We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok if you don't mind a bad nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok if you don't mind a bad nights sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Overall review-Horrible pillows, noise from in room ice machine and elevators beeping all night. There are no rooms away from the elevator. Nice staff and nice location. Free breakfast is not good you would be better off spending money and trying something on the city.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicoleigh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Nicoleleigh35,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions of your recent stay with us. We are so very sorry you did not have a more pleasant stay, reflective of the experiences shared by the majority of our guests. Please note that at any time during your stay, if made aware, we would be happy to address your concerns, providing you with different pillows, or a move to a different room or floor.

We also are happy to assist you with turning off the ice machine in your refrigerator, which comes in each fully loaded kitchen in every guestroom. Our guests love that they can have ice right in their rooms, and do not have to travel down the hall or to another floor! Each room contains a full size stainless steel refrigerator, dishwasher, convection microwave, two burner stove top, dishes and cutlery, toaster and a full size coffee maker. You are correct that our elevators are centrally located in each hallway, but if you find the location of your room to be noisy for any reason we will always be happy to make every effort to relocate you if possible.

We also apologize if you did not find our breakfast as appealing as you would have liked. While our guests do love that we provide a full hot and cold breakfast, including a range of eggs, potatoes, sausage and ham, cereals and pastries, complimentary to all guests, we do realize that there will be surely some who unfortunately would prefer different offerings. Our Concierge team will always be happy to help you in selecting alternate venues.

Thank you so much for mentioning both our friendly staff and convenient location. They are the reason we are the best kept secret in Manhattan! Thank you again for your feedback. Our team will take your comments to heart as we constantly strive to improve our services and ensure our guests are enjoying a signature Staybridge Suites experience!

Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,005
    1,919
    432
    74
    35
See reviews for
1,686
2,036
221
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I reviewed this hotel a few years ago (aptly titled "A Review that doesn't mention the lifts") and since I just spent a week back here I thought it would be interesting to contrast the experience. Some things are still great; the staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is still a great start to the day and although space can be limited it generally flows well. The location is still perfect for theatre, Port authority and shopping. The rooms are still well appointed. So why three stars this time?
Well, I have to mention the lifts; or should I say lift as one of them was out for maintenance this week. I was really lucky to be on a low floor so was able to take the stairs but I can totally empathise with the depressing wait for a lift and the frustration it brings - time is such a precious commodity on a holiday and waiting nearly 10 minutes for a lift (which can feel like 20) lets the hotel down badly. It's also not fair on the people working there because all of their great attentive service can be wiped out by the experience - one morning I heard a guy outside my room waiting for his lift literally cursing and kicking the walls in frustration with his luggage.
I don't know what the solution is - clearly unless they build it outside they aren't going to be able to add any more elevators but there might be some incentivising ways they could promote stair use (firstly by making the door not so heavy to open! lol) or maybe a deduction of $10 a day for swiping your room card on the stairs for lower floor guests which might help...

Room-wise the "newness" of my first review is a bit faded - that's to be expected - but the amenities are still good and for families on a budget this is still a great option.

Room Tip: Low Floor = stairs = less holiday time waiting for lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mixip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Mixip,

Thank you so much for coming back and staying with us again! We have so many loyal guests who return to stay with us time after time, and I hope we will soon be able to welcome you back as one of them.
I do apologize that you experienced issues with our lifts during your recent stay. You are correct that we were conducting emergency repair on one of our elevators and it was out of commission for about 6 weeks. You are absolutley right that this was a source of inconvience for all of our guests as it contributed to increased wait times for elevators.
I am very happy to report that all of our elevators are now fully back in service! Though there in the future may be the occasional incident requiring service or mandated inspection, we do not anticipate any other extended repairs or shutdowns of our elevator service. Thank you for the wonderful suggestions. We will absolutley be looking into the possibility of implimenting some of them in the unlikely event of a future repair!
Thank you again for the very kind words about our staff, breakfast and rooms. Our team is truly our best asset and take great pride in providing you with a clean, delicious, fun, and friendly experience.
I hope we wont have to wait a few more years for your next review Mixip!

Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel in NYC for a long weekend. I found the hotel staff very professional and pleasant. Our check-in was fast and the room was a great deal. The room was a bit small, but that's the usual for any hotel room in NYC. It was always spotless! The hotel is in a great location, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go; times square, rockafeller, empire state building, central park, lots of great restaurants near-by. The breakfast was awesome, they would even give you a to-go bag if you wanted to go back to your room to eat, or to-go coffee cups for you to bring with you if you were about to head out. The breakfast had great selection. One down-fall I noticed, a lot of people were frustrated with the elevators during our stay as one was not working, there were quite a few floors to this hotel so I would imagine the wait was quite long, we stayed on the 3rd floor so we just took the stairs. Also some mornings there was this awful noise the water system was making that woke us up (high-pitched squeel), only seemed to happen in the morning though and wasn't too much of a bother.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for five days in February. Great location, clean facilities, friendly staff. Only issue was only 2 of the 3 lifts working which often led to long delays a waiting for a lift.

Would return and recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank panther72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

My daughter and I had a fantastic 6 nights stay end of February. The location is central and fun. The staff was fabulous an very helpful, the room was perfectly equipped, big and calm. We even had a great view on the Empire State Building. I definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room not to near by the elevators. I also liked the fact of being on the 30th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlyly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

All members of staff were very friendly and helpful. Karina Castillo and Maria Luna were so pleasant to wake up with in the morning at the breakfast buffet. Food was excellent. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Waiting on elevators was a problem. Stay on lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in this New York Hotel for three nights as an extension to my trip to the U.S.A. after spending a week visiting my Family in Philadelphia. The room was quite spacious for a Manhattan Hotel. It was well equipped with a full size refrigerator and even had a small cooker and microwave as well as a Tea/Coffee Maker. There was the added benefit of Free Wi-Fi with a very good Internet Connection and I and no problems connecting my Laptop and Mobile Phone to it. Breakfast was included in the price of the Room. The Buffet Breakfast was very good with good selection of hot and cold items. My only criticism was that the Breakfast Room was not really big enough, but on the plus side there was an overflow section in the Bar area. The Hotel itself is in a very good location and is only five minutes walk from 42nd Street Subway Station and this makes getting around New York very easy indeed. This is an excellent New York Hotel to stay in which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M25-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,850 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,791 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing