as readily accessible. That said, most travelers will have little or no reason to use the metro, given the availability of other options.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Satellite TV, linked up to a docking station for sound provides satisfactory in-room entertainment. Not that visitors to New York will want to stay in their hotel rooms for too long.

While the rooms (en suite shower and restroom) are just big enough to allow for comfort, there are no space issues. The MAve markets itself as a boutique hotel, which it is. It is a high-end budget hotel, in my eyes. There will be cheaper budget hotels in Manhattan, but the Mave manages to offer great value, without being too expensive, relative to other hotels in its class.

There is privacy in the rooms, unless you stay in the hotel room all day, in which case you will have to deal with cleaning staff. When you do need help, you will find caring and friendly people, all too eager to assist. The front desk is a great source of knowledge. Chat to them before venturing out. They will tell you where to go, when to go there and how to get there.

For those who enjoy in-hotel breakfast, you will have to make do with a less than a spread, unfortunately. The hotel does serve breakfast, but this is largely croissants, muffins and coffee. The breakfast room itself is not massive; and can get crowded if the hotel is busy and you go for breakfast at the "wrong time". Again, this is not a problem for most travelers. If it is a problem, there are numerous restaurants in the area that one could choose from.

Laundry services are offered, along with an ironing board, iron and hair dryer in the rooms. Also offered is a "baggage service" that allows guests to leave their bags at the front desk if they check out and decide to do some last-minute shopping before heading for the airport.

The MAve offers great value at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you wish for peace and quite, you might be tempted to opt for rooms facing away from 27th or Madi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zwelihle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback; we absolutely appreciate your comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed the MAve. Please keep us in mind for your next trip to Manhattan.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

New York hotels tend to be overpriced for their value. The Mave is different: If you can use advance reservation options the value for money is very good. The rooms are quite big and the furniture is contemporary. Everything looks very well kept and we both loved the wooden floor - so much better then the awful usual hotel carpets. The bathrooms are small but very modern and perfectly clean. The service is friendly and competent. There is a small continental breakfast included where you can at least grab a coffee and one of the pastries - but you better be an early bird ;) In less then 5min you can reach the subway. Restaurants are within walking distance. In addition they offer a fitness room but thats nothing to mention.

Room Tip: Upper floor room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilike2travel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing the MAve. We know you have endless options for hotel accommodations in NYC and we appreciate your business. Hope to see you back soon!

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#296 of 473 in New York City
706 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#388 of 473 in New York City
807 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#263 of 473 in New York City
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#377 of 473 in New York City
486 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#327 of 473 in New York City
977 reviews
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#293 of 473 in New York City
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $369 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing