We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great last minute choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #131 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great last minute choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

My husband and I decided last minute that our visit to NYC was going to be overnight. Wasn't sure how this hotel was going to be.
Very pleasantly surprised. For what we needed (palace to sleep and shower) it was wonderful!
It was clean, and had most everything we needed.
We stayed for one night , august 27-august 28.
Hotel had an agreement with a nearby parking garage, paid $35.00 for overnight parking.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connersuez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,003
    1,917
    432
    74
    35
See reviews for
1,684
2,035
220
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Cannot praise this hotel enough!
Me, my husband and our 15yr old daughter stayed here in August for 5 nights. We checked in around 11pm (absolutely shattered from travelling all day from the UK) and it was so quick and efficient. We were located on the second floor (thoroughly recommend this as we used the stairs constantly) and our suite was a lovely size, clean and welcoming.
This is the first time we've stayed in a hotel, let alone in New York and it was FANTASTIC. We made full use of our kitchen in the evening and the free breakfast was amazing! Huge choice, always found somewhere to sit, friendly atmosphere, and polite and helpful staff.
The concierge helped us sort out transport to JFK the day before we left. I didnt catch her name, but she was lovely!
Regrettably we cant return to New York next year but the Staybridge will definitely be our place to stay in 2016.
Many thanks to all the staff!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Staybridge Suits NYC during August 2014. The room was clean and had a small, but nice ensuite and a full sized fridge. The mattress was comfortable and the A/C was excellent. The staff were helpful and polite. Tuesday to Thursday they have a happy hour with free wine and beer, soft drinks and nibbles.

There is a buffet breakfast included with the room which was nice, however there is one caveat being get in there early. If you get in there during the rush you'll experience little old ladies with their blue rinse hair trying to claw their way to the front of the line, pushing and shoving and disregarding all manner of social etiquette! Seating during breakfast is a premium too, we were happy to share with others, but some people took their food back to their rooms. The coffee was good and they had fresh fruit which was nice.

The hotel is 31 floors tall so sometimes the lifts took some time. There is a free laundry (except for the 50 cents it cost for the detergent). Next to the laundry was a small but adequate gym (not a must for some but it was for me).

Other reviewers of this hotel have made comment on its proximity to the parole office. Yes it is a couple of doors up from the parole office, however those complaints are unfounded and those making the complaints are probably scared of their shadows. We have had no issues walking down the street day or night. The office is closed during the night and on the weekend and it's not like you're hanging out the front of the parole office during the day. Further, the Port Authority Bus terminal is across the road and there is always a uniformed police presence.

In all, this place was excellent; close to the subway and Times Square. Having stayed in NYC previously this place was well above the competition. You should consider this place!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CraigThomas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for leaving us such wonderful feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast buffet offers a wide array of options and you were wise to join us early on as it can get busy during peak hours with seating. I am also happy to hear you felt safe while with us. Like most New York streets you can’t always choose your neighbors but we, along with the many other hotels on our block, assure there is always a block patrol as well as our own security staffed 24 hours.
It’s great that you were able to utilize the gym facility while here with us and found everything you needed to still get in a workout! It sounds like you made the most of your visit to NYC and we hope you will come visit us again on your next trip to the big city!
Thanks Again!
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed at the staybridge suites Mon 18th till Fri 22nd Aug for 4 nights. Arrived at 1pm and check in opened at 3, so the front desk were great in assesting us in keep our 4 big cases in a locked room till we returned later in the day. The hotel is in a great location. 5mins walk from times square, 10/15 min walk to rockfeller centre + Madison square and Macys. Room was fantastic and great size and really modern for New york standards. Very impressive and had the in room safe, along with full size fridge freezer and kitchenette included. Breakfasts was a great bonus. After visiting new york 2 and half years ago, we saved a small fortune in having breakfast (included), hot drinks through out the day and on Tues/Weds and Thurs - 5/7 a free bar and snacks. Great standard too. It did get a little busy at times, especially in the evenings, but we always found a seat and if you struggled, you always had option to take it to your room or place it in a plastic container and take it with you. The is also a good 24hr gym facility available too. On return from hotel on the friday to JFK, we booked a car through the hotel, which cost $70 - as leaving at 5pm, taxis were a bit crazy at that time and try to stay within the city. An additional $10, but had a big 5 seater, full leather big 4 x 4, great driver (Jorge) which was brilliant an ideal for the 4 of us. Do not hesitate in booking as you will not be dissapointed!!

Dollar pizza on the corner, which was lovely, cake boss on the corner by port authority and yes its a few adult shops nearby, but its New york and they are located everywhere. Walked at 6am in the morning and got back at 4am one morning and the location of the hotel was always extremely safe at all times. If you book, then on our behalf, you are in for a winner. Thank you staybridge and already planning our next visit.

BEDS SO COMFY TOO!

Room Tip: we stayed 7th floor, which we were really happy with. 32 floors, but in rush hour times, could imagi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WelshCouple87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We have just returned from 9 days at the Staybridge Hotel on Times Square. It was great. It is in a brilliant location, ten minutes walk from 42nd Street, right by the subway and the bus station and ten minutes walk to Penn Station. Hotel was great, lovely room, we were on the 11th floor and it took 3 minutes to walk downstairs if you didn't want to wait for the lift. Lifts were not that bad, we only waited a couple of times. Breakfast was great, would only say maybe add a few more choices for cereals and perhaps some muffins would be nice, but it is free and saved us loads of money. Loved the happy hour on tue, wed, thur, had nachos one night, meatballs, hotdogs, but loved the free drinks. We were able to take a few cans of coke to our room as well and keep in our fridge, my hubby loved having a nice cold beer too. Free wifi, so we skyped the grandparents from our room which the kids loved. Also free to book your return boarding card and print it off which helped us loads. Everyone was really helpful and very smiley, breakfast was cereals, toast, muffins, bagels, orange juice, etc. We always felt very safe. We booked a car to take us back to the airport recommended by the hotel, our driver was called Miguel, he was really nice and would thoroughly recommend using him to take you places if you don't want to use the subway, Really trustworthy family man. He was there 20 minutes early and we drove in his lovely air conditioned car to the airport it cost $70 and you tipped whatever you wanted. This is cheaper than the airport shuttle and you don't wait to pick other people up! Would stay there again when we can next afford to go to New York. Couple of tips about the trip, don't be pulled in by the people outside the empire state saying they can get you in quicker, go and check what the queue is like first. We were told it was 3 hours, but we went to look for ourselves and we were in and up the top in less than 50 mins and it cost us loads less. So go and see first. If you want souvenirs, go right at the top of the road down 8th avenue they are cheaper than heading up to 42nd street. If you want to go to Washington for the day, book an amtrak train from Penn Station, it only cost us £73 for four people there and back. We caught the 7.15am train got in at 10.40am had a whole day in Washington got the 7.10pm train back got in at 10.45pm and walked to the hotel. It is really busy all the time in New York so we were perfectly safe. If you take the organised day bus tour to Washington you will be paying alot more and you are stuck on a schedule. If you go on your own you can walk around quite easily. You can get a subway ticket for the day in Washington cost $14.50 we went everywhere including Pentagon and Arlington Cemetry. Also get 7 day metro ticket in New York to use on all the subways and buses, cheaper than the hop on hop off bus. If you want a night tour, we went with Skyline tours, you are guaranteed a seat on the top and they don't overwhelm you with information, its cheaper than Citysights tour. If you want to do a trip down the river, book the New York River taxi (yellow boat) cheaper than the others and you have a choice of staying on, it takes you all down the river, round Statue of Liberty and across to Brooklyn. But you can also get off at 4 stops all day and get back on - these are Greenwich village, Wall street, Battery park and Brooklyn, so you see the sights but also can get off and look round. We also went to Coney Island on the subway it's easy and takes about 35 mins, loved it there, great beach and amusement park for the kids. Top of the Rock has the best views and is easier to pay for and queue as you have a set time, so you don't wait as long as the Empire State. I know Empire State is traditional but having done both I would choose Top of the Rock every time its much more spacious and you get better photos. At the end of the road is Duane Read, which is a chemist and supermarket if you don't want to eat out. Next door is the Fairfield Suites and they have the Skyroom which is a bar and disco with views of the Empire State, we couldn't go coz had kids but it is supposed to be really nice. Museums, the best is the Metropolitan Museum of Art, you don't have to pay the set rate of $25 you can just give a donation instead, which works if you don't have a lot of time. It had tons of paintings by Van Gogh, Monet, Matisse, Picasso, Turner, Constable and an amazing roof top garden which looks over the whole of central park and the upperside and you can buy a drink and enjoy the view. Oh and a Faberge collection of eggs, amazing, loved this museum and would go back in a heartbeat! The others charge, $25 each which I think is a bit of a rip off when its free in Washington to go in all the museums!! If you want a posh view go to Mandarin Oriental the Lounge book your table about 11.15am then just ask for a drink and dessert. If you have a full on meal its about $100,but we just had a drink and New York Cheesecake, enjoyed the view and seeing how the other half lives, and it was not too expensive. In wall street, visit the Pound and Pence Pub on Liberty street if you want home cooked British food, my husband said the shepherds pie was better than England and the London Pride beer was fab! You can pop in the NYPD police museum too which is really sweet and you realise how hard they work and what they did for 9/11. Everyone was so friendly - when we got to JFK we took the airport shuttle which cost $87 for four of us and four suitcases, but you can take a taxi if you want or you could call the Staybridge and see if Miguel could pick you up I guess. Go in FAO Schwarz and see the toy piano from the film BIG, go in the News Building and see the revolving planet used in the Superman Films with Christopher Reeve that was the Daily Planet Building. Go in Toys r us and see the lego characters and the moving dinosaur and go on the ferris wheel inside, its massive. Shops on times square stay open till 2am, other shops seem to stay open till 9pm or 7pm on a Sunday, truly the city that never sleeps. Just ask if you don't know where you are going or you need to know where something is. We didn't want to come home. Thank you Staybridge and thanks New York and Washington - we will start saving from next month to come again!

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor, sometimes you could hear the dust trucks outside in the morning but we sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were a family of 4 adults and we stayed for 4 nights from 28/10/13- 01/11/13
Our room was very clean and comfortable and was really quite quiet considering the busy road down below. The lifts at times were a little slow but nowhere near as bad as we were led to believe reading some of the reviews on TA.
Excellent position just off Times Square and we felt perfectly safe.
Added bonus of Penn St Station on the doorstep and my sons were very happy to find a Cake Boss shop around the corner. It took us about 10 minutes to walk to the Empire State Building.
The only downside was that, although the breakfast was perfectly fine, the seating area was way too small for the amount of hotel guests and it didn't help matters much when seats are being saved with coats, laid out cutlery and carefully placed children !! We only ate breakfast twice at the hotel for this reason although we could have taken food up to our room, we wanted to eat our breakfast on our way out for a day of exploring.
Regardless, we would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinsomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

The "value added" in this hotel was unlike anything I've seen in other NYC hotels...or many other hotels I've ever been. The staff were amazing...from the front desk to the luggage area to the server who poured me a beer (when clearly I did not have the talent :). The nacho bar on Tuesday night, chicken pizza on Wednesday night and hotdogs on Thursday were fun snacks with the happy hour beverages- this was a winning combo. Just what we needed after a day of extreme walking.

The beds are comfortable, the rooms spacious and quiet...I would recommend this hotel without question. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kara2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,842 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,784 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing