We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth the Wait or Money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Company Restaurant

Company Restaurant
Ranked #3,146 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: Jim Lahey opened the doors to Co., his first pizza restaurant, in 2009. Located in Chelsea, Lahey put his own spin on pizza while celebrating artisanal food culture and communal dining. The name is short for Company, a word whose Latin roots refer to the phrase “with bread.”With bread as the centerpiece of the meal, Co. features a variety of toasts, soup, salads, artisanal meats and cheeses, and, of course, pizza.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Wait or Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you're a tourist and here for a short stay, this is off the beaten path and not worth wasting your time on. There are so many excellent restaurants in NYC that you can go to.

Surprisingly, the salads at this restaurant are better than the pizza. I had the escarole salad, which came with a light Caesar style dressing and the beets salad. The escarole salad came in a nice sized portion that is shareable, but the beets were a little on the skimpy side.

As far as the pizza goes, I've eaten pizza in many places and throughout Italy too. Yes, a little char is nice, but the char on these pizzas was too much. It overpowered the delicate flavors of the toppings (also skimpy) and I found myself fighting through the char to taste anything else.

We had the flambé, leeks and sausage and the regular sausage pie. I would rate the flambé as the best of the three. The leeks on the leek and sausage are just too bland to stand up to the char. The sauce on the sausage pie was ordinary. Two people can share a pie, however you'll need two pies to fill up. At $18 - $20 per pie, this can get pricey, together with salads and drinks. Yes, I know. This is "artisanal" pizza, but to charge so much money for more burnt bread, than anything else is a crime.

The lemonade, was called cucumber/mint, however it tasted more like a lemonade mix.

The place was packed. We waited 40 minutes for a table. The owner obviously knows what he's doing and minting money. Thank god for trust funds!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ballab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    48
    22
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
327 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“great place for new creations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place offers great pizzas (called pie). We were there for a sunday brunch and tried the brunch specials and we have been really surprised. Prices are ok for New York. Great atmosphere, nice waiters.
It's easy to find and "close" to Chelsea market as well as the highline park.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoy the pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I wanted to eat here for the spinach pizza but found it to be just okay....but they had a seasonal special pizza with Brussel Sprouts which was out of this world. Everything was good, don't get me wrong but I guess my expectations for the spinach pizza had been too high. Nice place, good atmosphere, good selection of beer and wine, overall a really nice first evening in Manhattan!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaneGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great upscale pizza near the Highline”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

we were looking for an upscale but casual dining experience after a day at the boat show and a walk on the

Co. is extremely convenient to the Highline on 23rd street and serves ecclectic appetizers and pizzas as well as a good selection of local craft draft beers and a good wine list.

For the kids, there were traditional Marghertita and Rosa pizzas as well./

Overall, very good for under $100 for 2 adults and 2 kids.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJohnson97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Superb service and pizza - excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Quality leaps at you from the moment you walk through that heavy wooden door at this slightly-off-the-beaten-track pizzeria.

No booking for our party of five, we just turned up on a Saturday and waited around 20 minutes for a table, meanwhile sampling the beer.

Shared an appetiser of olives and pizza bianca (pizza with just rosemary and salt, yummy) and then followed by mains of pizza. My boscaiola was tasty, generous on the toppings and superb. Lovely, all washed down with a jug of finest Kelso beer.

Service was outstanding from start to finish and whilst the bill is a little on the high, quality overcame any concerns.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Company Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Company Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing