We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #140 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Fantastic value - very very clean...staff were phenomenal, particularly Mirlinda who made our stay very special with a Happy Anniversary gift, a smile everyday and personality plus! We were on the 23rd floor at the back of the hotel which was extremely quiet! A bit of a feeding frenzy at free mealtimes, but we always found a place to sit! Highly recommend this hotel if you wish to stay near Times Square!

Room Tip: Highest floor possible, facing back of hotel - quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! Mirlinda was so thrilled to hear that she made your stay that much better! We are glad to have been a part of such a special occasion. Congratulations on your anniversary! We do hope you come visit us again very soon!

Thanks Again
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,079
    1,982
    454
    76
    44
See reviews for
1,765
2,073
228
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was a great hotel and we would definitely stay here again.
Our room was big enough for us both, with cooking facilites and a dishwasher and fridge. So if you didnt fancy the hustle and bustle of new york, or paying more dollar than food is worth, then there pots and pans ready for you to cook something for yourself.
We were based on the 31st floor, so we could've easily sat there and watch the world go by all day. We opted for the 'city view' and were not disappointed!
We stayed the week leading up to 4th July, so it was fairly busy, so going up or down to the 31st floor was a bit tedious. But, there were plenty of staff on the lobby to use their 'special key' which meant the lift only went to the floors that were pressed. win.
The staff were helpful and approachable.
This hotel was a perfect base, we would spend the entire day exploring the city after a well stocked and fairly diverse breakfast. Even better were the tuesday and thursday evenings where they had free draught beer and chicken wings between 5-7. Chicken wings are a way to my heart!
The gym was small, but had enough for a decent workout. If you know how, dumbbells can provide more than enough weight and exercise without having to have a bench and squat rack etc.
The hotel is a short walk from a subway and also 5-10 minutes to Times Square.
We would definitely recommended this hotel to anyone. Genuinely gutted to have left.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obviouslyriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time last week for 4 nights, as on our last visit the rooms were spotless and the location is perfect, quiet street a couple of minutes walk to Times Square.

Had no problems whatsoever with the lifts or finding somewhere to sit at breakfast so please don't let this put you off!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingpanda90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We are so glad to have had you back to visit us again! I am happy to hear you were as satisfied happy with your stay this time as the last. Our central location is great for sightseeing and getting around and I hope you had good weather for all of this! Please come visit us again soon!

Thank you for such a great review!
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

3 mins walk from time square, free breakfast, kitchen in the room, gym in the basement and free drinks Tue - Thu 5 - 7 pm.... isn't that good..
Rooms are a bit dark pending on what floor. We were on 2nd floor, however no noise from ground floor, further up should be better views etc.
Perfect value for money place,,,

Hell's kitchen is to the left , can be some rough areas there...

Room Tip: ask for 10th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 007Bloodaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us! Our lower floors in the back don’t get quite as much sunlight however please let us know in the future and we can certainly send an extra lamp for your room if needed! We would love to have you back to visit us again soon and feel free to give us a call beforehand so we can block a nice high floor for you!

Thanks Again
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Staybridge is probably the best value in midtown- decent-sized rooms for Manhattan, comfy bed, relatively quiet, nice little kitchen unit at a reasonable price. When I booked, it was almost 300 per night lower than the Fairfield Inn next door, and I liked it better. Their breakfast is actually decent. And their staff is very helpful, especially- you guessed it- Jamie.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grimlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review! Jamie certainly is awesome and one of our guests favorites for his witty humor and willingness to help with anything. It really means so much that you took the time to say so! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and chose us for your home away from home. We would love to have you back again soon!

Thanks Again
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Rooms were very nice, clean and comfy. we've been there on our honeymoon, when the front desk knew they sent us chocolates and a letter:).. guys in the Front desk were very nice and helpful. Bell captains were the best.. Hotel offered breakfast and (luch at some days). food was good. Always choose higher floors because of the noise coming from the Authority bus station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msgamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you! For such a wonderful review! Congratulations! We are so happy we could share in such an amazing occasion! The front desk staff and bellmen are very appreciative of your kind words. Thank you for recognizing them. I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and weekday happy hour. This is just one way to try to make the Staybridge even more comfortable for our guests. Please do come visit us again we would love to welcome you back!

Thanks Again
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Staybridge Suites May 29-June 1, 2014. This is my 2nd stay here, the previous stay was a year ago. The rooms are good, the hotel is centrally located, their Tue-Thu happy hour is good, as is their daily breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#277 of 466 in New York City
4,071 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#75 of 466 in New York City
5,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#231 of 466 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing