We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #133 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Runcorn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Base camp”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very good in every way, great location walking distance to time square. It is a very comfortable nights sleep and very clean, great breakfast to set you up for the day and the is something for everybody.they also have a happy hour during the week, and for people who have been on here before complaining about the the lift please get a life it is by no means a great hardship to wait for lift for a few minutes. I would with out doubt stay here again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,049
    1,953
    442
    75
    37
See reviews for
1,721
2,055
225
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were looking for something close to Time square for our 10 year anniversary. A weekend getaway. So My husband Frank and I had never been to NYC so we thought why not. We researched plenty of hotels but I would tell you first hand this place was the best value and great location. Plus the comp breakfast is pretty good too! We did venture down to the bar/ lounge and our bartender Samantha was great. Pleasant to talk to and she was very helpful. We really liked the small atmosphere of bar forty . we spent most of our first night there chatting it up with Sam she was a wonderful bartender. Go when she is working. We will go back and stay at this hotel again. The only draw back to this hotel is the elevators are so slow. so many floors take a long time. !!!! Shannon & Frank wollerman From Ohio!!! :)

Room Tip: best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon Muscate... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I never normally write reviews but thought that this hotel deserved one. I've visited NYC a few times and this is the best hotel I have stayed in. So close to everything so clean and the free breakfast is lovely.Will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krainford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We were at the Staybridge after New Year's, and found it to be close to lots of great sights. We walked to Broadway, Times Square, and got short cab rides everywhere else. Friendly, helpful staff, and the room was a good size, unlike many others in the city.

The entrance was down a bit of a seedy street, but we weren't out too late at night, and there were lots of other tourists and hotels around.

We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pontiki5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Overall, 4-stars! I stayed at this hotel last weekend with a large group of students from a high school in Texas. Rooms were clean and modern, the breakfast bar was a great way to start the day, and the staff was extremely friendly. Jamie, the doorman, was incredibly helpful and had that great NYC charm. He held our luggage for us after checkout while we made one more jaunt out into the city. The location is incredible. Two blocks from Times Square, one block from the subway, and lots of shopping and dining closeby. The only reason I'm giving this review a 4-star is because the elevators are abysmal. There were times we waited over 10 minutes and still ended up using the stairs up 14 floors to our room. But, other than that, I was quite impressed with the staff, cleanliness of the hotel and the great breakfast. Thanks, Staybridge!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room to stay away from the elevator dings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckybarnes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
125 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I booked the Staybridge suites in Times Square because last year I stayed in the Staybridge suites in Liverpool. For a fuller description of how excellent they were have a look at my review on this site.

Therefore we were expecting a similar experience in New York. I know from many previous visits that New York hotel rooms do not tend to be on the large side unless you spend a lot of money, but whereas the rooms in Liverpool truly can be called suites, these would be better referred to as the Staybridge bedsits. Situated in West 40th Street down the side of Port authority bus terminal, it's not the most glamorous of New York locations, although it is exceptionally convenient if you're going to be doing a lot of time in the main tourist areas of Times square. I can imagine that someone who hasn't been to New York before could find this area could be a little overpowering, as the street is dark with one side of it being the big wall of the bus terminal itself.

The room we were shown first, although a "studio king suite" had only one bedside table and one bedside lamp. We asked to be moved. We were moved next door, and the only difference was that this room did have two bedside tables and two lamps. There's very little space around the bed. One armchair tucked into a corner facing away from the television, and a huge air conditioning unit sticking out of the wall underneath the window. The bathroom's tiny, No bath, only a shower, and there's a kitchenette as you enter the room - well-stocked, but if you did decide to cook, there's nowhere to sit and eat it in the room. The wardrobe is ridiculously small and the whole room looks like somewhere Cagney and Lacey might discover a body in an episode of their 1970s crime caper.

Having said all this, the staff of the hotel were absolutely brilliant when they realise just how unhappy I was. We were given wine and chocolates, but unfortunately this was the best room they had, and waking early as one tends to do on a first day in New York (and my birthday) and sitting in the depressing armchair amongst piled up clothes, as there's nowhere else to hang everything, I decided that this wasn't going to be where we stayed for a five-day break.

Once again the hotel staff were brilliant, and even though we had booked through Expedia and technically paid upfront, they had no problem helping is contacted Expedia to get a refund for the remaining four nights, and we left.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear claytoncast,

Greetings to you in London! Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your recent brief stay with us at Staybridge Suites Times Square. I am sorry you were moved to cut your stay with us short, but thank you for the detailed feedback, and also for the kind words about how accomodating and friendly our staff was.

You are correct that all of our guest rooms are Studio Suites, possibly smaller than you have experienced at other Staybridge properties in other parts of the world, but are in fact quite large by New York City standards. Our closets are not overly large, and there is no seperate full dining table, as our guests prefer the additional space in the room, instead utilizing the full size desk or the bed or armchair on which to eat. However your feedback has inspired us to think of new options for our guests who might require more seating in their rooms. We will brainstorm on this! While we do have some rooms with a bathtub, you are correct that the majority of our rooms have instead a large glass enclosed shower. If you ever require a traditional bathtub, please just inquire with the Front Office or Reservations, and we will be happy to arrange one of these rooms for you.

Thank you again for acknowledging our amazing staff. We agree with you that they are brilliant! While we are sorry you were not able to complete your stay with us, we are happy that our team went out of their way to assist you in cancelling your pre-paid Expedia reservation.

We hope that when you visit again from England, you will be moved to give us another try. Until then keep enjoying your travels!

Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Overall review-Horrible pillows, noise from in room ice machine and elevators beeping all night. There are no rooms away from the elevator. Nice staff and nice location. Free breakfast is not good you would be better off spending money and trying something on the city.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicoleigh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Nicoleleigh35,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions of your recent stay with us. We are so very sorry you did not have a more pleasant stay, reflective of the experiences shared by the majority of our guests. Please note that at any time during your stay, if made aware, we would be happy to address your concerns, providing you with different pillows, or a move to a different room or floor.

We also are happy to assist you with turning off the ice machine in your refrigerator, which comes in each fully loaded kitchen in every guestroom. Our guests love that they can have ice right in their rooms, and do not have to travel down the hall or to another floor! Each room contains a full size stainless steel refrigerator, dishwasher, convection microwave, two burner stove top, dishes and cutlery, toaster and a full size coffee maker. You are correct that our elevators are centrally located in each hallway, but if you find the location of your room to be noisy for any reason we will always be happy to make every effort to relocate you if possible.

We also apologize if you did not find our breakfast as appealing as you would have liked. While our guests do love that we provide a full hot and cold breakfast, including a range of eggs, potatoes, sausage and ham, cereals and pastries, complimentary to all guests, we do realize that there will be surely some who unfortunately would prefer different offerings. Our Concierge team will always be happy to help you in selecting alternate venues.

Thank you so much for mentioning both our friendly staff and convenient location. They are the reason we are the best kept secret in Manhattan! Thank you again for your feedback. Our team will take your comments to heart as we constantly strive to improve our services and ensure our guests are enjoying a signature Staybridge Suites experience!

Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#67 of 468 in New York City
5,025 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#268 of 468 in New York City
3,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#219 of 468 in New York City
1,838 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelPower, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing