We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great location for tourists, and outstanding service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #156 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is a very nicely located hotel about one block and a half from Times Squares. My 14 yrs old son and I felt very safe and at home at this hotel. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed by Sunny who does an outstanding job at helping us with our luggages and anything else we needed..The other employees and the concierges go out of their way to assist you and make you have a great stay. I found the employees at this hotel genuine (not fake) and absolutely outstanding. The room has brand new furniture and the bed is so comfortable!!! It was a Wow! factor. We also like the fact that the metro is a block away. We will go back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,144 - 4,150 of 5,838 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2010

My 20 year old daughter and I stayed here for a week. As other reviews state, the surroundings are not the best, but we the rest of the plus points made up for it. With regards to getting around, we found the hotel well situated as the subway at the end of the street took us wherever we wanted to go. The room was absolutely perfect for us, and the kitchenette was particularly useful as we didn't want to eat out every day. Breakfast was great and we didn't find the crowds a problem. We did have some very noisy neighbours, but only for a couple of nights. All of the staff were exceptionally helpful and pleasant. Due to some fairly poor weather, we extended our stay at a very reasonable price. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My sister and I decided to do a four weeks course in New York last month. . I was afraid to stay so long in a hotel, I was afraid of bedbugs and mold, but all that is new and clean: mattress, pillows, bedding, furniture, kitchen utensils. The kitchen was well equipped with large fridge! Gives perfectly for cooking.
Breakfast is fantastic, also happy hour on Wednesdays and Tuesdays evenings.
It was a pleasure to stay at the Staybridge Suites Times Square. We felt like at home.
At first we thought about renting a flat, but we got a great rate, as our stay was extended, The staff is very polite and friendly and the location is perfect: at the corner of the Port Authority, so you can take the subway and buses to anywhere you want to go. Times Square, Bryant Park, Empire State Buidilng, all you want you can go walking.
I promised myself to do this review because I've decided to stay there reading the Tripadvisors researchs.
Thanks for helping me make the right choice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Me and two friends spent 10 AWESOME days at the Staybridge. From the door guys to the housekeeping, everything was perfect. Ipod dock, mini kitchen with microwave (much better than my own kitchen!), greaaaat beds, delicious shower! We were truly enchanted by this hotel. About the location, it's not the Upper East Side, but hey! You're in the middle of EVERYTHING! The subway was our best friend, everyday :) I'll really tell everyone i can about the Staybridge, because it's really worthy. And hope that I can be there again, as soon as I can! (And oh! Free wi-fi!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marciafurriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

The room was excellent, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped for your needs. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was lovely and had a lot of choice, also on Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday there is a welcoming night which has food and drink, which was great. The location is excellent, near to Times Square and there is a subway entrance at the end of the road. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estepa536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I stayed here for three weeks on business. The premises was very clean and new. The bed was extremely comfortable, just like I like it, firm but soft at the same time. The kitchen had everything you need to make dinner and store food supplies. The free breakfast was good, although a little crowded at times and the workout facility was good also. There is lots of places to eat and drink in the neighborhood. Try the pizza place about a half block from the hotel, dollar pizza and it is very good. The high speed internet was also a big plus and it worked better than I have had it in many other smaller hotels around the country. I had a minor problem with the room air conditioner but a call for service fixed it immediately. Also I needed to change a reservation and doing so on line caused the rate to increase substantially but after calling the local sales manager (Patricia) it was fixed with no problems. It is rare to stay at any hotel in a large city and receive "true customer service" like they want you back and care about your trip. But at this hotel in NYC it still exists. I have not received this kind of customer service in very many places but this property ranks at the top, thanks to Patricia and her dedication to customer service. I will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoninResources
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

It's good because of the breakfast, kitchen, and manager's reception...it's also great if you're a business traveler with various places to go in NY., since it's close to the Port Authority & Penn Station, but it you're the only visiting & expecting a little bit extra, go with someone else. Please note that although it's relatively safe, I did see a man getting his wallet stolen & a chase that ensued right near the Port Authority area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desetoiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#315 of 471 in New York City
4,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#63 of 471 in New York City
5,591 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#235 of 471 in New York City
1,901 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#158 of 471 in New York City
5,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $128 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing