We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything is a plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Everything is a plus”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

From the moment we made the reservation based on the affordable price and the location, I knew I was not going to regret it.
Nice clean hotel with an included buffet breakfast. The staff is extremely nice and attentive to accommodate your requests.
Our room was the right size for the three of us with a nice little kitchen and a fridge. The bathroom also very clean and with extra towels all sizes for our use.
It is located in a very busy area of town walking distance to all the Broadway attractions, we even walked from the hotel to Central Park and we didn't even feel it. I am very glad that we choose this hotel, we will definitely go back.
Note: The Lobby is nice but small, it tends to get crowded at check in/out time therefore give yourself a few extra minutes prior your checks and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4everonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,029
    1,939
    435
    75
    35
See reviews for
1,705
2,047
222
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Celebrated special birthday with friends in NYC. Wow, loved every second of it. This great hotel provided us with everything we needed to create a memorable experience. Rooms were fully equipped with fridge to cool our beers after a hard day of sight-seeing. Breakfast enjoyable each morning and complimentary drinks Tue-Thu were fantastic. Right in the heart of the action, we will return to this great hotel in the future. Thank you to all staff, especially Karin, who gave us lots of good tips when travelling on the metro. Would go back tomorrow if could!

Room Tip: High up and ending in 05 gives excellent views over to the Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We recently just went there for a night. Beds were not to bad. Honestly, the hotel employees seemed to be very polite. Pools were good, but I wish that they could add a hot tub. Breakfast was very yummy. Great place to stay if your traveling in SC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

First off, don't let the name of the hotel fool you. This isn't exactly IN Times Square. It's near it, down a street that may be off-putting to some if you've never been to a big city before (think lots of trash and some adult shops), but you have to walk a few minutes to get to Times Square.

The room was definitely smaller than other hotels we've stayed at in NYC, but we really liked having the kitchenette to store groceries and beverages. The bed was way too comfortable -- it was hard to get out of it in the morning!

Our favorite part of this hotel was the staff. Great people, super friendly, really down to earth, very down to earth yet professional. They were honest with us about where to go, what to do and what to avoid. And they seem to have a great camaraderie.

Second favorite thing? Fantastic breakfast buffet! Perhaps a little short on tables, but great selection of food and drinks!

One big knock on this hotel, however, is the elevator service. We stayed on a high floor, and we had to wait for five or six elevators to pass almost every time we wanted to get downstairs. That definitely got annoying.

Other than that, I would recommend this place if you plan on staying for a few days or more and wanted a comfortable home base to store all your stuff, plus save money on free breakfast every morning!

Oh, and there's a pizza place on the corner that sells dollar slices. New Yorkers will tell you not to eat it. We went there twice. Some of the best pizza we've ever had!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoWayJoseCuervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is centrally located near Time Square. The parking for the hotel was one block away and hotel guests get a big discount. Everybody was helpful and friendly. The complementary cocktail hour was nice and the breakfast was quite nice for free-eggs, toast, bagels, fruit, cheese, yogurt, cereal, juices, coffee (with to-go cups available) and tea. The beds were comfy and the pillows a delight! We had a great experience.

Room Tip: Our room had a king size bed w/shower. My daughters room had a king with a bathtub. If you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Spent 3 nights in mid-July at this hotel. Lovely staff. All were very friendly, helpful and courteous. Our room had two double beds, great modern decor bathroom and a fully-stocked kitchenette with a fridge that made ice AND a dishwasher! We had no need for the kitchen and only used it to make ice water for drinking but if you want a kitchen I thought this one was better than many others I have seen. The room was spacious, had a large closet with iron, ironing board and a safe inside. Wifi worked great but best of all the air conditioning was cold!! I find so many hotels seem to have a preset minimum which is usually not cold enough for me but this one worked independently and we actually had to increase the temperature after a while as it got too cold. As we were travelling with our sons it was great that they had a breakfast buffet, especially since one of my boys is a voracious eater! I have noticed some reviewers didn't appreciate the breakfast but I thought it was just fine with a pretty good variety. It was very busy and hard to find a seat but the other patrons were very accommodating and would share seating. Having this buffet built into the cost of our accomodation was a bonus and saved me at least $50 per day. The only negative about this hotel was the elevator service. It was almost ALWAYS a LONG wait. Because we were on the 8th floor my kids used the stairs and sometimes so did my husband and I. You actually needed to build elevator wait time into your daily schedule.

Room Tip: Right now they are deconstructing the building to the south and I imagine that will be followed by a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quietbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Customer Service: The staff were approachable, polite, very helpful and had great local knowledge of the area and New York overall.

The Room: Great nights sleep on one of the best hotel beds I've slept on. Enough power points for about 12 people, which is a must when I have about 30 devices to power. TV and channels were great. WiFi access all over the hotel (not just the room, but even outside) had full signal and never had a problem, managed to download a few films from the iTunes store without any problems and stream Netflix and Spotify. Fridge freezer, Kettle and all kitchen utensils were all in good working order. The bathroom was very clean and the essential products were provided.

Breakfast and restaurant area has a great atmosphere and has a very modern feel. A wide selection of dishes is available at breakfast.

Times square is just around the cornor from the Staybridge. Next to the Staybridge there is a club called SkyRoom which is a rooftop club that overlooks New York, it's definitely worth a visit.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay near Times Square.

Room Tip: Standard room has been more than enough for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#256 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,936 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,871 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing