We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #134 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was a really nice hotel but even better was the location! Right down the street was Times Square and in the opposite direction, Hells Kitchen. The hotel included a full breakfast and anything in NYC that's "free" is wonderful!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Doris737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us! It sounds like you made the most of your time here and got out to see all of the sights nearby! Our complimentary breakfast and weekday social receptions are just one way we try to say thank you to our wonderful guests! We hope to see you back at the Staybridge in the future!

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,049
    1,953
    442
    75
    37
See reviews for
1,721
2,055
225
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Based on other reviewers we asked for a QUIET room on a lower floor. It was great! We were given a corner room on the 6th floor. Occasionally we heard what we believe was an elevator screech but it was not enough to be bothersome and I am very sensitive to noise. We asked for a lower floor because previous reviewers mentioned long elevator waits. Waits for us were usually less than 2 minutes. Only once did we choose to walk down and that was because several people were already waiting. We never walked up. The lobby is small so sometimes gets crowded but this is NYC. The breakfast and social hour were terrific. Always plenty of good food and helpful staff. The sitting area is almost always full, but we always found a place to sit. If you're having trouble finding a place, there is extra seating in the bar area. The staff at reception were also wonderful. They helped us with everything from directions, to suggestions for dinners and desserts, to making reservations, to hotel questions. They were always efficient. The bed was comfortable... a little on the soft side... which was fine with me. There were 2 pillow choices... one a little firmer than the other. It was very clean. The soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion were great... some hotel provided products make me itchy... not these. And the fragrance was not overpowering either. The hotel offers a $49 personal driver to LaGuardia. It was great. No worries about being stuck in traffic and having the cab meter running. Laundry machines really are free although you do need your own soap. The work out room is small but certainly adequate for my needs. I tend to be picky but I have no complaints. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It's an amazing value.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Finediners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review. It sounds like you are quite a smart traveler and took advantage of the recommendations of our past guests. We do our best to meet all of our guest’s requests and I’m thrilled that we met yours! We really do appreciate you writing your experience with us for other travelers to hear. We would love to have you back with us and hope to see you again soon!

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A very nice stay was had. Rooms are clean and full of conveniences (stove, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, but no oven). Free wifi and video inputs are in place to attach a laptop to the tv (s-video, vga, hdmi). Bed is mostly comfortable, though pillows could be improved upon. (They're on the thick side with no 'normal' option.) Breakfast is alright too. The staff is all very helpful, and the location is excellent. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_got_travel_fever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found many of the comforts of home here to help make your stay even better. We hope you will return to the Staybridge the next time you’re in NYC!

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

this hotel is my favourite in NY! the location is very good it couldnt be better!! the stuff is very friendly ))) the breakfast is very good and delicious.there are 32 floors. the view from hotel is best very beautiful. the lift is very fast it takes like 2 or 3 minutes, so there is no problem about lift.the room is very comfortable. there also is bathroom and kitchan with coffemaker and all with this things ! and it isnot so expensive! it s nearwith time square too. and wifii

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice review! I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. I hope you and your family enjoyed your trip and were able to see a bunch of the nearby attractions! We hope to welcome you back to the Staybridge again very soon!

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had 4 days extended stay in New York city over the new year and great review had been written for this hotel before I booked in. Indeed there is no regret cos location is great and reasonable price too in view there are 2 [popular hotels just next to each other. Times Square and 5th Ave is just approx. 15 min walk plus subways are nearby too. Felt safe to walk back as the 2 popular hotels are just next to each other. Breakfast is free and you can packed the breakfast and enjoy at the comfort of your own room and staff are excellent.
I'd a unlucky experience with a booked taxi @ 7am for my flight but didnt turn up cos overslept. The Asian lady staff was so helpful and she went out to call another taxi for me in view it was sub-zero degree in New York during the Hercules freezing condition in Jan 2014 and my family of 5 were able to reach the airport in time. Definitely will stay in again cos good rooms + great staff. Free internet as well plus printing if you wanted to check in on-line.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilian2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time here with us! It sounds like you and your family got your share of sightseeing in! I’m glad to hear you found our staff to be helpful and we were able to assist in getting you to the airport on time! We hope you will stay with us the next time you’re in NYC!

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great hotel with excellent service, food and very nice rooms. Location is close enough to everything but off beaten path so you can sleep and not be disturbed by "the City that Never Sleeps". Subway station half a block, making it super easy to get anywhere within the city. Outstanding staff, courteous and helpful. Breakfast crowded, but well run and food good. Fireplace in lobby with board games!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much so leaving us such a nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the location ideal for your travels. I hope you and your company were able to enjoy a few board games in front of the fire in our Great room! That sounds like some great quality time after a long day of sightseeing. We hope to welcome you back to the Staybridge again soon!

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed her for 5 nights form 26th December. Great value for money and the location could not be better. Only a few blocks from Times Sqaure. Staff were friendly and very helpfull. Rooms were large enough for us as a family of four. Found the kitchen area with all the facilities a great addition. Price includes breakfast. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#67 of 468 in New York City
5,025 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#265 of 468 in New York City
3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,838 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 468 in New York City
6,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing