We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #130 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Sandy Stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel the day after Super Storm Sandy. Had no power at my apartment and booked three nights here.The room was clean, had a little kitchen area. The hotel was pet friendly, had to take my two little dogs. My kids were fine and comfortable during our stay. Average hotel, nice staff. Wasn't happy with the block right behind the port authority terimal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello Ann Marie,

Thank you very much for taking your time out to write a review for the Staybridge Suites Times Square. We are very sorry that you had to stay with us under such unfortunate circumstances, but Hurricane Sandy was a trying time for many New Yorkers. Our hotel staff did our very best to make our displaced guests as comfortable as possible and make this their home away from home.

We are happy that you enjoyed our accommodations, and we can honestly say that our location is usually viewed as a major positive by our guests because of our hotel being so centrally located in Midtown Manhattan.

We really hope that you stay with us again under better circumstances. We are a hotel that prides itself on providing its guests with amazing Staybridge experiences.

Warm Regards
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,072
    1,967
    445
    75
    41
See reviews for
1,745
2,066
228
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to check in and found my Platinum status was not shown at the hotel level. Well I had been upgraded about 2 weeks prior and online the status was there correctly but the hotel did not have it that way. The front desk gave me a number to call customer service and sent me on my way. The right way to do would be to tell the customer I am so sorry I will call our customer service number and make this right. When I talked to the Manager about it he made a real effort to make it up to us but I am a true believer in you don't get a second chance to make a good first impression. When on vacation the last thing I want to do is to sit on hold because the company has problems with their system. Other than getting off to a bad start, the room was fully equipped with a kitchen and they had a nice breakfast included with the rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bls112002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear bls112002,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the difficulties you experienced at check-in. Despite this, we are delighted you liked your room accommodations and pleased you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We will always endeavor to ensure that all our guests stays are comfortable.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We selected this hotel based on the reviews from trip advisor and we were really pleased we did. The location was great, the staff were very helpful and pleasant, and the rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was fine, although at peak times getting a seat could prove a challenge, and the complimentary food and drink on Tuesday's, Wednesday's and Thursday's just enhanced the value for money aspect.

If I revisited New York would I stay there again......most definately

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Although it's not quite closed to Times Square, it is still very convenient, 3 mins walking to subway. Breakfast and wifi is complimentary. It is valuable if need to spend sometime in NYC. Staff are quite friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2nights in early April 2013. After being in New York for Easter we were a little aprehensive but all was settled when we arrived. We were early but were allowed to enter our room. The room size and facilities in the room impressed us. The breakfast was well catered and it is well located. We met others from Australia who commented likewise. Should we return to New York this will be first on my accommodation list.

Room Tip: Our room was on level 2 between the lifts but this did not worry us but no access to lobby by stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were fortunate to book ths Staybridge Suites from May 1st to May 5th for a family vacation. This hotel was excellent in everyway! The location was minutes from Times Square, the Theatre District and even the Pier 83 where we could walk and embark on our boat tour around Manhatten. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast every morning and the complimentary cocktails and light dinners from Tuesday to Thursday evenings with all the other tourists. The staff were extremely helpful in answering our many questions and the place was shiny and clean all the time. No complaints! - except for waiting for the elevators at peak times,but that could be anywhere. I highly recomment staying here for a great New York experience.

Room Tip: You may want a room lower than 6 so you could walk down or up if you are impatient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were looking for a last minute deal on a Times Square area hotel. Staybridge was offering a two bed room (two beds was a requirement!) for under $300 per night. This included a hot breakfast every morning and a "social time" Tue-Thur at 5pm which included beer, wine, and enough food to make a dinner out of.
The staff was very friendly and very attentive (Thanks, Jamie)!
We will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FieryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 466 in New York City
5,094 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#276 of 466 in New York City
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#224 of 466 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 466 in New York City
7,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing