We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cannot say enough GOOD about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #155 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed 2 nights--4 adults room (incl 2 teens). STAFF--outstanding!! Friendly, helpful, smiling, respond to all requests. ROOM-tight but highly efficiently organized. When we first walked in wondered how we would fit all our "stuff"--no problem. Trendy--very contemporary. Were on 22nd flr with decent views. COMP BREAKFAST & RECEPTION--complete and generous; food was good. You can likely skip dinner out-- the hors d'oeuvres are generous. LOCATION--1/2 block from subway, 1 1/2 from Times Square; quiet location, safe & plenty of restaurants nearby. Cannot wait to get back to NYC & stay at this hotel.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank HWAYMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,173 - 4,179 of 5,837 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

I had the recent pleasure of staying at Staybridge Suites Times Square. The hotel is clean and fresh. But what made this stay superior to other hotels is the Staff. From the desk personnel to the bellmen/doormen to the concierge and even the maintenance personnel. In particular there were four that stood out above the rest. The night bellman Omar was the best. The day bellman Sunny was just as his name implies. The day bellman Joseph is nice and efficient. And the concierge Kim got me to every destination the most efficient way and added her suggestions to the trip that enhanced it tenfold. The rooms are very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lherwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I booked this hotel as part of a package and was not really sure what I would be getting. At first, I was disappointed with the location: it was a little outside of the hub of Times Square. However, we all really liked the spot as the weekend unfolded. It is quiet, but everything is easily accessible. It is a little bit gritty, but we (2 women with their teenage daughters) always felt safe and comfortable. THE BEST pizza on the corner for $1.00 and a liquor store a few doors up. What more could you need? Room was very comfortable and we all slept well. Wait time for the elevator is minimal. Breakfast was crowded but good - a happy hour with appetizers and wine available during the week. Probably the best aspect of this hotel is the staff. Everyone is very gracious and friendly. (Thanks for your help Jaime:) Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller4791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We are travelling throughout the Summer and have to say that this hotel is amazing. The staff here are extremely helpful, caring and genuine. The location is just a short stroll from the main bus station in Times Square. Free wifi is awesome, breakfast varies daily, rooms very comfortable with large flatscreen tv's, fabulous air conditioning. We will return for sure. If you see Joy at reception please say hi from me.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanduay999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed here on August 1st and 2nd. Nice clean rooms, bit small but it is city. Parking will cost $24 per 24hours. seems reasonable for "CITY". you may want to call ahead to get your car out when leaving. Car garage get very busy. Good breakfast. we had a lunch at S'mac's. they have only mac&cheese. but this was worthed. Only in NYC you have rest. for only mac&chesse.
all in all we liked our stay at staybridge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYSHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The price is right. There is a continental breakfast daily which while basic, is nice. What you need to know if you are going to book this location is that the rooms are small, but done well. The bathrooms are small and simple. There are 3 elevators servicing the entire hotel so there are waits of 30seconds to 3 minutes for your elevator every time.
Overall, a nice stay and reasonably priced.
If you are looking for a little larger room and bathroom and less of a cattle call for morning breakfast and don't like a wait for your elevator, not the place for you. Otherwise, good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I was looking for a not so expensive hotel within walking distance to Times Square to spend a weekend with my wife, since I had bought tickets to a show at B.B. King´s Blues Club & Grill and the Phantom of the Opera. Among the many hotels available, I found the Staybridge Times Square on Google Earth. I had seen some reviews online, talking about the shady businesses on the same street, but decided to give it a try, after looking at some photos of the hotel´s ammenities.
I have to admit that it is located on a street where you´ll see some shops you´d never go into, but that´s just half a block from 8th Ave. As soon as you get to 8th Ave., you´ll see a Dean & Deluca, and right next to it, one of the Muji stores. And let me make it clear that we never felt that this area wasn´t safe. Even around midnight, when we were coming back from a show, there were a lot of people on the streets and everything felt fine.
So, if you don´t mind the short walk to decent civilization, you´ll absolutely love the hotel. The staff was extremely courteous from the start, and although this was probably due to our reservation, they made it possible for us to check before at noon.
The room was one of the best ones I had ever slept in. The bed was very confortable (we felt like we weren´t going to have the strength to leave the bed and go to the show), and it was the first time we ever stayed in a room with a full refrigerator and a dishwasher, besides the microwave oven, electric stove, coffee maker, etc.
There were only two cons in our stay. The first was that in the room where we were located (end of the hall), you could hear a bit too much of closing doors (although that never prevented us from sleeping). The other was that our room was on the last floor, so water flow to the shower and sinks were inconsistent. But that´s easy to fix. Just ask for a lower room.
We will certainly stay there again, given another opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPeirano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#313 of 471 in New York City
4,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 471 in New York City
5,580 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#237 of 471 in New York City
1,900 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#159 of 471 in New York City
5,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $128 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Agoda, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing