We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of TGI Friday's

TGI Friday's
Ranked #9,127 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
880 reviews
522 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Had a very disappointing meal here. Much more expensive than other chains in the area , no free bread expensive wine poor cocktails and indifferent service . Give it a miss much better nearby try Red Lobster.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    170
    179
    139
    138
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Cheap to eat, staff great, try the steaks and cocktails...good prices too, enjoy the atmosphere, the portions are very good too

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bazzabooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The food was very average, the restaurant was rather dirty and the service was almost non-existent. Give it a miss.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Lovely waitress but place was dingy. Dark, disorganised and had 4 repair men working on a heating issue right next to where we were eating. Food was average. Many more appealing and better value places in this part of time square.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WJLQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service with a smile NOT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stood waiting for a few minutes to be shown to a table. When we were acknowledged we were told to sit anywhere. We went upstairs to what appeared to be a restaurant which included the staff room as they were all sat down chatting and laughing. How rude that we interrupted their staff social. Waitress threw wipes on the table and passed us the menu with a smile not. Food was standard TGI Friday fare but colder than the norm. We were hungry so ate it anyway. Staff were making so much noise that we thought a party had arrived! Why move tables and chairs around when only 3 couples eating. Had to ask for the bill, when this came delivered by another ute sour faced waitress she proceeded to tell us how much tip we had to give. Tip what for - no service everything was thrown at us, pleasant staff no comment. We had only had the bill a minute or so when the same waitress asked if I was ready to pay. The restaurant was nearly empty, why the rush. Would we go there again absolutely not, did we tip absolutely not. A disgrace!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TGI Friday's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to TGI Friday's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing