We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #155 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a trip to New York. It is only a 10 minute walk from the Empire State Building and 5 not even 5 minutes from Times Square. There are lots of restaurants nearby and the Sky Bar next door is definatly worth a visit (skip the queue by showing your room key) I would recommend reserving a table (we didn't but all the tables were reserved).

Rooms was quite small but well thought out so you have enough room. Having the kitchen area was a nice addition, good to be able to keep some drinks and snack in the fridge. We didn't cook but I imagine on a longet trip this would be good. Well equipped with dishwasher, microwave, hob, fridge freezer and all the utensils you may need.

Bathroom was nice and modern and shower powerful. (No Bath). Lots of plug sockets (also near to mirror so easy for drying/straightening hair!

Breakfast was plentyful and they alwasy opened up the bar for extra seating. Variations on breakfast but always cereal, fruit, toast, bagels and a hot selection. Tasty too!

The 'social' is a nice extra touch, lovely tasters of food and free drinks (wine, beer and soft drinks).

All the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend getting the bell boy to book you a black car to take you to the airport, they come and wait at the hotel for you and is only $79, only a bit more than yellow cab.

I can imagine the lifts can be slow in peak times, we were on the 8th floor and walked a couple of times. (but lets face it if you are averse to walking you wouldn't be going to New York!)

I would definatly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

We would like to extend our many thanks for your wonderful review! Our location makes it easy to see all the city sights without being directly in the crowds of Times Square and certainly within walking distance to many of the biggest NYC attractions. It really sounds like you made the most of your trip!

We are so happy that you found our staff to be helpful and were able to join us for a few drinks at our weekly social hour!
We hope to see you back at the Staybridge Suites Times Square again very soon!

Thank Again!

Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,414 - 2,420 of 5,868 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for 1 week starting 3rd October, our reception on arrival was friendly and very helpful the room on the 22nd floor was not big but very clean consisted of kitchenette with cooktop micro-wave and dishwasher all good quality cook war and crockery. The bathroom was very well designed, finished off and very clean. The bed and linen was very good and again the linen and pillows were of very good quality.
The service from the concierge and the reception staff was very helpful arranging transport and giving advice.
The breakfast was included was quite comprehensive although quite crowded at times but this is New York.
The only blemish I could see was he lifts, very crowded and very slow from the 22nd floor it took some time to get up or down, I feel this could be alleviated some what by better programming of the lift controls.
Overall a very good hotel for purpose of tourists seeing New York.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We are happy to hear that you were happy with your room and found it to be clean and well equip with everything you needed during your time in the big city.
Our staff also wish to extend their thanks and truly appreciate your kind words.
We do hope we can welcome you back to the Staybridge Suites Times Square and hope you will come visit the next time you are in NYC!

Thanks Again!

Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here with some friends when we traveled to NYC for a bachelor party. The service from the hotel staff was impeccable, and the rooms were spacious and meticulously clean.

The elevator time could be slow sometimes, but overall, I found the location more than made up for any minor issues. The pleasant nature of all staff, as well as the ample free breakfast, make this a for-sure must-stay in Times Square.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Brilliant location, literally around the corner from Times Square. Quiet, clean rooms with a handy kitchenette area. Breakfast is a buffet with a good range of items with the option of taking away if you have an early start. Also well placed for trips out further afield with the Port Authority Bus Terminal in close proximity.

I felt I needed to leave a review due to the impeccable service I received, in particular, Idriss, the Director of Front Office. After leaving the hotel in a bit of a hurry, I wasn't sure whether I'd left my watch in the hotel room after checking out. I only realised it was missing when I returned to the UK. After contacting the hotel, he managed to retrieve my watch and go above and beyond his duty to get my watch delivered back to me. I really couldn't ask for better service. I would highly recommend The Staybridge to anyone and plan to stay there again on my next visit to New York.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandeepkalsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived at the staybridge suites on Monday afternoon 7th October for 4 nights. . We were on the 19th floor, where we had views of the Empire State. What a great welcome to New York. The room was very clean, consisting of a bathroom, kitchenette,37 inch tv and the biggest kingsize bed you could imagine.
The staff were only too pleased to answer any questions we had.
Happy hour in the evening (tues, wed and thurs) was another added bonus, consisting of beer/wine and food which was different every night. This was FREE......
The general location was right next to New York port authority which is a bus station and the subway for 42nd street which also exited onto 40th street.
Don't the location put you off as it is perfectly safe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three days over the Columbus Day weekend. Nice friendly service, room cleaned well and on-time, included breakfast service a little crowded but reasonably diverse. The manager's reception (Tue-Thur), which we caught on Thur, was a nice touch, as well. Basically, everything is done at a high quality level, just the way it should be, though there isn't really anything particularly exceptional about the place. Other than that, that is.

The only annoying thing was the elevator wait times, which could be a few minutes, followed by riding a fully packed elevator that keeps stopping on one floor after another while it couldn't possibly fit anyone else in... Granted, we stayed on the top 32nd floor. But I would think that some kind of a sensor could be used to program the elevator not to stop due to outside requests when it is already fully packed. If such hardware/software isn't available on the market yet, this is definitely is a business opportunity for someone...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slava L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was an excellent hotel in Time Square!!! It was seconds from the Lincoln Tunnel exit so we barely had to drive. Parking was easy and at $28 per day a bargain in Manhattan.

We arrived at 11:30 and stored our luggage until the room was ready.

What we loved:

The clean room
Comfortable beds
Modern decor
The View
Excellent sercice
Service from Iris and Sunny especially
The free breakfast
The free wifi
The pillows
The laundry
No elevator problems at all!
Free local phone calls
The full kitchen

Whay we disliked

Having to leave :(

Hope to stay with you again Staybridge Times Square! !! Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingCityDancemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 473 in New York City
5,657 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#313 of 473 in New York City
4,339 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#162 of 473 in New York City
5,717 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#228 of 473 in New York City
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $143 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Manhattan, Staybridge Suites Times Square features extended-stay guestrooms featuring kitchenettes for stovetop cooking, microwave, dishwasher and full-size refrigerator. Amenities include newly designed fitness center with cardio and strength training machines, business center, 24 hour guest laundry facility and pantry for sundry and food purchases. A complimentary breakfast buffet is served each morning, as well as a complimentary "social hour" reception with appetizers, beer, wine and soft beverages Monday - Wednesday. The Den features an extensive drink menu and is open every evening. Our Concierge services include procuring reservations for restaurants and local sites as well as theater tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing