We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Wonderful Hotel & Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #148 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I was very happy with this hotel. I've heard that most hotel rooms in NYC are very small but since this is an extended stay hotel, the room was a great size and had a full kitchen. Its newer so everything was very modern and the bed was SO comfortable! There's a great hotel next door with an awesome rooftop bar and no cover to go up. And its only a few blocks from Times Square so you are right in he middle of everything! There's also a subway station right down the street so you can get anywhere in the city very easily from this location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delhommefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,085 - 4,091 of 5,772 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2010

Just got back from a 2-day trip to NY, and the Staybridge Hotel exceeded my expectations, by far.

I was looking for an affordable option as I was going to use the hotel only to spend the night and found at the Staybridge a great cost x benefit relation. Despite all that, it was also the closest one to Port Authority (I was bus travelling).

My room was spacious, with a full fridge, microwave and oven. A really comfy bed with 4 pillows. Decided not to pay for the view and it wasn't included :) Bathroom is small, but the arched rod for the curtain helps. And, even by being located between two elevators, the room was really silent.

Breakfast was good, american-style, not special, but it's lounge-style room was always crowded. The hotel offers a cocktail in the afternoon, too, with some snacks, draft beer, white and red wines and sodas. It all for free, which is great!

The whole staff were gentle and ready to help, giving right information on the surroundings, subway, and even providing me toothpaste at my room in less than 5 minutes.

The downside are the elevators. As I read below, their 3 units are really not enough to accomodate its 30+ storey building and one time I had to wait for 5 minutes for it to show up.

And last, but not least, my room - 1110 - was free of bed bugs!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertoFaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I have visited NYC countless times and have stayed at numerous hotel brands that just did not deliver. I was pleasantly surprised by my experience here. The rooms while small were well appointed. The beds were comfortable and I love the little kitchenette they managed to cram into the little space. It has a full fridge and stoves which is nifty if you are staying in NYC for a while.

The staff were wonderful. Everyone was happy, polite and helpful. Not common in a business traveler's hotel. The breakfast was generous and offered good variety. All in all a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freejacq03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

This hotel is a very good choice if you want to stay in NYC close to all Manhatten attractions. From here it is 5 minutes walk to Times Square. The Port Authority Bus Terminal with access to all transportation including subway is right across the street. The neighborhood is not nice but safe. Breakfast is included and an evening dinner reception with free finger food and drinks including beer and wine (Tue-Thu).
I booked this hotel on Priority Club points (because Staybridge are part of the Holiday Inn/Intercontinenten chain) and it was a real bargain. The official rate seems to be in the normal price segment for New York.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfrka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed at staybridge suites times square for 7 nights
the hotel was spotless staff very helpful
breakfast was good hot cooked if you wanted or toast, mufins or bagels with spreads freah fruit constantly topped up, they even offered you a take away bag for later. Sundowner with free wine beer and snacks 3 nights in the week we were there. very central easy to get to and from.
The refurbished bryant park 2 blocks away was so nice to sit and relax in with bars and fine dining.
I would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Highly Recommended.. Everything was clean!! I was allows early check in (10:30am)!! Since I was coming from a 6 hour plane ride and I wanted to shower! While I checked in, I was brought a cup of coffee (nice touch). Parking was about 100ft from the door. Room even though it was a bit small, it was excellent!! Flat screen TV, MW, Fridge, Stove... Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisM321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Staybridge Suites two weeks ago for three nights .We arrived with high expectations after reading the many positive reviews on this site.
On arrival a friendly young lady checked us in fast and efficiently and allocated a Studio Suite to us (#2905) . The view was fantastic towards Times Square and the room was modern ,extremely clean and just perfect in every way with a fully stocked kitchen area and modern appliances. Free ,fast wireless internet was also very welcome.
We were very impressed with the breakfast offered and staff were very efficient in cleaning tables quickly - a must as the breakfast area can be very busy at times!
The Concierge and doormen were extremely friendly and knowledgable -i wish i could remember their names !
Having stayed at many hotels in NYC I would say that this is one of my absolute favourites , and the absolute best in the category that it is in.
The only negative comment i can make is that at times the lifts were very congested and it took a while to get up to and from the 29th floor.
Congratulations to management and all staff for making this a fantastic stay for us in New York....keep up the good work!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Richod72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#301 of 469 in New York City
4,201 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,466 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#238 of 469 in New York City
1,885 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 469 in New York City
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $154 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing