We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely steak!”

Frankie & Johnnie's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Frankie & Johnnie's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,323 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely steak!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Went here a while ago and had probably the best steak I've ever had in a restaurant.
Beautifully cooked. Great sides as well - creamed spinach was very tasty. Am planning on going back the next time I'm in New York for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatalot t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    148
    73
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good not great steakhouse”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went to Frankie and Johnnie's on 45th St several weeks ago and was pleased with everything overall. I had the ribeye which was large and cooked well. Although it was good it was not the best steak I have had. My wife had the double loin lamb chop and that was excellent. The customer service was excellent. The dining room is somewhat small-it might be called cozy by some but you can clearly overhear conversation in other tables-something for those who desire a little more privacy to consider.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IM140_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab food”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Love the food here! We went more than once and would go again when we visit New York next year! Would recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brensmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
351 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great steak, great location, not cheap”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were looking for a good NY steak prior to going to a Broadway show and F & J's was recommended. It turned out to be a good recommendation with excellent steaks with good service in a very family orientated venue. My kids went for the Tomahawk and were not dissapointed. As you'd expect in the heart of NY this is not a cheap steak restuarant but the quality was there so worth paying a bit extra.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbuae999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Frankie and Johnnie's”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful restaurant with a great staff. Mario was perfect in his service and the food was marvelous!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DWalton714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Johnnie's Steakhouse also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Frankie & Johnnie's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing