We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Manhattan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #380 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location in Manhattan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Mave hotel is a reasonably priced, well located and provides easy access to a fair number of Manhattan attractions (e.g The Empire State building, Times Square, The Flatiron Building, Central Park, 5th avenue etc). It is less than five minutes away from the 28th Street subway station, which makes it an ideal location from which to explore locations outside Manhattan. If cabs are preferred, they can be flagged down right in front of the main door. Unfortunately, the metro bus service is not as readily accessible. That said, most travelers will have little or no reason to use the metro, given the availability of other options.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Satellite TV, linked up to a docking station for sound provides satisfactory in-room entertainment. Not that visitors to New York will want to stay in their hotel rooms for too long.

While the rooms (en suite shower and restroom) are just big enough to allow for comfort, there are no space issues. The MAve markets itself as a boutique hotel, which it is. It is a high-end budget hotel, in my eyes. There will be cheaper budget hotels in Manhattan, but the Mave manages to offer great value, without being too expensive, relative to other hotels in its class.

There is privacy in the rooms, unless you stay in the hotel room all day, in which case you will have to deal with cleaning staff. When you do need help, you will find caring and friendly people, all too eager to assist. The front desk is a great source of knowledge. Chat to them before venturing out. They will tell you where to go, when to go there and how to get there.

For those who enjoy in-hotel breakfast, you will have to make do with a less than a spread, unfortunately. The hotel does serve breakfast, but this is largely croissants, muffins and coffee. The breakfast room itself is not massive; and can get crowded if the hotel is busy and you go for breakfast at the "wrong time". Again, this is not a problem for most travelers. If it is a problem, there are numerous restaurants in the area that one could choose from.

Laundry services are offered, along with an ironing board, iron and hair dryer in the rooms. Also offered is a "baggage service" that allows guests to leave their bags at the front desk if they check out and decide to do some last-minute shopping before heading for the airport.

The MAve offers great value at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you wish for peace and quite, you might be tempted to opt for rooms facing away from 27th or Madi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwelihle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback; we absolutely appreciate your comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed the MAve. Please keep us in mind for your next trip to Manhattan.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    357
    169
    71
    64
See reviews for
106
448
99
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wien
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

New York hotels tend to be overpriced for their value. The Mave is different: If you can use advance reservation options the value for money is very good. The rooms are quite big and the furniture is contemporary. Everything looks very well kept and we both loved the wooden floor - so much better then the awful usual hotel carpets. The bathrooms are small but very modern and perfectly clean. The service is friendly and competent. There is a small continental breakfast included where you can at least grab a coffee and one of the pastries - but you better be an early bird ;) In less then 5min you can reach the subway. Restaurants are within walking distance. In addition they offer a fitness room but thats nothing to mention.

Room Tip: Upper floor room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilike2travel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the MAve. We know you have endless options for hotel accommodations in NYC and we appreciate your business. Hope to see you back soon!

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

It's not the fanciest stay ever, but it's close to transit and the rooms are perfectly solid accommodation. The rooms are a bit on the small side even for NYC, but why would you come here (on business or for fun) and spend all day in your room? The front desk staff are friendly and efficient. Their prices are quite good for the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for taking time to share your experience; we certainly appreciate the feedback and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently made a trip to New York on business and after reading great reviews on The MAve, decided to give it a go. When I arrived, I had quite a bit of luggage with me and the staff was quick to rush and open the door and offer help with my bags. I know this sounds like something you should expect, but believe me, I've been to other hotels in the past year where the staff will watch you struggle. Check in was quick and easy and I was made to feel at home. The rooms are small (cozy) but I needed a place to sleep, shower, and do a little work. The MAve fit the bill and I could not have been happier.
I had read some reviews about noise but to be honest, I wasn't bothered by any noise at all. I slept really well. Dining and shopping are an easy walk and on my next business trip, I will definitely be staying again! Thanks to everyone at the MAve for making it an easy and enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artemas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review! Glad to hear we met all of your expectations. We hope you made it home safely and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We recently returned from a 5 night stay at The MAve. Having read previous reviews we were expecting a small room, however despite the size it was clean with (most importantly) a comfortable bed. Our room faced Madison Avenue and whilst we experienced some noise at night it was never a problem, mainly because we usually returned to the hotel after midnight and were so tired we just fell asleep right away.

The hotel is situated in a great location and is within walking distance of the main attractions, such as the Empire State Building. Penn Station is approx. 10 minutes walk away, which is particularly convenient if arriving by Amtrak from the airport (we flew into Newark). Although we mostly walked everywhere we used the subway (located approx. 5 minutes walk away) on 28th Street to get across to Brooklyn, uptown to Central Park and downtown to Battery Park.

The hotel staff were very friendly, always acknowledging us as we walked by Reception. They also did their best to answer any enquiries we made. On our first evening we went to see a show and after a long day travelling we were extremely grateful to the guy on the door for hailing us a cab to take us to the theatre and saving us the bother!

The only downside would be the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. However you can grab a complimentary coffee and a pastry from the breakfast area in the morning, and with plenty of places to eat and drink close by this wasn’t really an issue.

This hotel is reasonably priced, especially compared to other hotels in the area. We would definitely recommend to friends/family and if we return to New York we will be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLJ1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are delighted we were able to assist in making your stay in NYC a pleasant one. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest regards,

Jason Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

From the moment we arrived it was as if they knew who we were. A warm welcome, assistance w bags and parking , not too mention a complimentary bottle of water was an extra nice touch.

We were in for only one night to celebrate my wife's 40th. We reserved two rooms and had to add a 3rd at last minute. They were able to accommodate and honor the existing rate we had for the others rooms.

To our surprise we found a bottle of champagne and box of chocolates in the room with a nice note from management wishing my wife a happy birthday. I'd forgotten that I mentioned it when making the reservations.

The rooms are on the smaller side, but nicely decorated and include all modern conveniences. The bed was extremely comfortable.

All in all - great room - great location and great service! We'll be back for sure!!!!

Thanks MAve!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kierananderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing The MAve to celebrate your wife's 40th Birthday! We recognize you have endless options for accommodations in Manhattan and we are happy to have been your hotel of choice. We are delighted you had such a pleasant experience. Hopefully we have the opportunity to see you again during your next trip. Thanks again for the great feedback.

Warmest regards,

Jason Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUSA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice service, lovely lobby and lovely free continental breakfast with teeny, hip, clean rooms--the problem is the location--on the same block as a nightclub and close to Gansevoort rooftop bar--so you get rowdy hooting and hollering on the street til 3am. Like staying in Times Square--Too noisy for sleeping. I cannot go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanCYardleyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the candid feedback; I am surprised to hear of the noise level, as the Flatiron District is much quieter and calmer than Times Square. I am so sorry you were unable to enjoy a restful night's sleep and I hope you will reconsider and visit us again in your future travels.

Warmest regards,

Jason Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#295 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#333 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#370 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collect...
#365 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Property: The MAve Hotel
Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing