We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Broadway and Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #133 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe Twp, NJ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Close to Broadway and Times Square”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Took my daughter into the city to see Matilda on Broadway and decided to stay overnight. It was a good thing too because the weather was not on our side: snow, cold and wind. Hotel is located between 8th and 9th Ave (close to Port Authority) on 40th. Building is very narrow so it's not a spacious lobby when you walk in, but it was clean. Our room was on the 32nd floor (the top) and while the elevator wait ( as mentioned in other reviews) was not bad when we checked in at 315pm, it did get worse in the evening and the following day. There are only 3 and hold about 6 people max with one small piece of luggage or bag. The issues I had with being on the top floor - it was windy, the music was blaring from the club next door, and continuous noise in the hallway. The room itself was smaller than most hotel rooms but it is NYC so "spacious" is not an option. It was very modern and clean which met up to my expectations. What was nice is that it had a refrigerator, microwave and cook top- something that would be a plus for a traveler staying for several days and not wanting to eat out every night. The bathroom was a decent size and again, very clean!! The breakfast area was crowded in the morning but it had a variety of choices to choose from: eggs, egg whites, sausage, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, english muffins, assorted juices, coffee and tea. If a family had to go out and eat in the city they would be sure to spend $50+ dollars on breakfast, so it was nice to have breakfast included in the rate. I would recommend this hotel if you plan on visiting NYC..I would advise to check the web for special rates because you might luck out like I did. I only paid $119 (advance purchase) + tax per night.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a low floor and facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,048
    1,953
    441
    75
    37
See reviews for
1,720
2,055
225
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Old Forge,Pa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Staybridge Suites Times Square from Jan. 29-31. It was our second stay at this hotel, and I can't say enough about the quality of service, the helpful staff, the clean room, the plentiful breakfast, etc., etc. We had booked Jan. 28 and 29 at a great non refundable rate of $119 per night. However, I wanted to change the dates to Jan. 29 and 30. I spoke to Melissa DeBruin at the hotel in NYC. I explained that it was my birthday and we preferred to be in the city for that date. She graciously accommodated us and did not charge an additional amount even though the room rate had gone up slightly. When we arrived to our room on Jan. 29, what a pleasant surprise I had - a birthday card, a box of delicious high quality chocolates and a bottle of water. How very thoughtful of her and Staybridge Suites to
remember my birthday in such a generous way. The room is not large, but it is clean and nice. The bed is comfortable, and if you want to use a down pillow, they are available in the room in a drawer where the luggage rack is. That is another nice touch, especially since I do not like foam pillows. The bathroom has a corner shower with a clear glass door. It is not large, but it is clean, the water is hot and forceful.
I especially like the breakfast. There are eggs, sausage links,( or perhaps sliced ham) fresh pineapple chunks , honeydew, oranges, bananas, apples ,large bagels, cream cheese, yogurt, oatmeal (to which you can add raisins and brown sugar), coffee cake, and pie. Coffee, tea or hot chocolate, or milk is also available.The breakfast staff is very nice. They always have a smile and welcome you. I also like using regular china and flatware.
The social hour is good too. Imagine you get red or white wine, or cans of soda.They also serve food. One night we had chicken sliders and salad. The salad consists of dark green leafy lettuce, not iceberg lettuce. You can add shredded cheese, red onions, broccoli, tomatoes,and other condiments. The second night they served salad and hamburgers. They also had hummus and pita triangles. The ubiquitous serving staff comes around and refills your wine glass, if you'd like more.
The hotel is located close to the theater district. In 8-10 minutes you are there! I cannot say enough about Staybridge Suites Times Square. In some ways I want to keep it a secret so they don't raise their rates in the winter. We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aydemitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Aydemitraveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us, and for choosing to spend your birthday with us. I cant blame you for wanting to keep us a secret!
Thank you for recognizing Melissa and the wonderful service she provided. I am so glad you liked our complimentary breakfast and The Social. On your next visit you will have to try our new corn fritters!

Warm Regards,

Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
330 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had stayed here before as Platinum members but this was not a great experience. Elevator problems made for 10-15 minute waits to get up and down to your room which was a bit inconvenient. Wi-Fi in our room was non-functional and never worked even after reporting the problem twice. $15.00 for a simple Irish whiskey on the rocks in the bar was not a friendly invitation to partake. The comp breakfast was very nice though, a cut above most, and the front desk staff tried to compensate for the impatient guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSnood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Mr.PaulSnood,

Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Staybridge Suites Times Square. We thank you for being a loyal Platinum guest and returning to stay here, and are disappointed that you were not satisfied with your experience this time around.

We apologize about the elevator issue you encountered. We are currently undergoing a renovation of one of our elevators, in hopes of providing a much more efficient guest experience in the future. In regards to our Wi-Fi, we apologize that we were not able to resolve your specific issue while on property. Our Wi-Fi is reliable, and our technical support staff is excellent at troubleshooting connection issues.

We rely on feedback from our guests to keep our standards high, and thank you again for taking the time to write this review. We would love for you to stay with us once again, and let us "WOW" you with our accommodations and customer service.

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Staybridge Times Square this past week from January 28th until January 30th. The hotel offers a tremendous amount of value for the rates they charge (it is important to book early to get the best rates as they often double as your desired dates arrive). Weekday evenings there is a “social” with beer, wine and a light buffet and every morning there is a breakfast buffet. We found the entire hotel to be meticulously clean, especially the rooms themselves. The rooms have a fully equipped kitchen including a full sized refrigerator. The bedding is extremely comfortable and the layout of the room is masterfully planned with quality furnishings. The hotel is centrally located and within easy walking distance to MSG, Times Square and Rockefeller Center. There are only two negatives about this hotel: at high peak times there can be a substantial wait for an elevator if you are on a higher floor and the back of the hotel does directly face another hotel with views of the Empire State Building only to the side. The hotel staff is courteous and accommodating, in particular Catherine at the front desk was particularly helpful in trying to assist us in attaining a more desirable room location than we had been assigned (when we booked we specifically requested an upper floor room at the front of the building). We enjoy this hotel so much that we are once again returning with another couple the first week of February. We are hoping that this time we finally get a top floor room with a city view, instead of the view of the building behind us. Overall Staybridge is a quality hotel with excellent staff and amenities. J&M Suffolk, NY

Room Tip: Request a room which is not next to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShipwreckedAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear ShipwreckedAgain,

Greetings from your new home away from home! We are so thrilled you enjoyed your first stay so much that you decided to return. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are grateful you recognized the amazing value that Staybridge Suites provides, as many items we provide complimentary to our guests are offered for an additional charge at other properties, items such as our hot and cold breakfast, wifi, business center and our thrice-weekly Social reception.

Thank you so much for recognizing our team, and in particular Catherine, for their service. We think she is a superstar!

We look forward to seeing you and your friends again and again!

Warm Regards,
Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this property in December and found it to exceed our expectations- spacious rooms with practical/modern amenities, comfortable beds, great breakfast buffet as well as complimentary evening receptions during the week with food/drinks, computer/printer access, friendly/helpful staff, and a great location. This was our first trip to NYC and this hotel made our experience more comfortable/enjoyable at a great price for NYC standards considering the amenities. The central location made it easier for us to navigate the city via subway/walking. We were so pleased with our stay that we will consider Staybridge Suites when we travel to other locations and will definitely stay at this hotel again if we return to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinotega, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here on a va-cay to New York! We found it conveniently located to time square and many other city attractions! We got in at about 10:30pm and left our bags in our rooms... and walked right over to the lights of Times Square... we felt safe and our room was clean. We had a "toilet" issue but they came right up to take care of it. Breakfast was ok- very packed! But that is good- I like to see a hotel busy! Overall we would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motogrlmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Celebrated my bf's birthday in NYC and decided to stay at Staybridge. Overall, our stay was perfect! The staff were really friendly and accommodating. They let me check in early around 12pm to set up a surprise for my bf's birthday. They also gave us a birthday gift of wine and a chocolate box with a nice little note. The small things count and stuff like this made us really happy. I requested a high floor with a nice view and we were on the 22nd floor with a view of the city. Although there was a big view of the roof parking lot right across, it didn't really bother us. When we woke up early the next morning, the nice orange-purple glow from the sunrise took our breath away.

Our room had a queen bed and the decor were sleek, clean, and modern. The kitchen had everything you needed including utensils, pots and pans, and fridge. The closet was really small. The bed has white sheets which is a plus but the pillows were a bit too high and the sheets were not a duvet but a flat sheet that covers the comforter. The bathroom had a stand up shower that's somewhat small but it didn't bother us.

The hotel also provides a free complimentary breakfast in the morning and had a fairly good selection to choose from. Throughout the day, there are also tea, coffee, and water for the guests in the sitting area. The hotel also has a small bar down near the lobby. Everything was perfect. The only thing that did bother us was the elevator waiting time. Sometimes we waited for 10-15 minutes until it came. There are 20+ floors with only a few elevators so it takes a really long time to come.

The hotel's location was very convenient and it is next to Port Authority and the ACE line. It is also very close to Times Square.

We loved our stay at this hotel and we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariesbambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#64 of 468 in New York City
5,019 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#267 of 468 in New York City
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#214 of 468 in New York City
1,838 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing