We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant, can't recommend highly enough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #134 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant, can't recommend highly enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

I found Staybridge Suites on Tripadvisor and the reviews were so good I made a booking- very glad I did. Wanted to stay near Times Square, in a place with all the conveniences of an apartment and the service of a hotel, and this is exactly what I got.

I was staying in a King Studio Suite; I expected it to be very nice, but, being New York, I also expected it to be small- so was amazed when I walked in and found a lovely large room, with the kitchenette having loads of space around it.

The room was in the back of the building, so looking onto a quiet street- extremely quiet, barely heard a sound. Not sure what it'd be like if you looked out on the bus station street, but, that street never seemed too loud to me, just the traffic.

Suite very modern and seemed very new; very comfortable - actually felt at home there, and normally I hate hotels so was a very pleasant change. Very large TV with good choice of channels, microwave, hob, huge fridge/freezer, dishwasher. Great shower.
Downstairs there's a very comfortable seating area for when you're waiting for flights etc.

If you're looking for a quality place to stay, and you prefer apartments to hotels, definitely go for this one. You'd pay a lot more money for most 4 star hotels and wouldn't get the kitchen or the size of room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,960
    1,902
    426
    74
    34
See reviews for
1,655
2,016
217
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Arrived Christmas Day lunchtime hoping to leave bags for a later check in but were greeted like long lost friends by the concierge and reception desks and checked into an upgraded room within minutes. The room was more than adequately sized, superbly appointed, spotlessly clean and with the most comfortable bed ever experienced in a hotel anywhere.
A record breaking snowfall the following night failed to dampen the spirit of many staff who must have really struggled getting to work - despite almost 15 inches of snow a (excusably curtailed) breakfast service and house keeping were still provided. The rest of the week through to New Years Day seemed to be a sell out, yet breakfast and the excellent midweek 'Sundowner Receptions' were provided with prompt and courteous service though the elevators could try the patience in peak periods.
W40th Street is a safe urban street with an entry into the massive combined bus and subway station (with a variety of stores and fast food eateries) almost opposite the hotel door.
Times Square and midtown Manhattan is within a ten minute walk with Central Park (Uptown) and the Downtown sightseeing areas both within 10 minutes by subway - making the Suites an ideal base for the cost conscious traveller wanting that 'little bit extra' in this enviable location.
The Staybridge has modern, well appointed rooms; free WiFi and printing; a free laundry; a free well appointed fitness suite; free help yourself buffet breakfasts and sundowner receptions; superbly friendly, knowledgeable, welcoming and approachable staff; brilliant transport connections and a wonderful midtown position.
What does it lack? . . . . . . well with all this, who cares?
Just appreciate 'what a lot its got!'

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greensman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

wow, i don't know where to start. our stay was two days before the ball dropped. our other reservations to stay in an apartment was a total skam, so we were in nyc with no reservations. we ended up at staybridge suites, the price was very reasonable and they all really seemed sincerely upset that we had been skammed. they went out of their way to show us that n.y was a great place. a guy by the name of marcin was so wonderful to us. he felt so bad that we had lost so much money, he made us up a basket of goodies and water and brought it to our room. he also brought me a wheel chair and gave us permission to use it as long as we needed it for our stay. he helped us with our luggage, arriving and leaving. marcin was so nice, and made us feel like we were at home. he also helped us with our questions about where to go and how to get there. because of how we were treated, after being devastated and in tears about loosing $700.00, we will always stay at the Staybridge Suites. i have never been treated like family at a hotel, until now. also, the rooms were spotless, quiet, great location and great people. why would we stay any other place. the next time we plan a trip to NYC, our home will be the staybridge suites. sure hope marcin is still there. he was awesome and even remembered all our names. great place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights and overall our experience was satisfactory but not amazing.

The room was fairly small - just about enough space to walk around the king-size bed, with a desk and a couple of chairs. Tiny bathroom with extra-small shower cubicle and no bath but functional enough. Free, fast wi-fi throughout the hotel is a real bonus and there is a good range of TV channels and an ipod docking station in each room.

Everything was clean when we arrived but the housekeeping service was irregular - several times arriving at 5pm or so. We had to ask for our bedsheets to be changed after 3 days and the room was not vacuumed the whole time we were there.

We could hear conversations, TV and music from the adjoining room and people waiting for the lift in the corridor outside.

The lifts are pitifully inadequate for the size of the hotel - at breakfast time it can take 20 or 30 minutes to wait for a lift. There are also no service lifts so staff frequently enter the lifts with large trolleys, further reducing the capacity for guests.

The complimentary breakfast was very good on the whole - a decent choice of hot and cold items, juice, coffee etc. It does tend to get crowded though and sometimes we'd find ourselves queueing for food or unable to find a table to sit at.

The breakfast and the mid-week evening buffet are what makes this hotel value for money. The evening refreshments were very welcome - beer, wine, soft drinks and a range of snacks were available from 5.30 to 7.30 pm Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.

Location wise, I think next time I'd probably not choose the Times Square area but this hotel is very convenient for the Port Authority Bus Station and for subways. 40th St isn't the most salubrious road but we never felt unsafe and loved being able to walk onto 9th Avenue and have a fantastic choice of restaurants practically on our doorstep.

The reception staff were helpful and efficient and did their best to accommodate our requirements. In general, staff you'd meet in the lifts or in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. It did feel fairly impersonal though.

Don't choose this hotel if you are looking for luxury but it's good value, clean and well-located.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

I would like to commend the hotel staff for this wonderful experience they gave me, and my family. I have four children ages nine to fifteen, my wife, and mother in-law. They made us feel comfortable, and assisted us with our needs. On arrival at Staybridge, after a long day of air-flight travel and taxies, we were greeted by a pleasant and courteous hotel staff.
The Doormen, who I cannot say enough good things about, are Jamie, Sunny, Marcin, and Andy. They were professional, courteous, helpful, and entertaining to the guests. The Consierge(s) (Ms. Devine and Katy) were very helpful and set us up with directions, suggestions, reservations, and tickets.
The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and had all the necessary amenities. The full refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, and stovetop made the stay that much better. They had a hard working staff who kept up the breakfast buffet to perfection to serve hundreds of people. They also had a wonderful evening happy hour during the middle of the week with a cozy atmosphere.
The location was great, with plenty to eat and drink right in the same block. Being right in the garment district was another plus.
It was a fantastic trip to NYC and our hotel stay was a great plus to our vacation. We will definitely stay here again whenever we go back to NYC. We feel like they are family!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gg134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwerkerken, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

Rooms where spacious, soundproof and clean, with a small kitchen which we didn't use.
The breakfast is complimentary, good quality and simple but everything to fill myself with energy for the they is there.
The complimentary drinks and food on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thurday were very good to socialize with other hotelmates. Wine (red and white) and beer (Budlight and Stella) and softdrinks could be drunk as much as you like.

Public transport is very close.
Free WLAN.
In the basement there are 3 wahing machine and tumble dryer which can be used for free.

The 24h market at the reception is also handy and not expensive in case you would like some drinks, snack or ice cream.

Only downside is the elevator for which you sometimes had to wait several minutes.
And there was only a shower for those who like to take a bath

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

The hotel is new, with an excellent location, and rooms are OK even though a bit small (set with 2 double beds, but honestly you cannot go around each bed...). The kitchen is OK but the room so tiny I don't figure out myself cooking dinner in this place - really strange for an extended stay hotel.
What really went wrong is : the breakfast room is so small compared to hotel capacity, it is nearly impossible to actually have your breakfast; you have hundreds of people fighting to get a tiny roll & butter, and honestly I do not feel like fighting for food at breakfast during my family breaks - it is a shame they include this in the price. They are not dimensioned to serve that many breakfasts. We ended up having breakfast outside in a quieter place.
Also the lifts were an issue - I imagine this is a typical NYC issue, but still, waiting 30mins (!) for your lift around 9am or 10am is really something you do no expect. Get prepared to run the 32 floors down by foot if you have a timing.
The service team were doing their best, but honestly what can you do when there is such a conception issue with your hotel ? Maybe it was high season and really packed with people, but isn't a hotel meant to be full at most times of the year ?
Therefore I would not specifically recommend this hotel. There are many other places where you would get the same space at the same price, but without the mayhem.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing