We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$389
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$165
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$235
$219
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$308
$203
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$283
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,950)
Filter reviews
5,950 results
Traveler rating
3,209
2,091
507
93
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,209
2,091
507
93
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsport authorityparole officetimes squarefree laundrynew yorkfull size fridgefridge freezerstove topbus stationsmall kitchennever felt unsafethe breakfast areabagelscomplimentary breakfastlower floorhell's kitchenfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
2,130 - 2,135 of 5,950 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We used IHG points for a long weekend stay (over our Mardi Gras weekend break) in NYC and stayed at the Staybridge Suites on Times Square. I have stayed at numerous Staybirdge Suites over the past years and enjoyed them-this was very different.
The hotel was very chaotic at check in when we got there at one pm-offical check in was 3 pm so we left and came back at 4-check-in took about 20 minutes-small check in area.
Neither my wife nor I have ever stayed in a smaller room, let alone a SB Suites. The door entrance was stuck in between two sets of the three elevators-one was always broken. There was literally no room to put two suitcase-one only fit. Everything was very cramped-the bathroom was proporitionally small too-no room to put toiletries-
The next morning we went down for breakfast-the room was too small for the amount to of guests-many of us stood and ate in whatever small space one could find
The elevators were another issue-one of the three was always broke, often you could hear the other two pass your floor by without stopping-the back up of people then got very upset when one finally did stop--most of the time we pressed both the up and down just to get on-but again often they would just pass by
In short, I would never recommend this hotel

Room Tip: never take the room between the elevators ask if all the elevators are working I wish I would have taken a photo of the size of the room to post
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hello George W,

We sincerely apologize that you did not find your stay with us enjoyable. As most people know real estate is at premium here in the city we try to make the most of the space we have but during check-in time (4pm) it can sometimes get a bit crowded at the front desk. Our agents certainly do their best to assure that the wait is not too long and the check-in makes all of our guests feel welcomed to our Staybridge family.
In February we did undergo a large elevator renovation. The elevator improvement notification was posted all throughout the hotel apologizing in advance for the inconvenience especially reminding our guests of our anticipated peak hours. We notified and made arrangement with our housekeeping staff to operate at different hours to help alleviate any additional wait times for our guests. We are very sorry for any and all inconvenience this caused our guests but now we are very happy to report all of our elevators are all back in full service and thanks to these renovations are operating without concerns and at reduced wait times!
Our guestrooms, while possibly smaller than Staybridge properties in other towns, are actually quite large compared to standard NYC hotel rooms. We provide all we can in the room including a full kitchenette to give you all the comforts of home while you are with us.
Our complimentary breakfast is quite popular and can get busy during peak hours. We do offer 3 rooms for breakfast seating, including opening the bar area during breakfast. We apologize if you were not made aware of our additional seating and we will certainly work to make our signage for this more visible. In addition, we now have additional seating outside available so our guests can enjoy the lovely Spring weather!
We hope in the future we may invite you back to the hotel for a true Staybridge experience as we are always working to improve and make each stay that much better than the last!

-Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My family and I stayed here for 8 nights. We found the hotel room very clean, and spacious ( for NY) our only complaint about room is the mattresses that sagged in the middle. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety of different things each day. Breakfast area is very small, crowded, and it's hard to find somewhere to sit down and eat if you don't get there early. Hotel is in a great location very close to Times Square.
Would return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustralianNotawinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We booked this hotel with Expedia during their sale so we got a really good bargain. We booked a double room with kitchenette. We requested a higher floor room as recommended by other reviewers and was allocated a room on floor 30, which afforded us a view of the Empire State Building. For my first visit to New York this was pretty impressive.
The room was imaculate, modern and contemporary. The kitchenette was a welcome convenient addition for us to prepare our own food. It was fully equipped with all the cutlery, pans and dishes you may need. It also boasted a full size fridge freezer. No mini fridge here!
The bed was the best bed I have ever slept on.....no kidding. A king size, pillow top. Bliss after a long day in New York.
We had a little niggle with the bath/shower tap. I think there was a knack to it which we couldnt quite get.
Breakfast was a standard buffer affair in a nice glass roofed dining area. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpfull. Very pleased with our stay here and I would love to go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lift for a quieter night sleep as its going for most of the night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsEvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I’m glad we could accommodate your request for a view room especially for a first time visitor! The showers can sometimes be tricky so we do have engineers on duty 24-7 in case you need help with anything! We would absolutely love to welcome you back to the Staybridge the next time you’re in NYC and hope to see you soon!

Thanks Again!
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We visited NYC in April 2014 and chose this hotel as it was pet friendly! Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome! This is a beautiful hotel with very nice finishes. I believe all the rooms have small kitchens that are supplied with utensils, dishes and everything else to cook in your room if necessary! The rooms are beautifully appointed and are actually quite spacious by NYC standards. They have a wonderful buffet breakfast and a wine lounge! The only negative is the elevators. Not horrible, but you may have to wait op to 5 minutes to catch one that is convenient for you. Everyone seemed to love our Bulldog Angus! I believe we paid around $240 a night with AAA.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are so glad to hear you felt welcome and comfortable here with us. We do have full kitchenettes in every guest room to make your stay feel even more at home. We love being a pet friendly hotel and getting to meet all sorts of cute characters! I hope Angus was comfy here too, it was great getting to know him and we hope to welcome you all back to the hotel again in the future.

Thanks Again!
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The staff make this a great hotel.

We had a 7 night stay and during this time all the staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make sure that our stay was a pleasant one.

The room had a well equipped, kitchenette area, a massive fridge/freezer and even a dishwasher!

It is close to a bus and metro, which has good links to most lines and other stations, which made getting around New York easier.

There are plenty of dining establishments along 7th and 8th Avenues. Just make sure you head away from Times Square.
There were nights when we came back at 2 or 3am in the morning and we did not feel unsafe in the area around the hotel.

the other reviews already mention the positive points!

But the hotel is not all perfect. Here are some of my negative points:
1 Waiting for the lifts.
2 The main breakfast area was crowded, but we sat in the bar area where we always got a table.
3 For me the shower cubicle was too small.
4 We did report a faulty hair dryer, but either it was not fixed or the replacement was faulty.
5 We reported that the water in the shower cubicle was not draining away, this was not fixed.(this was on the last few days so was not a major issue)
6 Even though there is a fully equipped kitchenette, there was really no space in the room for two people to sit down and eat a meal.

But taking into account the minor points, I will be staying in this hotel again on my next trip to NY.

Room Tip: If waiting for a lift is going to be a problem, then request a lower floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agent_Krycek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews