We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the friendliest staff ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #152 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from Aug 12-15 2014 and booked air and hotel through Expedia. I would echo many of the positive comments that have been posted on this forum. Hotel is in a good location, rooms are bigger than you would expect for NYC, beds comfortable, the kitchenette is nice although we only used the fridge to chill some wine. It's a very short walk to the A,C,E lines of the subway and not too much further to times square and the metro station there. Rooms were clean and quiet to outside noise. The open bar and snack session that is offered on Tues, Weds and Thurs was amazing, breakfast was good too. We arrived from LGA and the cab fare with tip was about $48. The hotel arranged for a car for our return to the airport, total was $55 with tip at the beginning of the Friday afternoon rush-hour.

The one thing that stood out to me was the friendliness of the staff. I don't think I've been to a hotel where all the staff (really everyone) was so helpful and friendly, that alone would bring me back.

Room Tip: We were on the south side, and had no issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank novak500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. It really means so much to us that we made such a great impression and you would come visit us again! I’m glad to hear you were able to join us for the weekday happy hour. This is a great way for us to get to know some of our guests better and for you to enjoy a quick bite to eat before heading out on the town. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you very soon!

Thanks Again!
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,866 - 1,872 of 5,719 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

This trip review will not b on the rooms, food or the quality of the the hotel facilities !
This review will b only about Service!
I have traveled many years, visit many hotels !… I can say that the past 12 years ~ 25% of my life was slipping in hotel beds... almost all of them are 5 star hotels.
I can define that the best service I got was @ Staybridge Suites NY.
To b a hotelier Is not ‘i’m going to work’….
to b hotelier is much more !! You have to give your self to your guest & to make people happy ! ...
This is what the young guys r doing over there !!! They r the true hotelier !!!! 

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Ran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

We are incredibly flattered by your lovely review. We so appreciate the time you took to write this and recognize all the hardworking dedicated staff we are so lucky to have here at the Staybridge! I do hope you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay as well and we would love to give you a warm welcome back to the Staybridge in the near future!

Thanks Again!
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Family of four (2 tall teenage boys ) in double suite - plenty of space , beds were super comfortable , rooms were very clean and sound proofed - no noise penetrating into our room at all . Wi fi efficient throughout hotel . Staff friendly , approachable, and don't make you feel like you have to tip them all the time . Breakfasts are really very good - everything you could want , from scrambled eggs to fresh fruit, cheeses , bagels , bread, pancakes, - excellent . Also complimentary afternoon happy hour during week very generous drinks ( both alcoholic and non alcoholic) , with nibbles - literally a valuable perk ! We spent the first 5 days of our two week east coast holiday here and it was great to be able to wash and dry our laundry on site free of charge .

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear you were able to get some quality, much needed rest in this city that never sleeps! We do our best to provide a wide spread of options for breakfast so you can start the day off right, thank you for joining us for this and our weekday happy hours. I’m also glad you took advantage of our complimentary laundry facilities which can certainly be helpful especially when traveling for an extended time. We hope you will return to the Staybridge the next time you are in NYC and look forward to welcoming you back!

Thanks Again!
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

everything is so convenient. You are right on 40th between 8th and 9th - very close to Times Square. Bathroom is large for NYC standards, but shower stall is quite tiny, but easy to get used to. Love Love Love the free breakfast in the morning and the best hidden secret (SHHH) - free washers and dryers - you just have to buy the detergent. This totally helps my 4 person family on our 2 week trip through NYC get through a few loads of laundry before we made our way on to our next location. Also the full size fridge and freezer made it so easy to load our water bottles with ice water in the morning and store our frozen treats for after dinner dessert. There was a full stove and microwave so we actually had ramen and mac&cheese one night when we didn't want to eat out. Free wi-fi too. Totally upgraded and completely modern looking.

Thanks Staybridge - we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geetee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel is wonderful. The staff incredible helpful and friendly. Eddie, Bradley, Jamie and the maintenance/electrical guys were wonderful. There were too many others to name individually, but the three above made my stay special. It felt like home. Kind of sad to leave. Thank you so very much for making New York a pleasure to visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. I was on the 9th and 7th floors and had no problems with either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

I just love this hotel for the convenient location and comfortable beds. The AC was great and they offer a generous breakfast. I stay here several times a year because it's quiet but conveniently located near midtown, Times Square etc. It's not trendy or chic, it's comfortable and has nice amenities for a business traveler. They should improve their workout room, it's minuscule.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank dallasiteonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Ok... I first like to say I travel a lot and am not easily impressed. I will stay here everytime I travel to the big apple. I usually stay at the intercontinental times square which is also great but this is better. Why??? Location, location, location... right off the main subway station 42 st/ port authority and only a block away from 9th avenue eats. Also wonderful... kitchens in the rooms that are stocked. Free breakfast daily (nice options including yogurt and fresh fruit) . T,W,R free dinner and it was for the most part good and always included salad and DRINKS ... stella on tap, wine (just the average). Also rooms bigger than average .... great service.

Down side: very crowded brkft and dinner especially M, F,S,S.... Elevator wait obnoxious... can take the stairs (I was on 27th floor so opted to wait most of the time).

Room Tip: top floors have good views but elevator wait brutal so lower floors better so can take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mylinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#301 of 469 in New York City
4,161 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#71 of 469 in New York City
5,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#232 of 469 in New York City
1,874 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $175 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing