We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York for St.Patrick's weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #129 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New York for St.Patrick's weekend”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed in Staybridge suites for St. Patrick’s weekend in March 2013 with my wife and daughter, hotel was lovely, only a short stroll from Time Square, room was like a small apartment, have all cooking facilities, everything was spotlessly clean, not a lot of choice for breakfast but wouldn’t hold that against them. When leaving we asked them to call taxi for the airport and it was on the doorstop bang on time, it was more a private taxi but didn’t cost any more then the yellow one coming from the airport, staff very courteous and helpful, if going to New York again this is where we’ll stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,072
    1,969
    445
    75
    41
See reviews for
1,746
2,067
228
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

One elevator not functioning. Have to walk down each time as it takes forever to wait. imagine only two elevators for 30+ floors. Took 10 minutes to check in. There was even some paper in the toilet when I first got in the room. Too noisy at night, some knocking sound at 4am. No complimentary water or anything.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HHironman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear HHironman,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We have sent you a private message to address your concerns further.

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights.on the 15 floor. The only down side was the problem with the elevator only 2 were working 1out of action so at busy times there could be a long wait for the lift. Everything thing else about the hotel was excellent good breakfast and handy location near to metro and times square.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netty232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice review! I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We try and serve a large range of options from eggs and pancakes to muffins and bagels to make sure you get a great start to your day! We do apologize for the state of our lifts. We are currently working overtime on repairs to one of our elevators which we are happy to report should be back in full service by March. We hope to welcome you back to the Staybridge again very soon!

Thanks Again,

Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend Staybridge Suites to anyone. The place is lovely although there are few things that need fixing. One time when I stayed I was given keys to a room that was already occupied. I mentioned it to the front desk manager the next time I reserved a room & his compensation turned out not to really be a compensation. I ended up spending more than the cost. Also there was only one elevator so getting in & out took forever. Me myself personally I think they should have toothpaste in their bathrooms. Overall it was an awesome experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlatoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Tlatoy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Staybridge is located in front of Porth Autorithy Terminal so you will have easy access to the buses going to Woodsbury outlet and Jersey Gardens Outlet. Is one block away to NY Times and very close to Broadway, restaurants, pubs, stores, etc.
Hotel rooms are not that small (as the most rooms in NYC), and they are equiped with microwave, refrigetaror, etc.
Hotel has a small fitness center and half of the equipments were out of services at the time.
Breakfast is included but not good. Be prepared to face long lines and not polite people from staff... they will serve the same things everyday (fruits, eggs,juice, sausages and terrible breads).
The worst thing in the hotel is the elevator. It takes 20min to get one. When making a reservation, I suggest you ask for lower floor so you can use the stairs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our party of six attempted to go to NYC Feb 5/14 and got storm stayed in TO. We phoned Staybridge Suites to inform them and, many thanks to Melissa, our 1st nights stay was refunded! I was shocked as we had non-refundable king rooms booked, but after we finally arrived I realized this was an exceptional hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. Every attempt is made to make your stay pleasant. Brad the porter, gave us many helpful hints, Karina, at the buffet is sweet. Staybridge is well located, and we got the subway right on the corner. We stayed on the 3rd floor so we could have 3 rooms together, although we missed a great view we could easily navigate the stairs. Having breakfast included saved us much time and money. Everyone of us enjoyed the surprisingly large variety. i.e scrambled eggs, sausages/turkey bacon, waffles/pancakes/french toast, fresh fruit, juices, lots of hot coffee. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice review. We do our best to meet all of our guest’s requests and I’m thrilled that we met yours! I will certainly pass this along to Melisa, Brad, and Karina, I’m sure they will be so happy they could be a part of your positive experience. Our complimentary breakfast can certainly help save on dining costs especially in NYC! We would love to have you all back with us and hope to see you again soon!

Thanks Again,

Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and son to experience NYC during the most recent snowstorm. It is very conveniently located directly across 40th street from an exit to the Port Authority Bus Terminal (PA). This minimizes the time one needs to spend outside in inclement weather. Also, the PA is linked by underground passageways to the NYC Subway system, so you can get around the city without having to brave severe elements.

The price of the hotel was very reasonable through Hotwire and the facility itself is newer and clean, with decently-sized rooms. Free WiFi and breakfast add to the great deal. The Hell's Kitchen neighborhood around the PA can seem sketchy, but there are good restaurants on 9th Ave within a few blocks and the area is lively. Hotel check-in is 4 PM and we were unable to get to our room until then and one elevator was being fixed, which slowed things down somewhat. Otherwise, this stay probably would have been a 5.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#70 of 466 in New York City
5,097 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#275 of 466 in New York City
4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#222 of 466 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing