We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel - Still Ironing out the Bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #138 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Hotel - Still Ironing out the Bugs”
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We booked this new hotel in Times Square using priority club points, more for the cost as we were only in New York for 3 days. The hotel is almost brand new however some things need some work. We arrived at JFK after a late flight from LAX only to find the private transfer we had booked through the hotel's concierge was no where to be found, upon calling the hotel the reception staff said "can you just get a cab, all our concierge staff have gone home for the night" really concierge gone home by 10pm in New York City. Upon arrival we were greeted by "funnily enough" the concierge who really wanted to carry our bags to the room which we politely declined, he even tried to show us some magic card tricks to impress, sorry bud it didn't cut it. We were then allocated a room in between the bank of 3 elevators and I suppose if it weren't for the noise outside it probably would've been more bothersome. The room was made up daily however certain items were not replaced at all during our stay such as toilet paper, shampoo and conditioner. In terms of booking your tours I would suggest you do it yourself and research before you go as the "concierge we not overly helpful, in fact at one point I think I interrupted their conversion trying to get directions and they let me know it too. Upon checking out I asked to speak to the manager and was told that she was"in a meeting", I mentioned the transfer issue from our arrival and the best they could do was to tell me it was an external company they use for their concierge services and that I would need to contact them directly. I was also given the manager's email address and will be sending her an email as well as to the Priority Club team as well as I don't believe this hotel is up to standard although it may improve with time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjrb_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,079
    1,979
    454
    76
    44
See reviews for
1,762
2,073
228
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I have been travelling to NY for 25 years. On this trip it was all very last minute and I could not get in at my regular hotel so booked in here. I arrived very late and the professionalism and friendliness of ALL the staff was very welcoming. When I got to my room I was blown away by how clean it was, it was genuinely pristine. My only critism is that I was only staying one night I could have happily stayed for a week. In the room was a full-size fridge, microwave, hob, cutlery, cups and saucers - all spotless.
I found this hotel purely by chance and now I would struggle to stay anywhere else.
Oh, and FREE wireless internet access.
Well done Staybridge Suites.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2010

What a great hotel. Breakfast was a wonderful way to start the day. Rooms were a little smaller than what we are used to but it is Times Square so it's expected. The kitchen was a bonus for making a quick snack etc. And I must say the rooms were very comfortable. Bathroom only had a shower no tub. But hey, who has time to take a bath when you're in NY - too many other things to do. The concierge Sunny and Jamie were the nicest, funniest people you've ever met. The hotel was in the perfect location for taking the hop on hop off bus and exploring NY. And the price was the real bonus - no one else could compete for the location, and amenties offered. Would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postal_chik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We really enjoyed staying on Staybridge Suites, Times Square. The location is perfect - only 10 minutes walk from Times Square and 3 minutes to the nearest subway entrance.
Rooms are very nice and comfortable with modern furniture, and a very nice bathroom. The small kitchenette was in perfect order and contained all we needed.
On two occations during our 5 days stay they served free drinks and snacks in the late afternoon. Very nice!
The staff is very kind and helpful, and service is quick - it took only a few minutes from telling about a running toilet until the plummer was on his way!
The only downside to this hotel was the breakfast facilities - too many people, too little places to sit.
And the internet connection was painfully slow!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gredsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

My daughter and I spent 4 nights at the Staybridge, TS. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. The kitchen was nice to have when needed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is a real plus. Is basic eggs, bagels, etc, but good and a great way to start the day without the hassle of going out. Some reviews complained about lack of seating. We never experienced that. The location is very good. Being across from the PA Teminal is no problem and there are three other hotels on the block so always lots of vehicle and foot traffic. The hot water was hot - immediately - great for when you come in cold and housekeeping was very helpful. Yes!!! We would stay there again.

Stayed December 2010
Helpful?
Thank Malex528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Awesome trip! This hotel had big rooms with a kitchen (perfect for leftovers even if you dont cook). The bed was big and comfortable and they had a great TV with over 100 channels. They also had free breakfast (nothing special but if you know how expensive it is to eat in New York it definitely saves money). Also there was a nice surprise of free beer, wine, and appetizers Tue, Wed, and Thurs for 2 hours (perfect for saving money on $8 Manhattan beers) and nice to snack on before a Broadway show if you like to eat late like us! This hotel is in a perfect location ( a stone's throw from a subway stop and an easy walk to Time's Square, but with very little if any cab horns at night due to it being on a less busy street -- and if you've never been to New York, no horn noise is important). If we go back to New York, we will stay here again! This hotel is only a couple steps off 9th ave = best dining in the city (was told that by locals and have to agree)! Cheaper than in high tourist areas such as Times Square but only a block away from it and all the theaters with every type of food imaginable. Just hop on 9th ave and start with Capizzi's pizza(new place with all imported ingredients from Italy cooked in a wood burning stove) which is a stone's throw from the hotel and walk north... 100s of restaurants to choose from! (Five Napkin Burger was great too!)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yeahmonSEMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Loved our time at Staybridge in November. Easy walking distance to the subway, Times Square, MSG, etc - could get to everywhere we wanted very easily!

Rooms were very clean, quiet and comfortable.

All the freebies were an added bonus - free wifi, free breakfast, free drinks and canapes Tues-Thurs eve! Couldn't go wrong!

Only slight point to note is that sometimes lifts can be a little slow (our room was on 27th floor) but wasn't in any great hurry on holiday so wasn't too bothered!

Hopefully will be back to New York soon, and would definitely look to stay here agian.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123socrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4,058 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 467 in New York City
5,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#231 of 467 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 467 in New York City
7,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing